We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Madagascar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Jardin du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Jardin du Roy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Isalo
Certificate of Excellence
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best in Madagascar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 nights there. The hotel hide near the rocks and it's really like Paradise. Big territory, beatiful rooms,nice restaurant and very friendly staff. We had 2 floors room and It was really big and good. The restaurant, pool, bar, environs were great. We didn't want to leave this hotel. You can see many animals, birds, insects without leaving a hotel and Isalo park is not very far. This is our best memory about hotels in Madagascar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
95
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in December 2013. Gorgeous hotel that perfectly fits in with the surroundings (one of the best examples I've seen in terms of building into the landscape...this place even seemed "more natural" than a nice cave hotel we stayed at in Cappadocia). The food, service and quality of accommodation are all 5*. Bar service is also very good (try the mojitos made with local rum), and drinks are served with a nice sampling of hot/cold appetizers. Rooms are all large (split over two levels) and nicely appointed. The hotel can arrange excursions on their grounds (horseback riding, guided walk, etc.). Can't report on the spa as we didn't have time, but we greatly enjoyed a full-day guided hike / tour in nearby Isalo National Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPJ2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Beautiful location, delicious food and drinks, prompt and professional staff and service. Great value for what you get and the best place that we stayed in Madagascar. If you are splurging on your trip - stay here.

Air conditioning in rooms works well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

A truly grand hotel made up of large houses in a large garden with flora and fauna and a beautiful view no matter what room you get,
The food was the poshest I've ever eaten and the lounge was the poshest and nicest place I have ever been and a bar that offers a nice wind down

Room Tip: There all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_Da_Lad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very nice hotel set in the middle of nowhere. Rooms large and comfortable with patio doors and outside sitting areas. Lovely pool and gardens.
Main building welcoming and comfortable. Food excellent. Keep torch handy in your room as power cuts are likely. Matches and candles on dressing table. Excellent laundry service, very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a very up-market (for Madagascar) hotel, attractively located pretty much in the middle of nowhere, but handy for the Isalo national park. It consists of groups of two-storey "rooms" set around an attractive grassy area, with trees and a good swimming pool. There is also a spacious reception building, bar and restaurant. It is set against the background of attractive rocks. There are stables and also some tortoises and nice birds.

Our room had a double bed downstairs and twins upstairs, spacious with a pretty good staircase. Nice bathroom downstairs and patio doors leading out to the grassy area by the pool. Room was air conditioned. Good mosquito nets; although there was a small settee it was not comfy, and indeed the whole hotel seemed to have no comfy chairs! Still, that is a small criticism for what is a very smart place indeed, with an excellent restaurant serving good food.

Room Tip: All rooms looked pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r_waller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
254 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Rooms are very large - only complaint is that there is a lounge area with seats/table but it is impossible to sit there and read as there is such poor lighting. The only place to read is sat on the edge of the bed - this does need improving as otherwise the place is excellent. The staff are very good, the food good portions and delicious. A delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in similar groups and they tend to keep couples away from tour groups,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColchesterSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isalo
0.4 mi away
Isalo Rock Lodge Madagascar
0.0 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Solidaire Mangily
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lagon
Hotel Le Lagon
#1 of 3 in Mahavelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin du Roy

Property: Le Jardin du Roy
Address: Massif de l'Isalo | BP 01, Isalo 313, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Isalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Isalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Jardin du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Du Roy Hotel Isalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing