We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good selection of beers and restaurant quality food. Large car park to the front and good outdoor seeting. This is a good location at the foot of kinder scout for those who enjoy a walk, the village cricket ground is situated next to the hotel for those wanting to sit and relax. My only criticism is the bar area was a little crowded making it difficult to buy drinks.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank monkeypoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 157 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We've stopped at this hotel several times and absolutely love it. The facilities are great and the rooms spacious and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and the breakfasts wonderful, especially the porridge, which they'll make specially if you ask. excellent value for money and would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was the first time we had eaten out on Christmas Day and it was perfect. The food was very good, my steak was excellent, a good choice! We were there with our 1 and 2 year old Grandsons and they were catered for very nicely. We would not have changed anything, thank you for making our Christmas Day stress free and so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We did not sleep there but can not delete the sleep quality rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401MAGDA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We went here for an annual Christmas get together last week and it was ok. We had the set Christmas menu in the restaurant. On arrival we found the male bar staff pretty indifferent and not particularly interested in our booking reservation so we just sat ourselves down with a drink and assumed someone would just come and take us to our table. After about 10 minutes a very nice female member of staff came and took us through to the restaurant and we had a very warm welcome from her and excellent service too once in the restaurant. We found the food to be quite good although my steak was well done rather than medium as asked for. You could eat in better places but equally you could eat in a lot worse, definitely far better than places like The Hanging Gate or The Fallow Deer who just provide microwave dinners!. The 3 course meal cost about £20 and we were full afterwards so not bad value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Took 49 cycling buddies for there Christmas Dinner, the food was excellent, the service very good and all the staff were very pleasant. The interior is very clean with a busy bar and a good separate dining room for functions.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidann8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Having visited hayfield earlier in the year and attending a party at The Royal I really quite liked it. (See my previous review). So when I had reason to visit again, I decided to stay here. The reviews appeared mostly to be improving, with some terrible from earlier in the year but with new proprietors it looked like things were on the up.

I can also take some of the other negative comments with a pinch of salt, it is after all primarily a pub with a few letting rooms.

Even on this occasion the pub element was pretty good and they had a live jazz band playing some good tunes. Although when I asked for 3 teas at 21.30 the landlord said the machine was off and would take ages to heat up! I suggested he used the kettle from my room, and of course he then made the tea!

However, as soon as you pass the door to accommodation it all changes. We were running very late for a meeting with friends so literally dropped our bags and turned straight around to go out again so didn't really get to fully understand the room until going to bed later.

Let's start with the good - or rather what is a standard expectation in a hotel:
Reasonably comfortable bed, not new mattress but perfectly acceptable.
Very nice linen and towels, new, clean, white, felt good.
A HUGE plasma TV
Good size mugs for a cup of tea.

The bad - below standard for ANY letting room, in any country at any star rating.
The bathroom was archaic, a reviewer commented on this in January, the same room and apparently the owners had a grand plan to renovate, well it's late November and not a thing has changed - cracked sink, ruined bath panel, mouldy seals and grouting, a noisy sani flow loo even when not in use, old crinkling linoleum. (Photos attached) I'd rather have had a bathroom upgrade than a plasma TV. Really you can get a whole suite for £250 from B&Q!
The windows are so badly rotten they are soft.
The view from the bathroom is of a dumping ground at the back of the pub - a bit of frosted sheeting would work wonders.
A rather strange cable set up around the door frame.

So, not a great experience and not one I would recommend or repeat. I am not one to criticise easily, I may make suggestions occasionally but on this occasion my recommendation would be to simply rip out the bathroom and start again.

When we came downstairs they had prepared breakfast in a corner nook (we were the only guests) but the smell of bleach was so overpowering it actually hit the back of my throat, hence we declined and got a coffee on our travels instead.

On paying we chatted to a lady who I assume was Lisa the landlady, she was very pleasant, asked us about our onward journey but failed to ask how our stay had been. Had we been asked I would have replied as above.

£70 for this room was simply not good value, though to be honest had I appreciated the bathroom was still like this I simply wouldn't have booked, no mater what the price. You will notice the website doesn't show the accommodation, only the bar and food.

Room Tip: Ask to see updated photos first! I stayed in room 1 and it was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillandderek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and sorry you didn’t feel able to raise these points in person when we were having a chat.

As you observe, we haven’t been long at The Royal Hotel (we celebrated our first birthday just last weekend) but in the intervening 12 months we have channeled all of our resources into renovating the entire ground floor public areas, creating new bar areas, a new Ramblers’ Bar, gents and ladies toilets, a new dining room and function space. In January we start on upgrading all 5 guest bedrooms upstairs, which as you’ve identified and we don’t deny is much needed. New furniture, carpets, bathrooms etc are already on order and we certainly aren’t opting for the quick-fix cheap solution proposed from B&Q!

The present standard of the bedrooms is such that we do not currently proactively promote them and try to manage expectations on our website where in the accommodation section we emphasis that rooms are clean and comfortable but in need of an update. That is also the reason why at the moment you won’t find us on any accommodation booking engines.

Our newly refurbished bedrooms are due to be ready by Spring 2014. Do come and try us out. We think you’ll be impressed!

With all good wishes

Lisa

The Royal Hotel
Hayfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had the wonderful experience of staying at the Royal Hotel recently. The owners, Mark and Lisa, went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. The friendliness of the staff, the food, the wine, the wide selection of beers, the cleanliness of the room, the comfortable atmosphere, not to mention the beautiful countryside of the Peak District, all contributed to an experience that we will never forget and cannot wait to repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hayfield
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
216 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range: $110 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing