We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Protea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Geluveld B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Right in the heart of Flanders fields, comfy rooms and a tasty breakfast with variety! The best part is your hosts. Incredible knowledge on the wars and a great private tour! Thank you for a pleasant stay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeuw, Owner at The Protea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest of B&B " The Protea "

Thank you for this nice revieuw.
It was a pleasure to have you and your friend as our guest in our house.
We hope you will enjoy the rest of your stay in Europe

Best regards

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    30
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Protea - what a great find! Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast selection was fabulous. Alain and Annie were perfect hosts, welcomimg, kind and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to Alain's extensive knowledge of the area and his willingness to spend time helping us plan a route (as well as answer our many questions!) we saw many more things and learnt details that we would not have discovered on our own. If you are looking to stay in this area then the Protea is an ideal base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Super friendly people. We mentioned we wanted to cycle around (3 of us) the next day. They had two bikes on hand. OK, we said, we'll look in the town, maybe we can rent one. They said that might be closed at this time of year. Annie went off, phoned someone, and came back and said "OK, I've sorted a third bike for tomorrow". Next morning, while we ate a huge breakfast, Alain spent 30 minutes drawing up a bike route for us so we could see all the important sites around. He is truly passionate and a real expert - and the B&B is in the right area for visiting the main sites and musea like Hill 60 and the Passchendale museum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went to check in at noon and the building smelled of smoke and the innkeeper smelled of whiskey. By evening both odors were stronger and he had to lean against a wall to remain vertical. We left the next morning because we were afraid he might burn the place down. We told him why we were leaving. The worst part is he charged TWO NIGHTS to our credit card!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msfickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeuw, Guest Relations Manager at The Protea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Google Translation
Deze beoordeling dateert van 26 februari 2013, ik Ann Van Petegem, baat nu de B&B uit, dat is een beoordeling over de vorige uitbater, daarom vraag ik nogmaals de beoordelingen van 2013 en 2014 te verwijderen, ze zijn niet relevant.

Er waait een nieuwe wind door de zaak, en deze oude beoordelingen hebben niets te maken met de uitbating nu in 2017.

Ik hoop op een positieve reactie

Ann
B&B The Protea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We usually find that B & B's are so much more friendly than hotels and "The Protea" was no exception. Good bedrooms, excellent lounge to sit and plan our time in the area. The proprietors were full of useful advice about near-by restaurants and places of interest to visit.
And yes, the breakfasts were first class. Easy to find and very convenient parking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Annie and Alain were thoughtful and considerate hosts. They booked further accommodation for us at another good B&B when we wished to stay longer but they were booked out. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEM163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights with Alain and Annie at the Protea and had a wonderful stay. We were doing a tour of the WW1 Battlefields of Flanders and France and the Protea was our base for the Flanders section and was a great choice. Alain and Annie were wonderful hosts, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning, fresh fruit, cereal, lovely breads, cheese and cold meat as well as eggs, so really set us up for the day. Alain has a great knowledge of the WW1 history of the area and helped us plan our day. We also took a 1/2 day Battlefiled tour with Alain which was just great. We had a wondeful stay, it was a great base, close to everything, and if we get back that way again we will definetly go back to the Protea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarkule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geluveld
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,287 reviews
3.4 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Protea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Protea Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Protea Bed & Breakfast
Address: Menenstraat 47, Geluveld 8980, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Geluveld
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Geluveld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Protea Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At THE PROTEA you are realy staying in the middle of FLANDERS FIELDS, YPRES, where the battles of the Great War really took place. Your host Alain will share his passion for World War One with you and guide you towards the most interesting silent witness of the GREAT WAR. Or, even better, let Alain take you for a private Battlefield tour. Three modern guest rooms. FREE WIFI, Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Protea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing