We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Navigation Inn(Buxworth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (199)
    Filter reviews
    199 results
    Traveler rating
    84
    69
    26
    12
    8
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    84
    69
    26
    12
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe publamb kleftikokinder scoutspa bathsteakarrived promptlylovely lunchnice friendly atmospheretwin bedsspecial menugarden peasexcellent breakfast in the morningfamily birthdayquaint villagefull englishmy partnerpopular with the locals
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    175 - 180 of 199 reviews
    Reviewed February 5, 2013

    We called by chance after a great day out , we were not disappointed, you get a good feeling as you walk through the door. The staff are very welcoming, the open fire roaring away then topped with 3 faultless courses... the Mushroom Pepperpot starter is not to be missed...all the food was piping hot served with little waiting by friendly staff who kept the tables clean but were like stealth bombers you wouldnt know they had been. We didnt stop overnight but if the meal experiance is anything to go by it would br 1st class

    • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank SaddleworthGricey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 2, 2013

    While driving around the Peaks in snowy windy weather, we needed to find somewhere warm and welcoming for lunch, and happily the George hove into view. A lovely open fire, charming staff and excellent food (including great chips) provided just about the perfect stopover. Can't think of any downsides at all! Well done George.

    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Spikky
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 22, 2013

    I have had several meals here in the last few years with my whole family and i have to say that usually you can not fault them. The food is always well prepared and served pipping hot and the staff are usually really attentive and friendly. They have a great selection of food including a Lunch Special with 2 courses for around £7.00 i think it is. They have a great range of ales and beers and the wina always seems to flow well in the group although im not a wine drinker myself so I dont know if its good or not (but its always well received on the table). This wou;d have been a 5 star review if I hadn't taken our last visit into account where things did not go so well right from the off !! I pretty sure it was a one off so I am going to go in again and it will not put me off !!

    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Daymo71
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 5, 2013

    One of the best pub's in the area, comfortable and friendly, try the £8.95 for 2 courses meals, excellent value for money, food is freshly home cooked and plenty of it and the staff are always helpful and friendly. Lovely big open fire in the colder months is a welcome sight. Big car park at the rear and outdoor seating in the summer and Hayfield itself is a lovely village.

    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Solo_Traveller187069
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 4, 2013

    We went to the George on a Friday night for a friends birthday meal they catered brilliantly for around two dozen of us eating and the ten or so who turned up later for a drink. The food was all off the main menu and tasted great the staff were quite happy for us to redesign there down stairs dining room. The wine at any bottle for a tenner on Friday went down really well and the Holt's Sunbeam was a really nice citrusy flavoured bitter. At the front of the pub is a really nice fire/ range to sit round, all in all what a great pub and with two courses for £8.45 a definate winner.

    Room Tip: Only ever eaten there or popped in for a drink
    • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank wester
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews