We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boil in a bag Sunday Lunch”
Review of Sportsman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sportsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We'd been told the landlord is rather unwelcoming if he deigns to go behind the bar to serve you, but we remembered the excellent food from our previous visits. This summer we ordered the Sunday lunch which was more than disappointing. The meal was a mixture of boil in a bag items thrown together on a plate. The presentation was really poor and the food awful. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 311anneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Sportsman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Ideally situated, just a couple of minutes from Bowden Bridge car park at the fook of Kinder Scout. We found the pub to be very friendly, a lot of dogs lounging around a blazing coal fire, the landlord took us to our room and was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was more than adequate, no complaints, although he did tell us that we were in the best of the rooms, so the others may not have been up to our standard. The price of the room was very reasonable, a full £20 cheaper than a pub in Edale that I looked at.

The food was very good in quality, not the cheapest of pub food but you get what you pay for. Some good beers. We also enjoyed our breakfast. We will certainly stay here again if we are ever away walking in the High Peaks again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank capothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, mountain biked the peaks from the doorstep, so location is ideal and they allowed the bikes in the woodshed at the back to keep dry. Essential as they were filthy! Welcoming and easy going, pub dinner excellent as were the real ales. We had 2 twins, basic and functional, ideal for us (4 guys) but probably not a romantic overnight venue!

Owners great, and atmosphere in the evenings good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliet26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed for one night, was apprehensive after reading past views.
Yes rooms are in need of updating, decor and carpet dated, we stayed in a ground floor double, bathroom was very small, a bit musty with no toiletries provided. but everything else was prettyy good, towels, bedding clean bed comfy.tea and coffee in room.
Breakfast was excellent, choice of cereal etc, followed by a choice of hot food cooked to order, i had the full english, really good.
We were with a group of 14 others who stayed on the nearby campsite, we all ate in the pub at lunchtime on Sunday, a good choice of meals all well cooked and served up
together. All the staff were friendly and helpfui, including the landlord! not sure about previous negative comments about him, he was great with us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Some of the reviews don't do the place justice. The pub welcomes dogs and walkers and staff are very friendly and want to make sure they can do all they can for you. Drinks are reasonably priced for a pub, lots of lagers and guest bitters to choose from. the menu is very good, food is excellent and the pub is tidy and homely. Didnt experience any problems with the bill and the pub offers cash back which is good as the village has not one single cash machine. Would recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jollytraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Wasn't looking forward to staying here after reading the reviews the day before we went but The Sportsman wasn't as bad as the reviews would suggest.It probably needs sprucing up a bit but the pub was nice,the staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent.The room was ok,though the shower did run hot and cold!!
Overall,an average B&B in a nice village,which was about a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: A little dated but generally fine
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QBbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Room clean but very worn (threadbare carpet, rusting metal shower cubicle). Breakfast was OK and served with a smile.
We stayed here a year ago and the new owners are far less friendly than the old.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_Tour_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Inn

Address: Kinder Road, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Hayfield
Sportsman Inn Hayfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing