We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a one-night stay here and are fully satisfied with The Farmhouse. Our room was small but modern, clean and cosy and the bathroom was of a good British standard. Breakfast was all good as well, I did not like cooked breakfast and was given a substitute cheese platter on request which was perfectly fine and made a good breakfast together with the cereals and jam etc. Would go again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_Beyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This accommodation can only be summed up in 2 words - Simply Amazing! Stayed here for a few nights recently and was totally amazed by the level of service we received, John and Marilyn were extremely helpful, and as it was my birthday on the last night Marilyn went out her way to get my a birthday cake and make a massive effort. The whole farmhouse was exceptionally clean and maintained to a high standard.

The annex was an added bonus as we had a group, and most of the group were able to fit in there, yet again the annex was maintained to a very high standard.

Now on to the food, can only be described as 5-star! Marilyn was so helpful and arranged to cook dinner for us on 2 nights of the 4 and on the other 2 herself and John arranged our dinners in local eateries, which just added to the high level and standard of service we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked to stay at the farmhouse last minute and what a good choice we made, our dog was free of charge which was an added bonus. The views were amazing, breakfast was served when we wanted it. There was a choice of fresh fruit salad, cereals tea cakes, full English breakfast etc. our room was very clean and of a very high standard. The bed was lovely and comfortable both myself and my husband slept well. We have booked to go back February next yr.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

John and Marilyn are a great team, nothing was too much trouble and they offered friendly and attentive hospitality during our stay. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast and packed lunch were both very good. Excellent haggis! Dinner reservation was made at the local pub for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had the good fortune of staying in the Lavender Room in the annex to The Farmhouse as part of a walking holiday. From the booking to checking out the experience was without any problems and both the owners did their utmost to cater for my needs. I was staying there to complete the most northerley section of The Pennine Way, the section from Byrness to Kirk Yetholm is about 27 miles and I wished to break the section into two parts. Transport had been organised for me from Cocklawfoot to Kirk Yetholm and return, and in spite of me wishing to depart without breakfast as I wished to get under way just after 0600, breakfast was made for me before my departure.
The Lavender room is a nice size double bedroom with en suite jacuzzi bath and electric shower with vanity unit, the only window is a Velux roof window with remote control blind, which works perfectly. There is a lounge (conservatory like) area outside the room with comfortable setee and chairs as well as a small dining table and chairs and an adjacent kitchen with all the mod cons, for those who wish to do self catering. The decor is well thought out and it gives a bright and cheery aspect to the room.
Further inside the main building is a lovely large lounge and the dining room, which again is tastefully decorated and very pleasing to the eye.
I intend to return here with my wife as the area has so much to offer, and I would not think of staying anywhere else, you are treated so well, by two very hard working owners, who I wish continued success for the future as they deserve it. If you are going to book, use the phone and speak with Marilyn or Jon they are soooooo helpful, and you get a better deal rather than through internet booking services who pile on their commission.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with our dogs and it was excellent, John and Marilyn made you feel so welcome. The accommodation was great, the food amazing and they couldn't do enough to help, it was very handy as you could book an evening meal there or if you were off walking for the day they would make you up a packed lunch in the morning. Would recommend to anyone and hopefully stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenphiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely spot with own self contained unit with a small courtyard. John was extremely helpful allowing us the use of the bath in the other un-occupied bedroom after a very long day walking. Then when a member of the party was ill during the night he arranged a transfer to next B&B. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yetholm
0.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
117 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
7.5 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
140 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
14.7 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill

Property: The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill
Address: Yetholm Mill Main Street, Yetholm TD5 8PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Yetholm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yetholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill is a recently renovated Georgian building, done sympathetically retaining many original features. It is an old listed building so we are unable to change the rooms, they are not huge, but our guests find them cosy, contemporary and comfortable (and we have priced our rooms taking into account their size).We have 3 ensuite rooms and one with a private bathroom. Two are in our annexe which can be taken on a selfcatering basis. We have gained a great reputation for our food. A huge choice for breakfast, and evening meals can be arranged with 24 hours notice. Booked in advance we can also arrange for our beauty therapist to call for treatments ranging from Reiki to pedicures to massages. Walking packages for the individual or groups available. We really are in the perfect spot for Kelso and exploring the Borders and Northumberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmhouse At Yetholm Mill Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing