We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, closer to Airport than City”
Review of Scandic Infra City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Infra City
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upplands-Vasby
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, closer to Airport than City”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nice Scandic Hotel outside the city of Stockholm. Rooms are large, clean and sufficient. AC didnt work that great though. Nice clean fitness area, free wife and good Nordic breakfast.
Restaurant was good and relaxing, parking directly linked to Hotel ( Nice in cold weather)
Very friendly staff..We also used the conference facilities which was pleasant

Room Tip: Rokm with outside view, otherwise Atrium view inside Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    213
    130
    40
    20
See reviews for
154
67
24
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Scandic Infra City is a gorgeous property - clean and quiet, however, it is a long way from Stockholm, so transportation can be an issue. It is close to Arlanda airport and there is a train from Arlanda to Upplands-Vasby station. There are 3-4 buses within a block of the hotel that will take you to either Upplands-Vasby or Roteborg train station or you can request a taxi to U-V station for ~140SEK. There is a direct train from either station to Stockholm Central in ~15 minutes and the Exhibition and Congress Center (Alvsjo) in ~25 minutes.

The rooms look like they are straight out of an Ikea showroom - wooden floors, simple Scandinavian style. Everything was clean, neat, quiet and spacious. The price is excellent since it includes free breakfast and free in-room wi-fi. There is a pool and a gym - I didn't have time to use either, however, since I was on the same floor, I met many people going back and forth to do so, including two enthusiastic children :)

The breakfast buffet was excellent. (I did not dine at the hotel for any other meals.) There is a small shopping center within a block of the hotel that includes two restaurants and a grocery store. There is very little else within walking distance.

Hotel staff were wonderfully helpful and provided detailed directions to Stockholm attractions such as the Vasa and Nordic museums and Skansen.

I would give this hotel a 5 except it is so far from the main attractions of Stockholm like Gamla Stan and transportation after 7pm and on weekends is limited.

Room Tip: There is a step down to the seating area so many rooms would not be appropriate for wheelchair acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmf22purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, beautiful lobby, well appointed rooms, free wi-fi (which is rare in Sweden), and free breakfast which had a huge selection of items. My wife and I stayed here on our last night of a week long trip before our flight out of Arlanda Airport. Our only issue was with the reservation process and a problem at check-in that resulted.

We made a reservation on the Scandic website directly for a handicapped accessible room (I use a wheelchair). We printed out the reservation which stated that we had reserved an accessible room with a Queen sized bed. When we went to check in we were informed that the hotel did not have any accessible rooms with queen sized beds at all. They offered us an accessible room with two twin beds, or the option of upgrading (for an additional price) to a deluxe queen non-accessible room. After a bit of back and forth between us and the front desk clerk (with multiple phone calls to the manager) they agreed to give us the deluxe queen at the same price as we were given on the website, but it took some effort to get them to honor the reservation that we had.

I would stay here again in the future but not before calling the hotel directly to confirm the reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Accompanied son for his arrival at a study abroad semester and wanted a place to stay for one night in Stockholm area before taking train to the university town. This hotel was recommended by the student travel agent - and well worth it. Price significantly less then downtown Stockholm area. Lobby is beautiful and breakfast buffet outstanding! Rooms were comfortable and clean. Included a hair dryer - which I did not find in the other 2 hotels I stayed at in Sweden. In a suburban area - so did need to take a taxi and the cost was about 45 dollars. Found out that taxi fees are negotiable - so had to go from taxi line to taxi line to ask how much each would charge. There is a restaurant in the hotel, 2 restaurants across the street and a grocery store nearby. When traveling the next day- easily able to purchase bus tickets at the grocery and the bus stop was only a block away. The front desk staff extremely helpful in providing instructions about the bus route.Did take about 30 minutes to get to downtown Stockholm- because we arrived late in the day and left early the next day - did not attempt to sightsee in Stockholm - but our experience with the public transportation makes it appear that it would be simple to get to downtown sights from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgettraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed at the Scandic Infra Citya for 1 night. Did see the pool area but didn't use it. In summary the hotel is very nice, clean, large, good breakfast and food. Although the restaurant did lack in service. The large hotel also makes it qutie impersonal. Highly recommended for conferences, but not for a cosy weekend.

LOCATION
The hotel is located in a business district in Upplands Väsby, between Stockholm and Uppsala. Only offices and business around and in the hotel facilities.

PUBLIC AREAS
When entering the hotel you might get the impression of walking in to a shopping mall, but you're not. Of course, having the largest tropical indoor-garden in Scandinavia also demands more than a usual lobby. During my stay the hotel was not full at all, but I can imagine the two elevators serving 24 floors some times might not be enough to manage all the guests.

ROOMS
I stayed in a standard room with a large 180 cm bed, TV, telephone, private bathroom, closet, cosy chair and coffee/tea maker. The room was very clean and large. Full and free access to the hotel WIFI.

BREAKFAST & RESTAURANT
The restaurant and the bar seemed to have the same menu, and I never fully understood the difference other than the interior (they are also located next to each other in the lobby area). Even without many customers I had to wait a long time to be seated, the head waiter totally ignored me, but another one finally got me seated (at one of the 20 free tables). The waiter was quite service minded but I did feel like I was bothering them with my visit this evening.

The breakfast was quite varied with many choices, including cold and hot meals, variety of breads, cereals, jam, cheese, sausage, ham, egg, pancakes, fruit and vegetables, coffee and tea. Free newspapers. Sorry to say the breakfast staff was not service-minded and didn't greet the guests. I don't expect much, but a "good morning" is just common sence.

AMENITIES
Just checked out the pool and recreation areas. Looked very nice with a beautiful view from the 14th floor.

SERVICE
See "Breakfast & restaurant" above for comments about their service.
Receptionists were very helpful and nice. The morning receptionist really made my day with her very kind and gentle way.

POSITIVE
+ Good standard. 3-4 stars
+ Good prices.
+ Nice lobby area and indoor garden.
+ Large rooms.
+ Free WiFi.
+ Good breakfast.

NEGATIVE
- Expensive parking.
- Bad attitude from restaurant employees.a

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Björn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Scandic Infra City is a comfortable hotel with good food, rooms clean and nice and it is affordable. But there are some problems, at least these were our problems: It was too far from the city center so if you have short time to spend in Stockholm you need to look for another one. The other problem is a little mistake that can be easily corrected. We bought the rooms on a booking site. The hotel is written to be on Kanalvagen street and when we checked out Kanalvagen it is inside the city center. But we saw Upplands Vasby later that we didnt know what it means so we found out that it is far from the city. So it must be clearly written in anywhere or maps should be shown more detailed. But it was fun staying there. they have a 9th floor pool which seems like a bathtub. but they also hava good saunas which is windowed throughout the swedish forests.Nice!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TurhanTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The hotels location is not something one can brag about here although if working for a company in the complex then as a business travel can be very convenient. You guessed it right - I was on a business travel here with one overnight's stay. The breakfast spread is decent with good food. The room service is a bit surprising since one has to come all the way down to the bar to fetch the ordered food. There really is no 'room service' or the concept is lost here. Although there is a Thai restaurant right opposite that offers a very good lunch buffet and dinner at a reasonable price.
The beds are not comfortable since they kept me awake all night. The interiors of the hotel are well thought of and looks good. The rooms are decent size with good bathrooms. Bascially, a good place to stay when the company is paying not a very good place to stay paid out of your own pockets.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupremeSerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upplands-Vasby
Scandic Upplands Vasby
#2 of 2 in Upplands-Vasby
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Good Morning Arlanda
#4 of 9 in Arlandastad
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Infra City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Infra City

Property: Scandic Infra City
Address: 10 Kanalvaegen, Upplands-Vasby 194 61, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Upplands-Vasby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upplands-Vasby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Infra City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hold your next conference, event or meeting at one of the leading Nordic meeting hotels. Scandic Infra City, with Scandinavia's largest indoor tropical garden, is located just 15 minutes from Arlanda airport and 20 minutes from central Stockholm. We are the arena for both small and large conferences. We have our own exhibition hall, banquet hall and congress hall, which can accommodate up to 1,800 people. If you are looking for something spectacular, we recommend our 650 sqm penthouse suite, with its meeting room for 50 participants. Keep in shape at the gym and pool in our relaxation centre, and relax in the sauna afterwards. Then enjoy a drink or delicious meal from our a la carte menu in our hotel restaurant, Flavours. Our restaurant nestles in an open atrium courtyard with glass ceiling, surrounded by a tropical garden with palm trees and a waterfall. Just a few blocks from our hotel you can follow a hiking trail, enjoy a massage, join an aerobics session or play a round of golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Infra City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Infra City Stockholm County/Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Scandic Infra City Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing