We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ,lush hacienda .”
Review of Hostal Mama Hilda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chugchilan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Mama Hilda
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,lush hacienda .”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at mama hilda for one night on our quilotoa loop in january 2014. I couldn't choose between the black sheep inn or mama hilda, but a chat with a local guide in the hacienda the night before sorted it..he said the homey atmosphere in mama hilda will suit us better...and it was very homey indeed. .!
Dario is running the place well. Dinner and breakfast are generous and very tasty. Rooms are massive and the fire stove was very much needed. It's very lush and green and it's easy to come for a night and decide to stay 2 or 3...
overall, a lovely place to stay and explore the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
84
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Ok, we had a few small problems with wifi and room but I'm not going to write something horrible because we really enjoyed staying here.

Lovely owner and great food (although I would have liked the portions to be a little bigger)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a one-week trip to Ecuador over new years holidays 2013. Our stay at Mama Hilda's was great. We requested a room with a stove, based on past Tripadvisor tips. It was a great idea -- we had a lot of fun making a fire every evening and relaxing by the stove reading. It also really helped with the chilly evenings. The room was comfortable -- there was an ensuite bathroom, and although the shower was finicky the first day, it was nice and hot the other two days we stayed. The location is unbeatable. We had amazing hikes at Quilotoa and also to the nearby village Visinlivi. The hostal packed a lunch box for us, and we had a lovely picnic in those mountains. The hosts were excellent -- they were outgoing and easygoing, and were quick to respond to our requests. El Rubio was a blast and very attentive, as was with the woman whose name we can't remember. The hostal is beautiful. There are dogs and chickens running around, very clean, very relaxed, and great sun room and good view of the nearby mountains. I love hanging out with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee in the upstairs room and read my book or plan our next steps. Finally, I liked our communal dinner a lot. Every night we congregate in the dinner room and mingle with the other travelers for a hearty and delicious meal. The food is simple but really really fresh. During the three night we were there, we had chicken,beef stew, and pork cutlets, plus, delicious soups and salads, rice, mashed potatoes, and desserts. It was plentiful and delicious, and it was so enjoyable after a long day of hiking to sit there, chill, and chat with other travelers. The hostal also arranges transportation to various locations of interest on the Quilotoa Loop and to Latacunga. It was a fantastic experience, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a stove!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Mama Hilda while we were hiking the volcanos in the area. Our guide Lincoln Jabra recommended it for its quality and conveniences. It gave us the ability to utilize our time better. We selected a room with a private bath. Clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the fireplace at night. Dinner and breakfast both were ample and flavorful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you in the area or doing the loop you MUST stay here because it's AMAZING! The grounds are beautiful, staff is excellent, rooms are incredible, and everything about this place in PERFECT!!!!!! We stayed for two nights and easily could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night following a hike from Quilotoa. It's a beautiful place with a great view. The common room building has a sun room on the 2nd floor & very comfortable sitting area with a wood burning stove AND a fireplace. All beautifully decorated with lots of character. We had a double room which was fine...a bit rustic. Plenty of wool blankets on the bed. Shower pressure and hot water was fine but it seems like they turn off the water after 9pm? Also, try to be among the first to shower as the hot water gets less hot as more people showered. The included breakfast/dinner was good but basic. During off peak season, try bargaining the room price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmooshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This place was a paradise after doing time in chilly, overpriced, uncomfortable Quilotoa. Mama Hilda's has lots of character with very comfy, toasty rooms and delicious food. The common area was charming with large, picturesque windows - check out the second floor for the best view.

I stayed in the Mirador with a private bath; breakfast and dinner was included in the price. The food was plentiful, varied, and made with fresh ingredients. I didn't expect to have tasty salads and dessert in such a remote location. They will prepare a hearty lunch for only $4 if you request it.

There are many activities in the area and I could have stayed longer than the 2 days I had there. The hikes really are amazing. They provide a basic map but head on over to Black Sheep Inn for extremely detailed maps - worth the extra effort.

The only thing short of a 5-star review was the water situation. Showers were not hot enough and they turn the water off after around 9 o'clock. If you plan on showering or brushing your teeth late, you'll need to let them know in advance. And yes, you do need a little Spanish to get by comfortably here.

Room Tip: Carry a stick while hiking. There are dogs everywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chugchilan
23.0 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 6 in Cotopaxi Province
103 reviews
23.0 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 3 in Latacunga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa
Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa
#4 of 4 in Quilotoa
90 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hosteria Quilotoa Runa Wasi
18.0 mi away
La Quinta Colorada
La Quinta Colorada
#3 of 3 in Lasso
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mama Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mama Hilda

Property: Hostal Mama Hilda
Address: Quilotoa Loop, Chugchilan 050452, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Chugchilan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chugchilan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Mama Hilda is a family run hostal in the small town of Chugchilan on the Quilotoa Loop. We are ideally situated half way around the loop and have been welcoming guests to our hostal for many years. We're a popular, inexpensive hostal that is a great place to base your exploration of the surrounding area. If you're looking for somewhere to relax and take in the breath taking views offered by the Ecuadorian Andes, this is the place to be. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Mama Hilda Hotel Chugchilan
Hostal Mama Hilda Ecuador/Chugchilan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing