We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Walking in Peak Area”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

overall 5 walkers - enjoyed a good weekend in the peak area
good food - Massive portions & freshly cooked and delivered quickly
Breakfast cooked to order - satisfied 5 fussy walkers!
Drink - more than enough to choose from - try out the green goblin cider
excellent friendly service
would go again

Room Tip: twins are the best! all are quiet after 11'ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaswant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very Nice staff Clean lovely food,Lots of cask ale we had lots of bottled beers to choose from the menu is very good and reasonable all the girls are very helpful and always smiling,The room was very comfortable plenty of space two settees big colour tv we would certainly come back delightful location all in all exellent 5 stars ;-)

Room Tip: If you don't like church bells don't have a room at the front of the hotel,We love them but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimJims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a fab meal here last week, large portions and lovely proper chips.

Had a burger and a curry, both meals were very tasty and both contained their awesome chips :)

I counted 7 hand pulled real ales, lots of different bottled beers, tried a few and were nice, there was also 5 different ciders.

Staff were pleasant, pub was clean, my dog was allowed in and a good visit was had, well done !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamPitLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

the food was lovely in this pub and we were amazed at the portions especially the grazing plates it is well worth ordering, the chef is working very hard to deliver very good food. thank you. we had drinks on several occasions before eating in this pub and was always delighted with the selection and service.

Room Tip: try the grazing plates excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in the village for a weekend and was at the Royal on Saturday for a 40th birthday in their function room. The facilities were great and a nice traditional old pub with pretty good service considering the circumstances.

Along with the 40th party it was also a very busy weekend as there were dozens of fell runners staying in the village for a weekend of races. The result was that they ran out of steak pie and gammon by 6pm on Saturday night! They were seriously under the cosh in terms of the bar and service, so it was slow and some of the staff showed their stress. Overall though they managed to just keep on top and as it slowed down they recovered well.

My pate was pretty dire, but hubby had fish and chips which was excellent and several other dished looked great. Again a limited wine menu but adequate, majors on real ale. Prices were very reasonable too.

I would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gillandderek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel is "old traditional" fits in with surroundings Excellent service and friendly. Big plus is big car park. Location is also excellent. The bar is very cheerful and good real ale choices.

Food is good and what I'd expect.....

The room needs an update but was spacey and more than adequate for us. The bed linen appears ot be new and of a high quality. My wife would have preffered feather pillows but the ones privided were acceptable, Bathroom a bit tired in its decor but had everthing you need .

we ate in the bar and the "sunday roast" was good and certainly value for money. Breakfast excellent.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBH0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my husband live in Hayfield and have not really been to any of the pubs here, we came to the royal last night with our daughter, as it was a childrens disco, what a lovely pub it is, the staff are very welcoming and attentive, it was packed in there last night with a great atmosphere.But I do think the prices are quiet high, the ladies toilets need some locks on the cubicle doors as none of them have any. All in all we would visit again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
7.4 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
8.5 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,157 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hayfield
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range: $110 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing