We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pub”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good pub”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

good food ! good choice of real ales ! dog friendly aswell , ticks all the boxes

Room Tip: just a stop off
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
34
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is dated and could do with some improvement. The staff were very attentive and the beer was very good. Although there was plenty of hot water on the Saturday evening, on Sunday morning at 7:30 it was cold. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Dropped in on a very rainy friday at lunchtime. 4 adults and 5 children. Staff very helpfull and accomodating. Pub had 4 very good local real ales rather than the more generic variety. Both adult and childrens food was of good quality and mainly prepared from fresh rather than something taken out of a freezer and tossed into a microwave. Coffee for a pub was also good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Called for a few drinks with some freinds on Tuesday May 8th , Beer good but speakers to loud and noisy small child at the bar, will try another pub next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is my third visit to the royal, the last being 18month ago. During this time the rooms have declined.Our room although stated as luxury rooms had no handles on the wardrode door leaving you to lever the door open. The curtains in the bathroom were hanging from the rail. The room had a forgotten haunted house sort of feel! We had recommended the room to friends from past stays but felt let down as their room smelt musty and damp.
After a lovely long walk with fab veiws I was looking forward to a hot bath. Not only did i not get this but i ended up having a freezing cold shower. I tryed the water and went down to the bar to report the lack of water. The staff member said she would find out what had happened then let me know. She came back and said that others must of beat me to it!! at 6oclock? and to wait 15 mins and it would warm up as the water had been put back on. I waited for half an hour and nothing.In the end standing under a stone cold shower. My husband and friends were given a apology due to a power cut. But I had pointed out the problem and it hadnt been rectified in time.
Now for the good bits. The welcome is always good at the Royal and it has a homely feel. The pub itself is warm and friendly. The staff are attentive and chatty. They seemed to be genuinely interested in our day. The breakfast was very good and ample with good quality products.
I would like to return to the village as it is lovely as is the walking but sadly I will try somewhere else next time. Although I will still visit the Royal for its lovely traditional pub, friendly staff and locals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankrupt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as a birthday treat on 20 April. We had room 1 and our friends room 2. The room was large but run down. The room smelt musty and it took most of the weekend to wear off. The room looked tired with a large crack in the wall.
The bathroom has saniflo and is noisey. On the saturday we had no hot water and had to have a cold shower. My firend complained and was told to wait 20 mins and it would be ok, however after 30 mins she still had no hot water. The management did apologies and stated they had had a power failure and the timer for the hot water needed to be reset.
The bedroom furniture needs some TLC. Several drawers were virtually unusable. The fronts were hanging on and could have been solved with a little glue.
We did not eat at night in the pub but the food they brought out looked appealing and large portions. We had breakfast on both mornings and this was very good in deed, plent of food, cooked fresh to order. This made up for the disappointments.
The pub was busy at times with friendly locals and good beer. We enjoyed drinks prior to going out and on returning. There was entertainment both nights and there were other events advertised.
With a little work this could be a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear appear to be quieter, our friends said they could hear the church clock at night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We did not stay at the hotel, we only had lunch there. The service was terrible. We ordered our food and after 40 minutes we had to ask where the food was. The girl behind the bar apologised and said the chef was "on it now". Unfortunately the food was not worth waiting for. The plates were cold, the food was lukewarm - the only thing hot were the serving dishes. One meal had to go back to the kitchen because the chips were still raw inside. Very disappointing and we will not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shoefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
7.4 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
416 reviews
15.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing