We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts! Beautiful garden !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Kamenica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Kamenica
Ranked #1 of 5 Komiza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hosts! Beautiful garden !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

With few words, lots of gestures, a smile and always a helping hand Tomislav and Željka make you feel instantly at home at Villa Kameniza. The island is quiet and beautiful and we had the pleasure to stay in a small apartment in their adorable garden. Perfect for couples and small families !!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
90
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent a week in Comisa in May after a first week in Split which made for a perfect combination: bustling city then calm, relaxing island break. We'd hoped Vis would be tranquil, relaxed and beautiful and we really weren't disappointed.

If you're a couple, staying at Villa Kamenica is a great idea and May is the ideal time for romantic retreat if you prefer peaceful holidays. As almost all the reviewers on TripAdvisor have already mentioned, Tomislav and Zeljka (and their faithful West Highland Terrier, Duje) are wonderful hosts. They collected us from the ferry with a very warm welcome, drove us to the villa and took us on a personal tour. We were there for a romantic holiday and they cottoned onto that straight away, leaving us to our own devices for most of our stay.

The room was really clean and comfortable and we've never had a deeper nights' sleep anywhere in our lives. Night time is completely silent in this small seaside village.

We made the most of Komiza quayside cafe culture and tried every single one. Cafe Speed seemed to have the best coffee but others have better views of the harbour.

We don't usually write Tripadvisor reviews but we had to for this place. We really couldn't recommend it highly enough.
If you enjoy quiet, relaxing holidays with a warm welcome, excellent super-fresh seafood and great weather we can't rate the place highly enough. We are definitely going to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Staying at the Villa Kamenica couldn't have been any better! What a lovely and beautiful place. Our hosts were gracious and welcoming. Even though we speak English and some Spanish and they speak Croatian and Italian we were able to have full conversations! The garden was lovely and the jacuzzi was perfect. If/when we come back to Vis there is only one place that we would even consider staying!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our apartment was Eugenie which has a wonderful view from the balcony over the town, the bay and the island. It was immaculately clean, well-furnished and equipped with a comfortable bed and very good shower and bathroom facilities. Good air-conditioning (35 degrees when we were there). Tomislav and Zeljka are the perfect hosts, thoughtful and caring, interesting and interested. We loved Duje the West Highland terrier too. The garden is lush and shady. Comisa itself is the perfect Mediterranean idyll. The main town beach is just a couple of minutes walk from the house. We relaxed so much we didn't get round to seeing much of the rest of the island. We'll just have to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

So nice, comfortable and relaxing! Shadow or sun as you like!
To come to Kamenica is for us to come home. The little cute dog, Duje comes to us to say hello and Tomislaw offers a glass of vine or juice. Always service-minded!
Everything is clean and comfortable. Tomislav and Zeljka are always thinking of our convienience and always respecting our privacy.
We can recommend to buy fish at the fish-market in the morning and let Tomislaw refine and prepare the fishes and grill it in the garden-grill. That is great! One of the best fish is an ugly red fish with the name Skarpina, but it is important to let Tomislaw refine it, because the fish has a toxic sting. But it tastes delicious!!!
Buy the local Plavace vine tapped from a cask in a shop at the harbour. It is top-quality!
Komiza is a quiet little town with friendly people, small alleys without cars and good pebble beaches with clean and clear water. Every afternoon about 5 the local people meet each other at the beach for bathing, swimming and talking!
The town is not overcrowded of tourists. It is mostly local and Croatian people, you will meet there. People in all ages, but many families with children.
We can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Villa Kamenica as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the garden apartment which was absolutely perfect. The gardens are absolutely beautiful. The hosts could not have been better, just the right amount of help and privacy.

Komiza is a lovely little town probably the nicest place we have been in Croatia. The apartments are very close to the best beach this side of the island.

We rented a convertible car for a day to explore the island which I would highly recommend doing as the island has a lot to offer.

We hope to return next year with friends.

We miss the dog

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamieg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Thank you so much to Tomo and Zeljka for being such welcoming and hospitable hosts. They are so friendly and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble for them from taxiing too and from the ferry to sitting having a glass of wine with them talking about everything from football, families and their life in Croatia - fascinating when we spoke no Croatian and they have limited english...but the evening was wondeful. We also had a wonderful evening with our young neighbours when we were invited to use their own terrace and facilities to cook wonderful food from the local shops and market. (you guys were such lovely company too! xx) My birthday fell during our visit and we arrived back from our day out to find a bottle of wine and a card from Tomo Seljka and Duje.
The appartment was comfortable and clean with beautiful gardens and lovely views down to the sea. Komiza is a wonderful little town that is just the place to go for a totally relaxing holiday. There are numerous small bars and konobas serving excellent food. The island is so peaceful and uncommercialised.
All I can say is this is one of those special places that you know you will have to go back to. Well done Tomo and Zeljka - you have the best place to stayin Komiza and we were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komiza
5.7 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
5.3 mi away
Hotel Issa
Hotel Issa
#3 of 3 in Vis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
19.7 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Ksenija
Guesthouse Ksenija
#2 of 5 in Komiza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kamenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kamenica

Property: Villa Kamenica
Address: Mihovila Pavlinovica 15, Komiza, Island of Vis, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Komiza
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Komiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Kamenica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kamenica Hotel Comisa
Villa Kamenica Island Of Vis, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing