We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Peak District location”
other travelers have booked this property
looking south towards South Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield
looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
living room
living room
Harold the farmer
wet room
kitchen
upper bedroom
en-suite to upper bedroom
the view south from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

j0hnhwill...
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Peak District location”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were attending the wedding of our eldest son who lives in Hayfield and rented Harold's Farm and the Sheep Shack to accommodate my wife and I and members of our family. The cottages were perfect, comfortable, well-appointed, in a superb position close to the village but with glorious views across the fells. We were also able to take advantage of the many paths and bridleways for walking and cycling. The Derbyshire weather was, as we expected, cold and wet for the first week with the log fires needed. But when the temperatures rose, the bedrooms were cool and pleasant.
We look forward to visiting again but in the meantime, recommend both cottages for anybody wanting a quiet but conveniently placed holiday home.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
608riaf
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real home away from home!”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My boyfriend booked the Sheep Shack as my birthday present and we have just spent 3 nights in this lovely home. A great mix of cosy cottage and modernity...we've absolutely loved it! The stairs were my favourite feature along with the large window into the kitchen.

The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and cooking apparel, and the fact the cottage had wifi was a nice surprise as it wasn't on the facilities list of the initial booking.

All the bedding and towels smelt lovely and fresh, and plenty of logs were provided for the log burner which kept us lovely and warm in the evenings. There were plenty of local attraction guides and a nice instruction book left on the coffee table to help us settle in!

The only thing I missed was a guest book. I always like to read a guest book and leave a nice message, it just seems a bit more personal than hunting on trip advisor....

Overall we had a wonderful relaxing break and would happily return for a second visit!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EwaStar
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely amazing place ! It was family retreat and would come back again as 3 days wasn't long enough . Thank you !

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin M
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent- great place”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

great cottage- great views -great place everything you need. cottage is very nicely decorated. modern with nice traditional touches

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views were fantastic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
869cliveb
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peace in the valley”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

what a spot, glorious views from the shack with a well appointed holiday home. No Wi Fi but mobile reception was just about available! Cleanliness was the only disappointment; with sizable cobwebs in various places in the lounge area and the paintwork in the main room/stair area in need of a lick to make it feel clean. the small garden area is lovely but hadn't been tended for some time so was overgrown. the main double bed very comfortable, the children's bunk beds only had one made up on arrival and we had to hunt for bedding and when my 10 year old got in found chewing gum on the bed frame! all this aside I would stay again, its charming and very convenient for all the walks and cycling locally.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: cleanliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
...housekeeper has been informed...normally she is very good and doesn't tend to miss anything...paintwork is re-done regularly but people inevitably bump cases against the walls in the stairwell...we do our best. Thanks for the otherwise good review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
2 reviews
“So many good things to say, so little space!”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you want the ultimate in relaxation this is it. If you don't like the countryside this is not it!

The cottage is beautifully appointed, tastefully finished, warm and comfortable and set within some stunning peak district scenery. For us one bonus was a lockable bike shed and of course there are many great cycle trails in the area. Another was being within 20 - 25 minutes walking distance of Hayfield, so dinner at the local pub without those drink drive issues.

Treat yourself and share some time with the sheep.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The wet room was excellent and the views were stunning.
Liked least: The WiFi is intermittent at best but hey it was supposed to be a get away from it all break.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112samant...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Sheep Shack for three nights in mid November and had an amazing time. When we arrived the heating (including underfloor heating) was on and the house was very clean, tidy and cosy. We were very impressed! We immediately made use of the log burner with the logs provided and were able to pick from a large selection of DVD's and films on hard drive. We had a particularly rainy three days but did not mind as the house was lovely to be in. Views from all windows were also fantastic. Overall we can not fault the stay and would highly recommend. We are already looking forward to returning next year!

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.