We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love bedrock”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Surprise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedrock Village Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
mt surprise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love bedrock”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

wat a great place,, love the amenites, private caravan site , and the tour of the lava tubes was great,, we had a great group and "Mark" the tour guide was the best we were all laughing and joking couldnt ask for anything better

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiepaul65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    60
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
109
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Bedrock and liked the spacious layout of the sites. Some amenities were better than others. Enjoyed a great home cooked evening meal.
We found the half day tour to the lava tubes informative and interesting - included a nice walk around the rim plus some rock scrambling down and out of the tubes.
The park is situated in town so it was easy to walk around town. Don't miss the gem shop opposite. A late afternoon walk to Elizabeth Creek behind the park was lovely.

Room Tip: We were in a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We originally booked for 3 nights at Bedrock, but were so comfortable there, we extended twice. We enjoyed a great Roast Pork dinner and Pizza. A wonderfully friendly Park and it is a credit to the owners who built this Park from scratch back in the 90's. Friendly people, having the cafe on hand was great. Also did the Lava Tube tour organised through Bedrock and Gary (our Tour Guide) was most imformative. I do agree you need to be reasonably fit - we were thankful we'd only booked for the half day tour! Would recommend this Park highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiddentreasure552251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped at Bedrock caravan park to see the undarra lava tubes. The staff at the park are very friendly, the amenities good and the sites were private and spacious. We went on the half day lava tube tour, it was very good but you do need to be fit enough to clamble over rocks etc. we didn't go fossicking but purchased a lovely cut stone in Mt Surprise. I was very surprised that the town only has 65 residents.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013wardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We decided to have their curry special. Both were not up to par, especially mine and I requested a refund. Was totally out of the question. Don't take the chance as you will be told it was your fault for not digging to the bottom of the pot looking for chicken.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobL0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have never stayed in a caravan park/motel like setup before (being from the city), but this was a lovely find. The people were really friendly, the staff in the cafe were baking fresh biscuits etc. Although I have heard the dinners are great, we were not in the mood for a big meal, it was a lovely surprise to find out the cafe had home made lasagna we could buy and heat up for the kids. The information booklet in the rooms confirmed the owners are great people, instead of the usual "don't do this or that", it said things like "please feel free to do this/that". They have an organic farm type program running and have workers from around the world volunteering, they encourage you to talk with them. Lovely camp fire at night that people sat around chatting. So nice to see a family keeping a small town like this alive!

Room Tip: They offer the older room and newer rooms, we selected newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di1234561811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed only for one night in July (wanted to stay much longer but work commitments meant we couldn't!) with our rooftop camper and 3 (yes 3) dogs.

Staff are all so friendly with someone riding a bike to show us to our site and inviting us to the campfire and tours the next day. We just had an unpowered site but it was huge and had heaps of space for us all. The amenities blocks were clean and well stocked with paper towels etc. although there was a queue for the shower in the morning before the tour, not a problem for us though as we showered on return. Usually parks which allow dogs can be noisy but not Bedrock, it was the most peaceful and relaxed environment and watching the stars at night was magic.

We went on the morning Undara half day tour. Left our dogs with reception who took them for a walk and looked after them-they must have had a great time as they were knackered when we came back! The tour was very good and our guide Yann had lots of interesting facts on the region, history etc. which kept everyone entertained on the tour. Also saw the Savannahlander train go past on the Saturday morning.

We would loved to have stayed for longer as this is one of the nicest parks we've stayed in and we will definitely be returning, hopefully for longer next time!

Room Tip: We loved the unpowered sites towards the back of the park with a gorgeous view out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msra7sc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bedrock Village Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedrock Village Caravan Park

Property: Bedrock Village Caravan Park
Address: Garnet Street, Mount Surprise, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mount Surprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mount Surprise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic township of Mount Surprise, some 320km south-west of Cairns, lies Bedrock Village Caravan Park & Tours. The region, known as Savannah Way, offers a diverse range of outback experiences including cattle stations, gorges, the Savannahlander train and the Undara Lava Tubes. The folk at Bedrock Village run a variety of tours to highlight these unique places in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Designed and built in 1998 by Joe and Jo Lockyer on nine acres of bushland, Bedrock Village offers travellers a comfortable and attractive base from which to enjoy the abundant natural treasures in the region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing