We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful garden with peacocks!”
other travelers have booked this property
The building itself is grade 2 listed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The building itself is grade 2 listed
The living room with the fire roaring The kitchen is one of the main features of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The building itself is grade 2 listed
The living room with the fire roaring
The kitchen is one of the main features of the property
The kitchen has everything you will need
The pond and the cottage
The master bedroom is spacious and comfortable
The second bedroom all ready for your stay
Newly renovated bathroom
The bathroom has a bath/shower
The living room has a luxury double sofa bed
Open plan landing area
Simply decorated livingroom/diner to relax in
Lovely views to the front of the property
There are dozens of waling routes metres from the door
The cottage is based at the foot of Kinder
Welcome to the Gamekeepers cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K_Kaur_19...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful garden with peacocks!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay, travelled as 3 sisters and lovely base to have a catch up.
There is a master double and then a twin room, both well decorated with plentiful bedding, towels etc. There is a sofa bed in the living area which we used just to lounge on when watching TV/DVDs in the evening.
Small but nicely appointed kitchen with plenty of pots and pans, crockery etc
Highlight was communal garden area with pond, complete with fish and ducks as well as a peacock and two peahens
Overall it is nicely decorated with small touches we appreciated. Modern bathroom with average water pressure.
Visited a local wildlife reserve 20 mins away (otters, deer, owls) and also went to Buxton 30 mins away and saw the Poole caverns, Pavilion gardens and also caught an play at their picturesque opera theatre
The cottage is one the end of a long windy road which is a little rough, but we managed fine driving slowly in a small car.
I think it was good value for money and wouldn't hesitate to book it again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A charming cottage at the foot of one of the routes to kinder scout. The kitchen was well equipped, and there were even hiking maps and suggested walking routes to browse through. Pub just down the lane. We loved the ducks and peacocks, and hope to return in the future. Thank you Christian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location- set slightly away from village
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardDav...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful break at the Gamekeeper's Cottage. Little Hayfield is an easy drive from Manchester and yet you feel as if you're deep in the country once you arrive at the cottage. We especially liked the fact that it was well-furnished and above all, generously proportioned -- what a pleasure!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing location”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here recently. Wonderful tranquil location. House very comfortable, clean and well maintained. We were very impressed and would recommend it highly.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
freaky5
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gem of a place in a super setting”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

lovely quirky, charming old place with a modern updated, roomy, comfortable interior. way off the road in the peak district national park. quiet & peaceful. can see a duckpond & neighbours peacocks, a real treat to see. would recommend staying here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quirkiness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nabihadar...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have felt more comfortable.”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Me and my four children decided to stay at the cottage over their easter holidays & it was the best decision we made.
The Cottage is as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside, with gorgeous peacocks and other wildlife we enjoyed looking at.
My kids love to run around & make noise, so the playground nearby and the open space just outside of our doorstep was very convenient.
We were welcomed with a perfectly clean accommodation, equipped with everything we needed. From kitchen utensils to two TV's, a washing machine, towels & toiletries. We couldn't have asked for more!
As everything was ready beforehand, we didn't need to contact the owner Christian that much, but on the one occasion we did, he was very friendly & helpful.

We loved our stay at the Cottage and would certainly come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing