We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, cosy and doggy friendly!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the front door
Kitchen Patio Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Welcome to the front door
Kitchen
Patio Garden
View inside from front door
Kitchen
Front Door
Seating area
Seating area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Entrance to bathroom
Snake Path elevation sign post at side of Cottage. Start of the bridleway
Dragons Back
View from Heron Walk over to Kinder Scout. Half hour walk from Cottage
Side View
BBC drama 'The Village' was filmed in Hayfield
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr Matthe...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, cosy and doggy friendly!”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A lovely, well equipped cottage, with stunning views in a friendly and picturesque village setting. Really great for a weekend escape. Lorna was helpful and the choc and crisps was a nice touch after a busy day of walking. Our dog settled down straight away - he loved it also! Bed comfy, shower powerful etc. etc. 100% recommend and we will be re-booking!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beabruce
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect pet friendly cosy cottage in amazing location!”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by brilliant phone contact from the host and we were left some chocolate and crisps. The cottage was warm and cosy, with everything you could possibly need. No need to bring any cleaning products, towels, blankets etc. The town was a five minute walk away with a couple of little shops and tea rooms etc. Which all have brilliant reputations - and are stunning. Right on your doorstep (literally) is the Snakes Pass leading to Kinder reservoir and further up to the pennine way. It was snowing for us so was quite a hard walk, but so worth it when walking across the highest peaks looking down - just leave plenty early as you will need day light for this walk. When arriving back to the cottage after a long day of walking it is such a pleasure to have the comfort of a lovely shower and the most comfortable bed! There is also a large selection of DVDs, maps and guides and not to mention brilliant wifi to make use of. We are leaving the cottage today and we really do not want to leave and cannot wait to book in for another break here! Thanks Lorna, hope to see you soon.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S
1 review
“Craigmore”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a perfect little find, right next to trail up to Kinder Scout. Nice place that has everything you need and more. Looking forward to booking again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Solo traveller with dog. Brilliant for lovely walks and scenery. Five pubs in the village of Hayfield - all dog friendly. Wonderful accommodation and hosts- I was made to feel really welcome. Lovely cute cottage which had everything I needed for a week away. Parked the car when I arrived and didn't use it again until returning home. Lots of great walks on the doorstep

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walks on the doorstep so didn't need to drive anywhere
Liked least: Not booking for a longer stay
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyh123
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just perfect!!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just back from a lovely few days at this perfect little cottage. Spotlessly clean and well equipped throughout. Bed so comfy it is hard to leave it! Situated in a small village and right on the doorstep to Kinder Scout. We really cannot fault this cottage at all. Everything was just perfect. Our little dog loved it too!

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connector...
1 review
“a cosy little cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Small, but cosy. A lovely little cottage,very clean.a good starting point to walk on kinder scout.would come again.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_HEART_T...
Sheffied
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little find!”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights last week and we loved it! Lorna was very welcoming but non intrusive and the little cottage is cosy and has everything you need. The village of Hayfield is very quaint and we would recommend Millie's tea rooms for breakfast. The cottage is very close to the start of the kinder trail and quite a few other walks and is within walking distance of the local pubs. We will definitely be back. Thanks for the treats you left for our arrival Lorna!

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing