We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed 1 night at this hotel and found it to be very nice, the room I stayed in was very comfortable a bit on the small side for a double but none the less very comfortable.
The reception lady was friendly and helpful and also the waitress in the bar area very pleasant.
The food was good and in my opinion not overly priced and overall a very nice clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    145
    76
    37
    56
See reviews for
80
177
6
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here on business but it would be equally good for leisure as it is very near the motorway network but far away to make you feel you are in the countryside. From the outside it looks like a large pub but on the inside it is tastefully decorated. I only had breakfast of which there was a great selection of continental and cooked, it was of a good quality and served by friendly staff. The. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated, clean but small, however the beds are very comfortable. The only problem i had was the draft coming the windows as it is an old building, and I realise they have tried to correct this by putting a blind up and heavy curtains. You can also hear every move from the room next door again due to the age of the building and squeaky floorboards.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight stay on business. Was a little worried due to a few previous reviews however the hotel is excellent. When arriving I was greeted by a lovely man on reception (I accidentally left my phone on the reception desk and he brought it up to me). Dinner was great. Amazing service and the food was delicious. The bedroom was quite small but very clean and very comfortable. It had everything I needed for my stay.

I have to stay in stokenchurch for business a lot and this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayebebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was my boyfriend's birthday, so I decided to take up the £99pn offer which included a standard room, breakfast and dinner, as his gift. When I called to place the booking, I explained that it was his birthday and asked if we could be upgraded to an Executive room. Between Jo & Danielle, they sorted us out and we had the Exec room - with a jacuzzi for our two night stay. The room itself was gorgeous, though we did have to keep the blinds closed, as the view was def not exec! Our only complaint was that the room got unbearably hot at night, even with the windows open - making it difficult to sleep.

The food in the restaurant was lovely, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in our room the first day, and we were touched when we got a phone call the next morning, from recpt, asking us if we wanted breakfast in our room again, and listing the items we had before. What a service!

Overall it is a lovely looking clean hotel, with pleasant, helpful staff, wonderful food and a lovely location. Def recommend and will def go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kynks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant, clean and good value for money, the breakfast selection could be a little warmer and options lined out a bit better for example how you can have your eggs but all in all a great experience.

One small criticism I the congregation of smokers by the front entrance to the hotel ... Not very welcoming!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_Man_About_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Double room was very small and very hot. We had to sleep with the window open. In the early hours of the morning water poured through the ceiling and we were moved to another room. On entry we found it was already occupied so had to take all our bags back to reception. Given another room and this time it was twin beds.
When we checked out the receptionist said we should get a refund but she needed to get it authorised when the manager returned. On querying this a couple of days later they back tracked and told us we would not get any sort of refund and the manager was quite rude to my partner, blaming guests staying in the room above for the problems!
Overall an awful experience and cannot recommend.

Room Tip: my advice would be to stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stokenchurch hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Kings Hotel is a large establishment just off of a fairly busy road through Stokenchurch village. It is close to the M40 but not close enough to be particularly noisy as a consequence.

We were staying as part of a Wedding gathering and were allocated a room close to reception on the first floor. We were a little disappointed with our room because of the size. It was just about big enough for 2 people. The room has what is probably a 3/4 bed, a sideboard with tea making facilities, a built in wardrobe and a small digital TV. The bathroom was clean. The room was very warm throughout our stay.

The bar/restaurant area was extensive and welcoming. There are a good selection of beer/lager drinks but prices were on the high side. The bar staff were professional and handled a large crowd very well.

Breakfast was good with a selection of pre-cooked English breafast food, cereals, fruit salad, fruit juices and sliced mass production toasting bread. It could be improved with some freshly baked rolls or fresh artisan bread. The staff at breakfast were really friendly and made you feel welcome. Daily newspapers were available to read.

The Wedding function meal was very nice and enjoyed by all from what I could see. It felt like a good place to gather a family and the children certainly seemed to enjoy themselves.

This is a good location for visiting High Wycombe (20 mins), North London (40mins) or Oxford (30mins) and is in the picturesque Chiltern Hills area.

Room Tip: Given our experience, I would make sure you ask for a decent size room if there are two of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokenchurch
2.6 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.7 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
6.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 17 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#3 of 17 in High Wycombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Property: The Kings Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing