We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful stop on the St Cuthbert's Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirk Yetholm Hostel

Kirk Yetholm Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yetholm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirk Yetholm Hostel
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful stop on the St Cuthbert's Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Friends of Nature House in Kirk Yetholm is wonderful !! We have just got back from walking the St Cuthbert's Way and found the Friends House to be an excellent place to stay. Simon, the House Manager, was welcoming and pulled out all the stops to make us welcome and even made sure our clothes were dry for the morning
The lounge is particularly comfortable and with a lovely outlook and we sat in the late evening sun watching over fields filled with lambs. Bedrooms comfortable, good hot showers, a large kitchen area and the welcome drink on arrival made our stay special. Perfect for a couple of expats now living in France. Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: The dorms are big and airy and the 2 bed rooms are cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

4 of us just spent the Bank Hol w/e staying in the former SYHA hostel but now under the management of Friends of Nature. Some distinct improvements from when we were here couple years ago, new bedding, upgraded wash areas and lounge much smarter. Wardens really friendly with lots of advice and lent us local maps for free. The move to smaller rooms a good move as well
Good luck with the improvements and thanks for a super stay. Will be back

Room Tip: The little 2 bed rooms are really cosy on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived at the hostel only a week after it had opened fro the season and it was FREEZING. No heating had been on and none was on when we arrived. Facilities are basic and showers and toilets OK. No TV or radio for weather etc and no warden in the morning to ask
Only self catering facilities available so after we had had meal and breakfast in the local pub it was no cheaper that staying in the pub nearby.
Need to improve if it is to survive as an independent hostel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Usual hostel facilities, nothing notable. Good showers. No TV.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yetholm hotels
0.6 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Border Hotel
The Border Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yetholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirk Yetholm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirk Yetholm Hostel

Property: Kirk Yetholm Hostel
Address: Kelso | Roxburghshire, Yetholm TD5 8PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Yetholm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yetholm
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kirk Yetholm Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing