We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to call in”

Kitchen at Drewton's
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in South Cave
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Called in for a cream tea with three of my friends. Overall the experience was very good. First impressions were good as the setting was very picturesque even though the weather was dreadful. The cafe was tastefully decorated and not over crowded. The menu was varied and the choice of cakes was very good. I particularly liked that local suppliers were favoured
The tea was plentiful and hot water was offered if we needed it. My biggest disappointment was the scones. They were hard (brick like) and were not very nice at all. The clotted cream was generous as was the jam and butter but all of this couldn't disguise how dry and heavy the scones were. I love afternoon tea and would like to return for this but couldn't face another scone. I should point out my friends felt the same.
That said I will return to sample other items on the menu. Also the shop looked interesting reasonable price and good quality produce but I had no time to look round properly. All in all a good place to call in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKKKatie425, Manager at Kitchen at Drewton's, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind review regarding your first visit to our Farm Shop, I'm delighted that we offered a very good experience for you even if the weather couldn't say the same!! I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our scones and I passed your comments on to our head chef who sends his apologies. On investigation he understands that the scones may have been in the oven a minute or 2 longer than usual which, whilst not overcooked, would go someway to explain the slightly harder finish to the scone.
However, I am also delighted to inform you that due to ever increasing demand for our bakery products we have the addition of a new baker to our team, who is hand producing some wonderful scones, tea cakes, bread and lots of other tasty treats. I do hope you'll come back soon to sample some of these new delights, you won't be disappointed. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 410 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

We attended this special dinner along with friends to get into the spirit of Le Tour coming to Yorkshire. Some of us wore shorts with our 'Black Tie' and this was a terrific idea to get us all in a jolly mood. The Drewton's kitchen staff pulled out all the stops and lived up to the promise to provide "great food". In fact it wasn't great, it really was excellent. The meal exceeded expectations and was full of Yorkshire's finest produce - all delicious. A big pat on the back to the head chef and his team who rose to the challenge and more than satisfied some real foodies, and plenty of experienced diners. The level of cooking (matched with presentation) shown on the night was terrific and it's good to know such talent is on our doorstep. We all went home happy and proud to be from Yorkshire. The only complaint is that I couldn't eat it all!

2  Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKKKatie425, Manager at Kitchen at Drewton's, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

The staff at Drewton's would like to thank you for your truly positive and honest review on the 'Le Tour Dinner' and we're delighted that you too enjoyed such a fabulous evening.
The feedback from all of our guests who attended that evening has been tremendous and we're delighted to have passed it all over to our Head Chef and team who made the evening such a success. With the honour of our guest speakers from Welcome to Yorkshire and Cycling world magazine, complete with black tie and cycling shorts, the evening offered a light hearted, yet full and informative preview of the exciting lead up Yorkshire's 'Grand Depart' Tour de France 2014..
Drewton's continue's to strive to offer something unique and and I'm proud to say we delivered that evening. For all our latest events please contact Drewton's direct or visit our website.... don't be the one to miss out on the next event! Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Visited for lunch Monday 26th May and whilst the food, service, price and atmosphere was really very good, the experience was totally spoilt and let down by 'ANN' who was serving (I use the term lightly!) on the Deli counter, after waiting patiently and politely for about 3 minutes while Ann finished talking idle chit chat with her colleague, she eventually realised I was waiting to be served, came across and provided the first item I required, she then dissapeared again without so much as 'would there be anything else sir? she eventually returned and rudely served the remainder of my order without any smile, politeness or cheer. This lady really did not want to be there and this clearly showed in her demeanour and attitude - such a shame really as all other staff we came into contact with were pleasant and cheerful, not too much to ask is it?

Mike S

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mich3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKKKatie425, Manager at Kitchen at Drewton's, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments regarding your lunchtime visit, with the 'food, serve, price and atmosphere being really good'.

We were, however, expecting your comments regarding service at the Deli counter, as the circumstances were brought to the attention of management immediately by the member of staff concerned. After serving your request for a 'curd pie' (curd tart?) you stepped away from the counter and our member of staff believed your order was complete. At this point she said a simple, and very quick, goodbye to a member of staff who had just finished her shift and was passing on a message regarding a customer order for collection. Our member of staff was embarrassed to see that you were then requiring something from the savoury pastry section, a little further down the deli counter, and apologised immediately for her distraction, explaining herself. After completing your order, she enquired if you had had a good bank holiday and wished you well for the rest of the evening. Ann is not only passionate about her position here at Drewton's, she is a key member of staff with excellent customer service skills, to the extent that she is heavily involved with the training of members of staff in customer services. It's a shame that you felt the need to raise the issue on tripadvisor rather than dealing with this issue in store, especially when speaking with a manager at the tills when you enquired about Ann's position within the business. It would have been more appropriate to view your concern at the time of your visit rather than making a personal attack on tripadvisor, which has been very distressing for this member of staff. Whilst we appreciate and acknowledge all reviews on tripadvisor - and through our in-house feedback cards - it is disappointing to see that you would go to these extremes with such a personal attack when this particular lady made a slight oversight, thinking she had fulfilled your order, and was distracted by another member of staff. She apologised twice to you .... what more are you expecting? Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My daughter and her husband wanted a small intimate wedding meal , Hellen ,the manager, created them a lovely menu of 6 courses . It was held in the conservatory room which is totally private from the rest of the restaurant with stunning views across the farmland . The food was wonderful each course was presented well . The flavours were wonderful , the crab cakes were sublime. I'm not a vegetable lover but these were some of the best vegetables I've ever had , you could tell everything was fresh . We had a lovely waitress ,Martha , who looked after us , it was no mean feat especially as the boys were working their way through the local ale menu . Hellen and her staff did a brilliant job and decorated the table for me with crystals and favours which I had taken the day before . We lunch at Drewtons usually about once a month and have never been disappointed but the afternoon we spent celebrating their wedding was excellent , thanks Drewtons you did us proud

3  Thank bodytone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKKKatie425, Owner at Kitchen at Drewton's, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind tripadvisor review. Unfortunately, tripadvisor tends to encourage negative feedback and it would be lovely if we could simply cut and paste the 98% positive reviews and comments cards we receive. All feedback is collated onto a spreadsheet and discussed at our management meetings.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting Drewton's and, especially, for your special wedding celebration. Hellen and I were delighted to receive your feedback, which has also been passed onto Martha and the other staff involved on the day, and I am so pleased you were able to relax and enjoy your special occasion, in our private room.

Maybe next time we could tempt you to try our new-look Afternoon Tea, with a selection of side salads now included. Maybe for a wedding day reunion?!! We have even produced an actual Afternoon Tea gift card, for two people, as we were printing out bespoke vouchers on our letterheads for this popular offering on our menu. The cards are going down a treat and we hope that they will again be popular this coming Christmas! It makes for wonderful treat for a special occasion!

It is important for us to hear back from our customers so that we can build on both positive and constructive comments. We have the feedback cards in the shop/restaurant and try to encourage as much feedback as possible.

Our ethos is simple but our offering is vast, whilst working closely with over 250 local Yorkshire farmers, producers, growers and suppliers. We are proud of our menu, many in-house events supporting various local charities, and we receive excellent feedback when catering for private parties and special occasions. We have received many awards since opening in October 2010 and our local customers are very much part of these successes.

The shop boasts a butchers with good quality meats and three entertaining butchers, the deli offers so many of our award-winning pies and pastries, the shop sells a great selection of fruit/veg, breads, preserves, pantry items and a good choice of wines and beers ... and we even have the Luxuries area which is great when needing a card or present.

We employ around 48 members of staff, all local, and we encourage apprenticeships and students to help further their work experience and put them through their paces with courses and qualifications!

If you have any special requests then please let us know .... but, in the meantime, please keep in touch and enjoy Drewton's as much as we do! Also, keep an eye on our website for future events, or pick up a newsletter in-store.

And, if you have friends/family from further away then we also have two 5* rated holiday cottages located on The Drewton Estate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Yesterday about 30 of us from our luncheon club visited Drewtons for lunch,this was the second time over the past couple years,and the last time was not so good, for most of the group food not being up to par,so one more chance or lets say the last chance for me anyway,and so glad they got that chance,all our food was pre ordered being a large party and I ordered chicken casserole and not expecting much,but it was delicious like a stew of vegetables with a chicken breast cut up and set on the top served with warm bread, i ate the lot,and all the other meals looked nice and mostly clean plates went back,then crème brulee that too was very moreish,the staff were smiley helpful and came round to check if all was ok more than once.If anything was to complain about was the colour of the chefs whites or grey is a better description as he walked through a couple times,,thats just nit picking.We then went into the shop I bought shortbread how good is that,and a couple pieces of orange and lemon cake and that cake was very dry,and also a curd pie which was just ok,,,,,anyway Drewtons congratulations in the dining room food and staff so much better now,,,will I go back,,,YES

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annieEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKKKatie425, Owner at Kitchen at Drewton's, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind tripadvisor review. Unfortunately, tripadvisor tends to encourage negative feedback and it would be lovely if we could simply cut and paste the 98% positive reviews and comments cards we receive. All feedback is collated onto a spreadsheet and discussed at our management meetings.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a return visit to Drewton's, for your party, and I am pleased that standards were improved from your previous experience. However, I have spoken to the chefs about their presentation and I will be keeping a closer eye on them!

As another suggestion for a large gathering, I am sure you will love our new-look Afternoon Tea, with a selection of side salads now included. We have even produced an actual Afternoon Tea gift card, for two people, as we were printing out bespoke vouchers on our letterheads for this popular offering on our menu. The cards are going down a treat and we hope that they will again be popular this coming Christmas! It makes for wonderful treat for a special occasion!

It is important for us to hear back from our customers so that we can build on both positive and constructive comments. We have the feedback cards in the shop/restaurant and try to encourage as much feedback as possible.

Our ethos is simple but our offering is vast, whilst working closely with over 250 local Yorkshire farmers, producers, growers and suppliers. We are proud of our menu, many in-house events supporting various local charities, and we receive excellent feedback when catering for private parties and special occasions. We have received many awards since opening in October 2010 and our local customers are very much part of these successes.

The shop boasts a butchers with good quality meats and three entertaining butchers, the deli offers so many of our award-winning pies and pastries, the shop sells a great selection of fruit/veg, breads, preserves, pantry items and a good choice of wines and beers ... and we even have the Luxuries area which is great when needing a card or present.

We employ around 48 members of staff, all local, and we encourage apprenticeships and students to help further their work experience and put them through their paces with courses and qualifications!

If you have any special requests then please let us know .... but, in the meantime, please keep in touch and enjoy Drewton's as much as we do! Also, keep an eye on our website for future events, or pick up a newsletter in-store.

And, if you have friends/family from further away then we also have two 5* rated holiday cottages located on The Drewton Estate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen at Drewton's also viewed

South Cave, East Riding of Yorkshire
South Cave, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Kitchen at Drewton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing