We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jastozera - CLOSED

Jastozera
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place was quite special and the menu was quite varied. The service was excellent and the atmosphere very pleasant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lovely setting for this restaurant, as described in other reviews, and it had the feel of a good restaurant. We went here for a low key meal, planning to splash out on fish on another evening. We had spaghetti with scampi, black risotto and spaghetti pomodoro. All were pretty awful. The so called scampi were minute and hadn't been acquainted with the sea for some time and there were no fresh ingredients in the sauce, probably shop bought. It took us some time to find anything other than rice in the risotto and the tomato pasta was swimming in water. Expensive for a below average meal. Needless to say we didn't return for the fish!

Helpful?
Thank Amhp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but not as authentic as owner like you to beleive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I went to this restaurant with great expectations. First impressions were positive. The setting is great and unique. However, for the quality of food served it was highly overpriced. I could not swallow the fact that owner was not totally honest on the authenticity. For the starters, the ownership of this restaurant is from inland Croatia, not from local people. That is a big red flag for Croatia as inlanders do not know about fish. We ordered grilled "jastog" or lobster. We were not shown any live lobsters to choose from, nor were told about size and weight as advertised. The waiter just informed us that he ordered 3 half a kilo each, lobsters. That was the first red flag. Lobsters looked great when they arrived but they did not look like one pound or half a kilo each. They looked more like an over sized shrimp in the US. The service was slow and it was hard to get waiters' attention. The second big NO for Croatian grills is that restaurant is using charcoal, not wood. I have never seen even s=cheep restaurants use charcoal in Croatia. The grill is simply not as good. We drank house wine, Vugava, a native variety from Vis. This was good. The souses were all average and probably from the can. All in all this is a restaurant with a great location and rustic ambiance and setting and very average food. You can probably eat equal or better meal in other local restaurants for half the price. I would recommend to inquire about local fisherman owned restaurants. But if you do go here, ask to see the food you will be eating and ask about price. 750 kuna (100 EUR) or $125) per kilo of lobster is astronomical. You can get fresh Adriatic lobster at other places for under 600 kuna/kilo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spalatium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food in an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

it was a lobster breed, now converted into a restaurant. excellent location on the water and with the Comiza village and bay in the background. The restaurant has a very local and typical ambience, with old tools used for fishing. It is specialized in lobsters, obviously, and when you ask for it, the waiter fishes few of them out of the water where they are breeded and shows them to you so that you can choose. We did not eat lobster (a little too expensive for our pockets) but quite good fresh fish and local wine. i would say it is better for the atmosphere (i guarantee it's really peculiar!) rather than the food, but we ate quite well. Not particularly cheap but for croatians standards, but for once i would definitely suggest it. we paid 1 starter and 1 main course+local wine and water 45 Euro.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobolawwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Only skin-deep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Jastožera (Jah-stoh-zhe-rah) is a beautifully located restaurant in the fishing village of Komiža on the Isle of Vis in Croatia. The restaurant is a converted former collection point for lobsters and the name means exactly that. It is a wooden structure on a pier, there is lovely lit water in the middle and a good view of the pretty little town. The setting is just right for a romantic dinner. Sadly, the beauty of it ends there. The menu is unimaginative, three of the four dishes we ordered had the same sad sauce, without any herbs, spices or flair, the alleged scampi turned out to be microscopic shrimp, the fish-stew had a store-bought sauce (sans fish-fond, spice or similar). The prices are such that one expects at least solid cooking, if not creative, but these were dishes that local children can prepare better. Still, the waitress took our complaint seriously and our bill was halved, but the fact that neither the owner nor the chef deemed it important enough to add their view on the matter shows that this is just one of many summer rip-off places. All in all, thank heavens we didn't take the lobster!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Muvator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jastozera also viewed

Komiza, Island of Vis
Komiza, Island of Vis
 
Komiza, Island of Vis
Komiza, Island of Vis
 
Komiza, Island of Vis
Komiza, Island of Vis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing