We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Kenya!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kahama Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hotel in Kenya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I travelled around Kenya last summer in a rustic way, homestays, traditional stays etc. When my boyfriend came out to visit me he booked the Kahama hotel for our ten day stay as a treat. The main pull was that it was KENYAN OWNED which is important to us as we love Kenya and feel the Kenyan people should benefit from tourism.

The hotel was honestly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms were luxurious, the prices were ridiculously cheap, the food was sensational with varieties of both Kenyan food and western food for those home comforts. The facilities were just amazing, everything was so clean, modern but with this great Kenyan feel. The breakfasts are amazing value and all of the staff are soooo friendly, nice and hospitable! The outdoor facilities were great! The pool and loungers. The bar was brilliant also, with projector screens showing sports events and music, as well as bands performing on Friday and Saturday nights. Then the location was perfect. It was a two mkinute walk to Bamburi beach which is a really nice beach, to get there you have to walk behind the hotel down a side street of local 'shops' in which everyone is really friendly. Then you walk through a restaurant called Il Cilvo if my memory is correct which is Italian and Japanese again incredible.

The best part about the hotel, which is difficult to distinguish is the staff. The staff in the bar, restaurant and masai guards were brilliant. We love this hotel so much my boyfriend and are hoping to visit this Autumn and everytime we're in Mombasa we intend to make a stop.

If you want to stay somewhere that is five star, luxurious in a paradise get away like Mombasa, yet want to pay reasonable prices, knowing that Kenyan people get the money from our tourism, stay here!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    56
    26
    3
    7
See reviews for
26
48
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Loved the cosy and very clean rooms, the food was great.....especially the African Breakfast which I found quite unique. The staff is also quite friendly. Its not a beach front hotel, but you can take 3 minute walk to the beach. Its great value for money. Only tip is to book your room early!

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be sound proof, no noise from outside. For what they charge, the superior rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanjaNgunjiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

For the past two Visit would Re comment first & 4most ur cleanliness.The Rooms were up to standard & neat, beautiful breakfast which i really enjoyed with my family, Friendly staff with excellent service tailored to a pocket friendly budget.
Looking fwd to enjoy the same hospitality come December preserve my space!!!
plz
Regards
josiah Qatar

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kILUNDAWAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

i stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend and it was wonderful........the staff are friendly the food is perfect the bar is epic, it was perfect...thanx kahama

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpayul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was surprised in a very nice way, didnt expect such excellent service, very professional and friendly staff, excellent rooms with DSTV, no mosquitoes, clean pool, averagely good breakfast...and the live band on Friday, the best I have seen In Mombasa. They proper housekeeping everyday.

Room Tip: Poolside view.....get the double bed not singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The place was exactly as it was in their website. The live band was perfect not the usual rumba and lingala music you would expect from live bands, instead it was something that people from all ages and races can enjoy. It was clean and easily accessible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I would stay there any day. Good service. Keep it up.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakaninii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#14 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
The Plaza Beach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Property: Kahama Hotel
Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing