We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travelers have booked this property
looking south towards South Head
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
looking south towards South Head
Looking west towards Hayfield
looking back from 'Dorothy's garden'
living room
living room
Harold the farmer
wet room
kitchen
upper bedroom
en-suite to upper bedroom
the view south from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hayfield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
112samant...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Sheep Shack for three nights in mid November and had an amazing time. When we arrived the heating (including underfloor heating) was on and the house was very clean, tidy and cosy. We were very impressed! We immediately made use of the log burner with the logs provided and were able to pick from a large selection of DVD's and films on hard drive. We had a particularly rainy three days but did not mind as the house was lovely to be in. Views from all windows were also fantastic. Overall we can not fault the stay and would highly recommend. We are already looking forward to returning next year!

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reema S
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, great cottage !!”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at the Sheep Shack end of June for 4 nights on a very last minute booking and what a great find it was... beautiful location with walks starting right at the door step.
Cottage is very cozy and extremely well equipped with top quality appliances.
The only thing I couldn't find was a pair of oven gloves ..... Michael to make note!!
We were also extremely lucky with the weather last week week.
Would definitely book again. Michael also gave us a tour of Harolds farm, the larger holiday rental opposite the sheep shack and that was beautiful too.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
Thank you for the great review. Don't know what the housekeeper has done with the oven gloves. New gloves and some more kitchen utensils on the way this weekend! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry A
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SPICEWORLD! Beautiful converted grade 2 listed barn in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from our second stay at The Sheep Shack and are already eagerly anticipating our next trip! The barn is excellently furnished with all the amenities you would need for a week long stay. It' s a great opportunity for salarymen like myself and my friends to get away from the busy metropolis' of London and Lowestoft. The walking options locally are ample and the pretty little village of Hayfield is also within reach.

Slight criticism would just be of the kitchen frying pan could be replaced as well as a few more cleaning utensils. But this is so minor and making these changes would enter the property into a shakra-like state of supremacy.

I would give 6 stars if I could, I almost just want to selfishly keep this world class shack a secret, but it would be an insult to all the hard work Michael has obviously put in, in making it such a comfortable and homely place to stay.

Best wishes and happy holidaying.

Ben Coleman and the lads

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davbut
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ideal Base for Walking Holiday”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is our second visit to the Sheep Shack and this year we had much better weather. This meant we didn't drive far and simply based our walks from the front door. Walking in this area is glorious and the small village of Hayfield is close by - we liked the Royal Hotel for dinner. The Sheep Shack is of excellent standard and there is everything you need for a cosy and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Underfloor heating
Liked least: A little dark as the windows are small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pejtickel
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at the Sheep Shack last summer with my wife. We were up from London for our wedding and this was the perfect retreat away from the pre wedding stresses. The owner was great and answered any queries we had. Everything you could think of is taken of. It is a really high spec holiday letting in a beautiful part of the world. I would definitely recommend it and will be visiting again.

Just be careful making your way there though, I used an old sta nav and it took me the wrong way.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and cosiness of the place
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah_12...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Country Oasis”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years Eve - it is in a beautifully remote location with access to excellent walking, and is wonderfully furnished and the kitchen excellently equipped. It is large and extremely comfortable (the photos really don't do it justice - it's superb) and we were toastie warm for the duration of our stay. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend it. Our thanks to the owner.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy W
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in all respects”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent four days at the Sheep Shack walking and visiting relatives. The Shack is extremely well appointed and well kept. We loved the fact that there were walks directly outside the door and they were amazing. Our favourite thing about the Shack was the wood burner which was lovely to return to on a cold November evening. We definitely want to return.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wood burner
Liked least: road to The Shack might be difficult if it was icy weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing