We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXED STAYING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Cave
Certificate of Excellence
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“RELAXED STAYING”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Atmosphere was good.
Restaurant food was as expected to be when looking on the menu.
The drinks were a little bit to expensive.
Personnel were very service minded.
Surrounding grounds were excellent maintained with eye for detail like special lights to put the castle in view when arriving in the evening.

Room Tip: Some kingsize room do not have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloggie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    213
    92
    33
    22
See reviews for
114
260
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am here now with my husband, and so far everything is really good: staff, room, food, pool and gym. We are very pleased, having read some previous bad reviews, I was a little wary, but I just think some people go out of their way to find faults! Ignore any bad reviews, it's lovely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHANDPETE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at cave castle on valentines in feb 2011 with another couple. We went for the spa package which was great. Included 3 course dinner, 3 treatments and breakfast. Really enjoyed it here. Staff were great. Relaxing pool with sauna and steam room. Good food and lovely comfy rooms

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesscaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Its like travelling back in time to a country residence. Heaped in beautiful gardens that would make Alan Titchmarsh jealous.
The hotel is like something out of a first class movie and the rooms are not far behind.
The restaurant is adequate but you do get a feeling that it is more lined up for mass catering than taking care of the individual.
Nevertheless the food is quality but you can only judge it for yourself.
I would certainly return although I would also look to see what else was available in the area.
It was still a very enjoyable experience that I am glad I had participated in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmaduke1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was married at cave castle this august and i couldn't have picked a better venue. The Hotel is stunning a perfect backdrop for my wedding pictures. The staff from start to finish where excellent nothing was too much trouble .They where polite and professional. my wedding was perfectly organized leaving me just to enjoy the day .Chris the wedding coordinator in particular was excellent really nice guy who dealt with everything putting my mind at rest.The food was fantastic both at the wedding,breakfast and in the restaurant the previous nights.Also the girls in the castle spa where fantastic fabulous hair and make up and helped me out massively when my make up lady cancelled the day before.Anyone looking for a fairytale day i would highly recommend .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Typical old building room was spacious and tidy but very dated, Bathroom in need of attention damaged bath. Reception staff not very helpful but no major issues absolutely average. I would have been more content at a premier inn although to be fair the free wifi was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for my sisters wedding, I will never ever be going back or recommending this place to anyone especially for a wedding.

90% of staff were rude, ignorant and very unhelpful and the day was very badly organised. To begin with cave castle only set up tables for 80 guests when over 100 guests were booked for the meal!!! This made things very stressful particularly as the wedding coordinator tried to blame it on my sister and her husband! "Debbie" in particular was extremely rude to myself and very unhelpful, she needs to take courses in customer services as do the majority of the staff who work at cave castle. No salt and pepper on the tables or butter for the bread, the cake knife was dirty also.

The rooms at this hotel are very dated and in my opinion need some refurbishment, my sisters bridal suite door frame had been freshly painted. She could have very easily ruined her wedding dress with the still wet paint!!! The shower in my room was either freezing cold or scolding hot! I have stayed in better budget hotels.

Breakfast the next day was chaos, again the staff were rude and disorganised. The staff were seen eaten their own breakfast in the same room before the guests had even finished there. The whole place is very unprofessional in my opinion.

I did complete a comment card and handed it into reception for the attention of the manager with my email address, I have yet to receive any comment back.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gingershan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cave
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hull South Cave
Travelodge Hull South Cave
#2 of 2 in South Cave
84 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
698 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Weighton
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
11.9 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club

Property: Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
Address: Cave Castle Hotel Church Hill, South Cave HU15 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > South Cave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Cave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Castle Hotel And Country Club
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club South Cave, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing