We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place.”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very nice place.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A collegue and i stayed here for 1 night as we were working nearby, on the whole it was a very pleasurable experience the staff and landlady were very warm and welcoming. The rooms were cosy and very clean i had a good nights sleep ( that could be down to the guest cider at the bar).
If i were to pick any fault it would be the fact breakfast isn't served until 8.30am but that is no great hardship as the landlady put us a packed lunch together instead which was lovely. I would recommend to stay here its a lovely place in a lovely village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
90
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northeast england
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

spent three nights here with my husband. It was a lovely little place, with lots of charm and character, staff were very helpful and friendly. And my husband who dosnt want big meals, was catered for very well with there being a light meals section. the prices were very reasonable. The village was charming, the locals very friendly, and the surrounding country side was spectacular..with lots of walks ets. would recommend to friends and family anytime...and the real ale went down well with my husband too...village was location of TVs the village as we were later told...

Room Tip: a few stairs wouldn't be good for anyone with problems getting up them....but it is a building f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bliscoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

One useful aspect of the George is that there is a separate door for guests so you can get in and out at all hours. I am an early riser when I am hill walking and I have stayed in places where rising early sets off a burglar alarm.

Less useful for an early riser are the creaky floorboards. You get worried about disturbing others when moving around at odd hours.

My room had no air conditioning, but was well ventilated by the windows. I arrived during a heatwave and was quite comfortable. Being able to sleep without the hum of an air conditioner is a relief. There is a radiator for cold nights.

My room didn't have a 2-pin socket, so my cellphone battery ran down. I didn't bring an adapter because the universal adapter that I bought plugs into a 2-pin socket and the George was the only hotel on this trip that didn't have a 2-pin socket.

They thoughtfully supplied skim milk with the tea and coffee set, but no sweetner. Diabetics, take your own.

The bathroom looks like a converted loft (more creaky floorboards!); don't expect modern facilities. That said, it was neat and well maintained.

I got thoroughly soaked on my first day out. The hotel doesn't offer a laundry service but there is one nearby that recycled my wet clothes into dry ones in two hours. In fact, the whole village is quite well supplied with shops, a post office, pharmacy and others (including the village chippy), so you can probably buy whatever you need.

The hotel is far enough from the main road to be quiet at night. The church bells peal at night but I can't say I was disturbed by them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Been twice,both times unfriendly landlady sat end of bar smoking,not my sort of pub,hada meal IN back room ,8 people sat close by having some sort of AGM,,,WILL NEVER GO AGAIN ITS A DUMP,much better pubs close by, and a lot more friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed one night whilst visiting the beautiful village of Hayfield. There were good and bad things about the stay, many of which let down the overall quality:
Positives:
Lovely location, bar area and dining room very presentable and a wide range of cask beers. The breakfast was very well presented, and there were some friendly staff.
Negatives:
Unfriendly landlady - we were welcomed by another hard working lady wearing glasses who we assumed was the landlady. She was friendly and chatty, and also did the waiting on at breakfast. Despite spending the evening in the pub dining in the restaurant and afterwards in the bar, we never managed to identify the landlady/landlord, and were surprised to find out that the landlady had been the one strolling around behind the bar in the evening, doing very little whilst the young girl and male waiter served the customers. Both were friendly and sociable.
Room - At first the room seemed ok although a bit dated, with clean bedding. However, there were little things that let the place down, like the lack of a proper cleaning regime. The extractor fan, the every surface including top of the wardrobe and behind the beds were extremely dusty. There were no hand towels, suitable mirror near to the dressing table and dirty plastic beakers in the bathroom with toothpaste stains.
Food - Our starters of garlic King prawns, which consisted of approx. 8 prawns in a bowl that didn't match the plate, accompanied by a plain baguette and a foil wrapped pack of butter. Little effort was made with the presentation and at £5.95 it was a little expensive. A Greek lamb dish consisted of a watery stew with an anaemic looking dumpling. This came with carrots and cabbage. The rib-eye steak was cooked well, and medium rare, but the cheese sauce on the top was like rubber. There were very few people dining for a Saturday evening, and this is probably down to the food.
We would definitely revisit the village again, but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steval75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A large group of us were camping in the area and on our second evening tried the George. It was a very friendly place with a good choice of beers. The food was generally very acceptible and there were no complaints. The service was excellent and we would certainly eat there next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a few evening here last week whilst camping.

Food was nice, nothing flash but cheap and well cooked, the Piri Piri Chicken was cooked lovely (not over cooked) and the food as a whole was pretty good and well priced.

They had a few hand pulled beers too, tried a few and all well kept so well done there.

Staff behind the bar were very nice, chatty, pleasant and really nice.

Free wi-fi was a bonus, especially whilst camping and all in all a nice place with good food, decent beer and good chatty staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamPitLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
28 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waltzing Weasel
The Waltzing Weasel
#2 of 5 in Birch Vale
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 14 Church Street, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hayfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing