We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent veiws from a Elegant Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Michele
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cetraro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent the night here on our way back to Rome and found it was all we could have wanted. Roseanna was charming and helpful when we booked in and out. We had a two room suite with a magnificent ocean view. It was large and very comfortable.

We had a lovely diner with mostly "home grown" selections, it doesn't get any better as far as we are concerned. Our service was very good and were sorry we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 291 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I think this is the nicest hotel I have stayed in in Europe. I notice other people have suggested it is a bit shabby. I didn't think that at all. I thought everything was in the nicest taste. It is a big, grand building in a gentle old-fashioned way; what an unusual pleasure! But despite its size it feels homely. The lounge is beautiful, huge, with a long line of arched wondows looking out to sea, with antique furniture pleasantly mixed with unpretentious modern comfortable armchairs, tiled floors, and many friendly kelims. The hotel has large grounds with vines and fruit trees and one can go for quite a long walk effectively in the country and overlooking the sea. The hotel has several well furnished terraces. One of the terraces has a pool with a background of trees and with lots of quality loungers and umbrellas. Walking some distance downhill from the hotel there is an amazing lift that takes two minutes to complete its long journey down to the beach. A previous owner was an hydraulics engineer!. The private beach is charming and well furnished with loungers, also has a restaurant, and service in general ...and plenty of comfortable seating...and changing cabins.
Breakfast was lovely I thought...I personaly don't want a huge spread of low quality stuff...I much prefer what they offered...delicious home made marmalades and jams in big jars to help yourself to, croissants, rather good cake, toast of course, home made ricotta, home made yoghurt in quantity plus honey, as much fruit as you could eat...and yes there was some cheese and ham, but not a huge display. Coffee is as usual a problem when served in quantity (I was with a Page & Moy tour 4th Oct 12) ...it always gets cold too fast. Tea is Ok though.
Dinner always offered a reasonable choice. I thought it was pretty good. They grow their own vegetables. I think all tourist menus for a group are slightly determined by trying to please everybody...but that being said, I thought the food and the friendly service was excellent.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel enormously. Anyone driving through this area would enjoy a few days relaxation there I feel sure. It is a bit off the beaten track, (3 hours south of Naples). Local towns are quite nice, but not particularly spectacular. The hotel itself was what made it for me. It was such a pleasant environment.
Rooms...none of that maroon-everything and swirling carpets that make you shudder...everything is sparkling clean and light and floors tiled. The back of the hotel has no views worth mentioning and it probably is worth paying a bit more for th view. My friends had a wonderful view without paying extra ...so...matter of luck I guess.
I thought the owners were very nice and indeed the wife had many years ago been a guide for...Page & Moy. They and their son eat in the restaurant in the evening...always a good sign!

Tripadvisor: I would add photos, but there is insufficient instruction.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jmatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Returned to this lovely, atmospheric and timeless hotel and was not disapppinted. The location, views, and most importantly, the staff make this a very special place.

The locally sourced food is delightful and the staff have no problem offering alternative vegetarianchoices. The bedroom was comfortable and cool. The beach and beach restaurant were my favourite areas & helped make my holiday perfect.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a non-corporate, bland, hotel chain.

Hope to return again next year ;)

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for a week in late September. It's a long drive (3.5 hours) from Naples airport.
The hotel is in very large, well maintained grounds growing a lot of the ingredients used at meal time. The hotel is very isolated and is not within easy walking distance of anywhere so if you like to go for a walk, as we do, after dinner I'm afraid that's not on. The food and cooking is average Italian, nothing exciting or unusual. The breakfast is very basic and if you want an egg it cost an extra four euros !! Having said that the setting for eating breakfast is superb, a balcony with an unrestricted view over the Med. The rooms could do with freshening up and the woodwork (eg doors) needs some work done on them.
The staff are great, very responsive and pro-active.
The owners behaviour was extremely bizarre. He spent all day sitting in a room just inside the hotel entrance occassionally going outside for a cigarette. Whenever a paying guest spoke to him (eg to say buon giorno) he totally blanked them and walked by !!!
The beach, and access to it, is a treat. I would recommend having lunch there everyday, as we did, It's a wonderful setting.
All in all we had a good holiday, but that was down to the weather which was wall to wall sunshine. We will not be rushing back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauriceFlitcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My stay at the San Michele was the most amazing stay of my life. It was TRUE paradise. Perfect escape from the touristy feel of beautiful (yet-crowded) Rome. The owners made you feel so at home and the entire staff was delightful. Breathtaking view and the beach was unlike anything I have ever experienced. I will definitely be returning soon for another trip soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinemg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This iconic establishment has clearly seen better days and it is somewhat of a tragedy that it's past grandeur facilities and position are not properly exploited.

It has a few warts - air conditioning inoperable, no wifi except in one or two common areas, basic and dated furnishings, rock hard beds etc.

If you feel like however stepping back to the 50s and 60s this is your place.

The full board arrangement provides great value as the meals were exceptional - probably the best pasta in Italy!

The access to the beach is fun and yet reasonably efficient and rewards you on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Situated on 45hectares this majestic hotel sits high up on the mountain encompassing full 360 degree view of the Tyrreanian sea, the decore is dated back to the families history and it is run by the family. The rooms are all well decorated with space and comfort in mind and the food was fresh and organic. We thoroughlly enjoyed our stay and the lift to our private beach was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillicans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cetraro
6.2 mi away
Bouganville Palace Hotel
Bouganville Palace Hotel
#5 of 9 in Belvedere Marittimo
212 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Sea Garden
Hotel Sea Garden
#1 of 8 in Acquappesa
56 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
#3 of 4 in Terme Luigiane
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#3 of 17 in Diamante
118 reviews
14.7 mi away
Il Cormorano Exclusive Club & Spa
19.3 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Michele

Address: Localita Bosco 8/9, 87022, Cetraro, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Cetraro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cetraro
Price Range: $119 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting villa facing the Tyrrhenian Sea, the Grand Hotel San Michele is a family-run hotel with many facilities and an excellent service. The hotel is surrounded by a park of 44 hectares,a farm that everyday provides the hotel with fresh fruits and vegetables and a golf course (9 holes, par 70) The Grand Hotel San Michele also boast three private beaches and a modern convention centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cetraro
Grand Hotel San Michele Cetraro, Italy - Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing