We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good things come in small packages...”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the front door
Kitchen Patio Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Welcome to the front door
Kitchen
Patio Garden
View inside from front door
Kitchen
Front Door
Seating area
Seating area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Entrance to bathroom
Snake Path elevation sign post at side of Cottage. Start of the bridleway
Dragons Back
View from Heron Walk over to Kinder Scout. Half hour walk from Cottage
Side View
BBC drama 'The Village' was filmed in Hayfield
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phil B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good things come in small packages...”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal accomodation for two to explore the Hayfield & Kinder area. Have camped at Hayfield in the past but decided a cottage would be better for November (campsite closed, not going soft - honest!).
Craigmore had everything we needed; was clean, comfortable, well equipped & homely, plenty of space for clothes etc. Lorna was welcoming too!
We ate out at the Roundhouse - great food & wine. Enjoyed some good walks despite the weather. Would consider staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights in November and greatly enjoyed our stay. The owner who lives adjacent to the property was very welcoming, spectacular walks at the doorstep, the village of Hayfield is very pretty with a small range of shops, people very friendly. There is a pub "The Sportsman" within walking distance which serves good food (big portions!), open fires, and was very welcoming to us and our dog. Had we not wanted to explore the area, we could have happily left our car at the cottage and walked everywhere. The cottage itself is small, cozy (heating works well), nicely decorated, very clean, well maintained and quiet.
The guestbook is full of very complimentary comments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: The steep driveway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dadthebig...
1 review
“Small cottage, great value, great location”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I was working in the area, my Wife (on her days off) and our puppy came with me.
For a few days they had great walks and chilled and I came back to the cottage and was not on my own.
Perfect!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in the cottage for 3 nights for our Anniversary and my birthday. We did 2 lovely walks up on the hills (Kinder Scout) and the views were spectacular.
Lorna and family are so nice and made us very welcome. The cottage is so cute and spotless.
We can't wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taruntk
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cosy cottage is perfect for a couple. Due to one of my puppies feeling poorly, we arrived very late (11pm) but Lorna was very accommodating and left the garage light on for us. On arrival the cottage was lovely and toasty and though it was chilly outside we didn't need the heating on during our stay. The cottage is perfectly located for walking and the post walk decadence of relaxing by a fireplace at the nearby pub. We were there for only 2 days but were sad to leave and am already considering a longer trip there! Thank you Lorna, for the perfect Birthday weekend!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emzy10
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy and perfect location!!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself and my partner recently stayed at Craigmore Cottage with our 2 dogs and I do not have a bad word to say. The location was perfect, just next to one of the big walks, the village was only a 5 minute walk with greats pubs and a yummy chippy. Would definitely recommend 'The George Hotel' Pub. Staff and locals are very friendly. The cottage itself is so lovely and cosy. Hopefully will return soon for a longer stay. Lorna is very helpful and did pop and see us now and again to check everything was ok which was really nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme L
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Has everything you want and is right on the doorstep of Kinder Scout and "The Village" Tv series filming location, what more could you want? Ideally placed to visit everywhere the peak district has to offer such as castleton and mam tor which was brilliant. The cottage is perfect for a quick getaway and the dogs absolutely loved every minute of it, including the chickens and the sheep. Spot On A*. Lorna was very helpful as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Compact, small but perfectly formed
Liked least: Seating arrangement
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing