We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem,”
Review of The Plough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yetholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This country inn is simply a great place to stay. It is the hub of a rural village, set in a stunning landscape. It is a very friendly place to stay, the bar has excellent beer and a delicious house red.
The food was superb and incredible value. The room was comfortable and spotless and the breakfast went a long way to explain why the Scots are so happy! It was way beyond our expectations and we will definitely go back and explore the area. Amazing value overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoosterTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Plough Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Room was superb,clean, comfy with TV and kettle. The food and service was excellent, and great value for money. All you could want from a hotel stay. Highly recommended and we will certainly be back to visit the Plough again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from our local pub where we enjoyed an excellent meal. The service and standard of cuisine and atmosphere made for a lovely evening. The hotel chef had put on a Burns theme weekend of specials.The haggis stack on tattie and neep scones served with red cabbage was superb. We then went in the direction of chicken and roast salmon steak main courses which did not disappoint.We could not manage a sweet from the varied menu. We would strongly recommend the restaurant to visitors and locals.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yetholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights a good welcome friendly staff good food and drink good choice of breakfast. Room comfortable and clean good bathroom constant hot water very welcome after a long wet walk.Good price and value for money

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you have a dog with you this has got to be one of the best places to stay. Not only are all the lovely staff dog lovers it seems that all the pub locals are as well. Our little terrier has never been spoilt so much in his life! So much so that I am still finding it difficult to retrieve my chair at home! An old fashioned (meant in the best possible way from someone in his 60s) country pub. It was like going back in time. To all the staff thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We regularly visited the Plough Hotel around 5 years ago. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. Linda the manager and her daughter Vicki, who worked behind the bar, were lovely always had a smile and time for a chat with us. We had many a laugh over her stories about her dogs. The Hotel was clean and respectable.
We visited again last week, we were visiting the area and thought we would stop in to catch up with her. Sadly both the girls had left. The difference was unbelievable. It had a dirty unkept look about it.
When we eventually got the girl behind the bar to serve us, we waited a good 5 minutes, she was very unfriendly and very nearly rude. We stayed for a drink but the bar wasn't busy and the customers were loud and drunk, the language was terrible. The music was so loud we could hardly talk to each other. Another couple came into the bar and had the same treatment from the barmaid.
There were three dogs running around the bar, none of them on leads. We are dog lovers but having a strange dog sniffing around you is not nice.
It's sad a nice friendly little country pub has gone down hill and we will definately not be back. Very much to be avoided if you are not a local !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hazel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We decided to visit this pub for a Saturday lunch after reading a recommendation in the vistors book of our nearby holiday let. We were a group of 8 with 3 children (13,8,3) and consider ourselves to be very easy-going but had to leave this establishment.
On arriving we went into to bar and enquired if they were still serving lunch, on discovering that we were a party of 8 the barperson's attitude was that we were an inconvenience as they had quite a few raucous customers (wedding party) in the bar that she seemed to be enjoying chatting to. With a bit of a huff and some sighing she told us that we could find a table in the dining room. She didn't show us where this was or to a table, we were left to our own devices. We entered the 'dining room' but the only large table in there was covered in random luggage. After a few minutes we decided to look for a menu. The only menu was on a very small chalkboard in the bar. As we in turn walked in to look at this we were obviously a source of amusement to the wedding party who all decided that staring at us was top entertainment. The menu contained a reasonable selection of dishes but seemed far more suited to an evening menu (lots of very large heavy dishes) and in the £10-15 range. We enquired if they had a specific children's menu or smaller dishes (our youngest children will try most food but would not eat a large adult sized meal). The barlady replied that they could do smaller portions of "some dishes" but gave us no more information and wandered off again. We decided at this point to leave as we could not have been made to feel less welcome despite our intention to give this establishment a not inconsiderable amount of money. The food here may be good but only visit if adults only and in small parties.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
15  Thank Turbohat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yetholm
7.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
370 reviews
7.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
10.2 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coldstream
75 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
332 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: 1 Main Street, Yetholm TD5 8PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Yetholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yetholm
Price Range: $108 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Plough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Yetholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing