We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A large group of us were camping in the area and on our second evening tried the George. It was a very friendly place with a good choice of beers. The food was generally very acceptible and there were no complaints. The service was excellent and we would certainly eat there next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a few evening here last week whilst camping.

Food was nice, nothing flash but cheap and well cooked, the Piri Piri Chicken was cooked lovely (not over cooked) and the food as a whole was pretty good and well priced.

They had a few hand pulled beers too, tried a few and all well kept so well done there.

Staff behind the bar were very nice, chatty, pleasant and really nice.

Free wi-fi was a bonus, especially whilst camping and all in all a nice place with good food, decent beer and good chatty staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamPitLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

we ate at the george hotel a few times with family and on our own over our weeks stay in hayfield. the food as usual is always of a very high standard and the service very good, and the prices are very reasonable. this pub is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited the pub and restaurant on a bank holiday. It was busy but we got a table straight away. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The £8.50 for two courses offered a good choice of meals and the food was perfectly cooked. The egg and black pudding starter was gorgeous and so well presented. Steak was cooked well(rare) and very tasty. Highly recommended if you are in this beautiful village.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2eastwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night. We were meeting friends who lived nearby, so needed a bed for the night and breakfast the following morning. We had a relaxing night's sleep and a very good freshly cooked breakfast. No complaints and just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Only a shower in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We hadn't visited the George for some time, I don't know how long the current landlord has been there but the atmosphere, food and drinks were excellent and good value. We noticed "wine down Friday" where any bottle of wine was £10.00 (think there might be a time limit) We had a gammon steak, chips etc and there was plenty of it and all freshly cooked. It wasn't flashy, just good service and good pub grub.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshirePimpernell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a 2 night stay in April, still snow on the ground, but the hotel's log fires were burning and our room was really warm. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the food excellent, quality produce and very good value.

Room Tip: We had room room 6, with 4 poster, very characterful, overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlekev47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayfield hotels
0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
219 reviews
0 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hayfield
31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 14 Church Street, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range: $76 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hayfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing