We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and Hospitable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Mama Hilda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chugchilan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Mama Hilda
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Mama Hilda's in August 2011. Chugchilan is a small, remote village with few conventional options for accommodation, although more appear to be coming. The main attractions are the scenery and hiking in the area, and the atmosphere at Mama Hilda matches the character of the location. This is a welcoming, truly hospitable location and the owners, management and staff are friendly and genuinely concerned for your welfare. Congenial public spaces make this an excellent spot for meeting other travellers - a good thing, since sharing transportation is often essential and it helps to get to know others in the same situation: cars are scarce, and buses out of the region keep a time table designed to favour dawn arrivals in distant towns.

Breakfast and dinner are included in the rate and the kitchen is happy to prepare meals at other times of the day if you need them. The food is satisfying and served family-style at shared tables. Other guests were in the main European and very experienced travellers.

Rooms vary in size and comfort. We managed to book ours by phone with only a few days notice at a particularly busy time of the year; it was the only room available and it worked just fine. It was simple and spare but clean and comfortable and the rates are excellent (note: you will need cash). Those looking for more may need to reconsider their decision to visit this region. You need to look beyond worn sheets and towels in this part of the country, but you will find copious amounts of hot water and an attentive staff.

The compound is safe and pleasant. You can get your laundry done. The hotel recommended walking trips and helped arrange for transportation when we needed it (you need to do this as far in advance as you can). This is a very beautiful region - and only incorporated into the fabric of national life within the very recent past. Go now before it changes much more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
81
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
219 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The location is very good for visiting quilotoa loop. It is possible to rent horses for excursion in the area. The rate is cheap and the manager and all the people are friendliness. Food is good.The hotel and the place is safe. The hotel provide transportaion to reach the quilotoa but you can reach the volcano by feet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma_PandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Went to Mama hildas. It is in the middle of no where. We took horses up to the Quilatoa Lake and I believe they were a bit mistreated. Looked a bit under fed and scrawny. The Room itself had about 30 seconds of hot water and then it went cold. The food was ok, I would not eat it back home if I had a choice but over there it was sufficient. The staff did seem nice enough though. If you intend to travel around by hiring a car, the hostel next door will give better prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonDRussell, PA at Hostal Mama Hilda, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Good morning Teargas,

Many thanks for your comments, I will certainly look into the issue of the cold water in your room. We have made great efforts to ensure each room has hot running water at all times, but it may be that the gas bottle used to heat the water ran out at the exact time you were trying to take a shower.

In regards to your comment about our horses, I can categorically tell you that our horses are well cared for, and well fed. Horses in Ecuador are generally much smaller than their European / American cousins. They are treated very well at all times - if they were not I can assure you that my 7 year old son would have something to say to his grandfather about it.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Ecuador.

Thanks,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I spent a great time
here and particularly enjoyed the friendly and welcoming vibe. makes you feel part of the family straight away! incredible scenery too and the horse tour was definately worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We really liked the design, decoration and enviroment of the place. The rooms are nice and clean, while the common area in the front is well decorated. When staying there some of the kids of the village came to dance for us to Mamma Hilda´s. It was really funny.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanFFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hostal Mama Hilda is hands down the best place to stay in Chugchilan. It is a quaint, reasonably priced retreat in the middle of the towering Andes Mountains. Meals are quite good. We stayed in a double room without private bath. It was very basic- a double bed, side table, and a light overhead- but suited our needs perfectly. The staff was fairly friendly and accommodating, but seemed flustered at times. At one point our hot water ran out but they were very efficient in fixing it promptly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chichoryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Unfortunately, I did not have a very positive experience at Hostal Mama Hilda. My friends were together in one big room and I was to have a single. The room they finally put me in was way upstairs, broken toilet, no water pressure in the shower, and a huge drafty gap under the door (brr!) Even though I told three different people about the bathroom issues, they were never addressed. I agreed to stay there for the night, but I asked them to move me to another room for the next night, and stashed my bags in my friends' room before we set off for the day. I dropped them at the crater to hike back, and drove the truck back to Mama Hilda's to wait for them. I asked if they'd open the room so I could get my bags, but they were unable to find a key. Mama Hilda's response to me was "You gringos keep walking off with my keys and I don't have any more copies - it's your friends' fault for not leaving their key behind" Nowhere ever were guests advised to do so. Needless to say they were unable to clean my friends' room and I had to wait for hours without my things. I was told by one employee that I could take either of two downstairs rooms, so I would have to navigate the staircase. As I was settling in another woman came and told me (rudely) that's not a single. You have to go upstairs. I moved up to the indicated room, and had to ask twice for them to bring me a padlock & key. the managers all behaved in a very unfriendly manner toward me and my friends after the room change/no key fiasco. In both rooms where I stayed the bathrooms smelled like sewers. I commented to the girl that cleaned the rooms that she should remove the half-used slivers of soap from the shower, and this seemed like news to her. The shower walls and mirrors were scummy, the bed linens were not long or wide enough and rode up during the chilly night, They have several dogs roaming the premises but don't seem to bother cleaning up the poop. My friends' daughter stepped in some and tracked it into the room so it was doubly unfortunate that they didn't have a key to clean their room. In the common living room area there is a big 10 gallon water dispenser (empty). When I asked it there was water they told me that I had to buy one of their environmentally unfriendly small plastic bottles, and they do not permit you to bring your own beverage to meals so that they can sell you more. I found the overall attitude to be less than helpful in all matters. I am a driver and guide and they made a big mistake in treating me so badly.

Room Tip: get a room with a woodstove and ask them to light it for you during dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillSare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonDRussell, Public Relations Manager at Hostal Mama Hilda, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Below is the email sent in response to this review.

26 de julio de 2011 22:28
From Jill Sare: Thanks you for your kind response. I appreciate your willingness to look into the experience I had and hope the awareness will make someone else's stay more pleasant. Jill

25 de julio de 2011 22:28
Good evening Jill, my name is Jon Russell and I am married to Mama Hilda's daughter Maria. I read with interest your review of the hostal and am most concerned that you had such a terrible time. Mama Hilda is exceptionally friendly with everyone who stays in her hostal - and am very surprised that she would have used the word Gringo, seeing as I am one. It certainly goes against everything I know about her, and have heard other people say about her.
I am going to ask them about the problems you experienced with the bathroom in your room, and will look into other ways we can help improve everyone's experience at the hostal.
Kind regards,
Jon Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chugchilan
23.0 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 3 in Latacunga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 6 in Cotopaxi Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hacienda La Cienega
Hacienda La Cienega
#1 of 3 in Lasso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hosteria Quilotoa Runa Wasi
21.6 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 14 in Latacunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mama Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mama Hilda

Property: Hostal Mama Hilda
Address: Quilotoa Loop, Chugchilan 050452, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Chugchilan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Chugchilan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Mama Hilda is a family run hostal in the small town of Chugchilan on the Quilotoa Loop. We are ideally situated half way around the loop and have been welcoming guests to our hostal for many years. We're a popular, inexpensive hostal that is a great place to base your exploration of the surrounding area. If you're looking for somewhere to relax and take in the breath taking views offered by the Ecuadorian Andes, this is the place to be. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Mama Hilda Hotel Chugchilan
Hostal Mama Hilda Ecuador/Chugchilan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing