We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem, how a park should be!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Surprise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedrock Village Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at Bedrock Village in our van in a powered site for four nights, and it is run really well, with all the staff having a brilliant attitude, it's an example of how a park should be run...customer service with a smile is a refreshing change, would recommend it to all, they run an excellent tour to the Undara lava tubes which is also very good and their handmade pies Wow!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Bedrock Village Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent three nights in a 2 bedroom cabin recently and really enjoyed our time. The staff were lovely - especially Esther. We enjoyed our chicken parmigana meal on the first night - reasonable sized helping.

We did the full day Undara Tour and would thoroughly recommend it. Our guide was Mack and he was excellent. Lots of information but delivered in an interesting manner - not just a listing of facts and figures. It was a great day - beautiful homemade biscuits, cakes and scones for morning and afternoon tea and a lovely lunch at the resort. We all had a great day.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Caravan Park to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Have loved staying at this park The staff go above and beyond creating a fantastic atmosphere just to relax and enjoy yourself. All the tours run out of the park to the lava tubes ,savannah lander or fossicking across the road. The facilities and food are excellent and the amenities and park kept clean. Great spot and lovely little town to stop at. You get your money's worth in spades here Also enjoyed the fire pit singalong. Great nightly meals are served in the huge recreation room. Great camp kitchens and laundry

Room Tip: Take the mystery tour when on offer was lots of fun
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracie555au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have now stayed at Bedrock Village five times over the last six years and have watched Joe and Jo improve the park year by year whilst still maintaining the same friendly small town welcome and atmosphere. It now offers spacious sites, excellent amenities and yummy food most evenings in the camp kitchen/dining area; followed by a few yarns/lies round the camp fire. If you get a chance have a chat with Steve a truly remarkable character doing odd jobs round the park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Enjoyed 4 nights at this terrific caravan park in Mt Surprise. Built from scratch by the husband and wife owners, it demonstrates what can be done when designed to meet the needs of caravan travellers. The bays are spacious, easily accessible and private, screened by garden beds of native trees. The shower cubicles are the roomiest we've come across, and the kitchen area is amazing. Home cooked meals are on offer almost every night for a very reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed a delicious pizza cooked to order in their woodfired pizza oven. There is entertainment every night, from singalongs to poetry recitals, open to anyone interested, but held far enough away from van sites to not disturb those not participating. Tours to the Undara Lava Tubes can also be taken from the park, with the local guides being very knowledgable and entertaining. All the staff were really friendly and helpful, and seemed to love working there. An extremely enjoyable stay. Thank you to the park owners and their staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgeingGracefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Bedrock Village for two nights while we visited Undara Lava Tubes. The park is run by the most pleasant and helpful people I have every met in that position. Or tour guide was excellent and the nights around the campfire were great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The best caravan park on our four-month trip through the "Top End". We stayed one night in our caravan and everything was close to perfect: good sized, level sites, attractive landscaping, great facilities - clean and well positioned. The camp kitchen/eating area was functional with plenty of seating. The staff were helpful and friendly. Bus tours are available to the Undara lava tubes.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MNE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedrock Village Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedrock Village Caravan Park

Address: Garnet Street, Mount Surprise, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Surprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mount Surprise
Price Range: $48 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic township of Mount Surprise, some 320km south-west of Cairns, lies Bedrock Village Caravan Park & Tours. The region, known as Savannah Way, offers a diverse range of outback experiences including cattle stations, gorges, the Savannahlander train and the Undara Lava Tubes. The folk at Bedrock Village run a variety of tours to highlight these unique places in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Designed and built in 1998 by Joe and Jo Lockyer on nine acres of bushland, Bedrock Village offers travellers a comfortable and attractive base from which to enjoy the abundant natural treasures in the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing