We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, clean and very helpful owner”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the front door
Kitchen Patio Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Welcome to the front door
Kitchen
Patio Garden
View inside from front door
Kitchen
Front Door
Seating area
Seating area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Entrance to bathroom
Snake Path elevation sign post at side of Cottage. Start of the bridleway
Dragons Back
View from Heron Walk over to Kinder Scout. Half hour walk from Cottage
Side View
BBC drama 'The Village' was filmed in Hayfield
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danielle...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, clean and very helpful owner”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had an excellent stay in order to attend a wedding. Loved our meal at the roundhouse too. Lorna the owner was very helpful organising a pet sitter for us.
Some great walks on the doorstep. Overall a brilliant weekend. Thanks Lorna!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-Mari...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage with views and location to match.”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My partner and I stayed at Craigmore Cottage for a few days to celebrate my 21st birthday and I couldn't have been happier with our choice. The cottage is perfect and everything is provided including little extras such as cookies! Being located in Hayfield, Craigmore is an ideal place to stay for walkers especially if you have Kinder Scout in mind. Our stay was absolutely amazing and I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place to spend my birthday. We will definitely recommend to our family and friends and we hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the property itself
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Tunbride Wells
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“High quality cottage , very fairly priced”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night as a stop off on the way back from Scotland . The cottage is furnished to a high standard with all mod cons including free wi-fi . The location is beautiful and provides an excellent base for the casual explorer or more adventurous walker . The owners are very friendly , and happy to offer expertise on the local area . If they are laying you can even buy eggs freshly laid on site , hows that for cutting food miles . Will def be back for another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa N
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy Craigmore Cottage”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

So happy I stumbled across this cottage. Our stay here has been wonderful. The cottage is extremely cosy with bags of character. Including everything you need for a comfortable stay. The cottage comes with stunning views and is perfectly located in the most scenic part of the Peaks. You have no need to drive anywhere as there are plenty of walks within range of the cottage. If you do fancy venturing further afield, then the best locations are easily within a 30 min drive. We visited and recommend; Mam Tor, Hope Valley, Edale, Winnats Pass... The list goes on! Lorna, the cottage owner is extremely welcoming and very helpful. I very highly recommend this cottage, we will certainly be back again in the future for another wonderful stay in this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoRich01
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy cottage in gorgeous location”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is cosy ideal for two people. Hayfield is very picturesque ideal for keen photographers,walkers and cyclists. We will definitely be going back and recommending to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen K
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely stay here over the New Years break. A lovely little cottage with everything you need. Beautiful walks right on your door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place, cosy enough. Not totally ideal for a toddler.”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It's a split level building with the bedroom (really comfortable bed!) on the lower section, and the kitchen/living room in the upper bit. Everything works, it's warm, with plenty of fast running hot water and a decent amount of utilities in the kitchen. The two leather seats are deceptively comfortable, though for real comfort a two seater option would be a nice touch, as would the TV at a lower level - you end up craning your neck upwards for a time. Lovely views when you open the bedroom windows in the morning. Unfortunately the two steps in the middle section are too wide for a baby gate, so we put obstacles in the way and had to keep an eye on our roaming 15 month old daughter. There was enough room for a travel cot next to the bed. All in all, good value for a cosy stay in a great location - the Snake Path trail to Kinder Scout reservoir begins right outside. And Lorna was great, making sure we had everything we needed. Recommended.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is most helpful for other guests using Tripadvisor. Based on your comments I have amended my listing details to ensure that future guests travelling with children must contact me prior to booking so that I can explain the layout of the property. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing