We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
207
30
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
30
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flan hot springs rio sonora town square bright colors restful stay spent days here beautiful hotel an oasis in the desert rooftop patio carne asada tacos comfortable rooms fine hotel second story river valley main plaza special attention
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 239 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A group of family and friends just returned from a wonderful visit to Banamichi and Las Delicias.
We had an amazing time. Our hosts Darrin and Cheri were extremely hospitable and really very charming. The hotel is beautiful. Our rooms were amazing. The decor was beautiful and each room was different yet very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed wonderful meals each day. The food was fresh and delicious. The staff was great, from arranging for a surprise anniversary celebration, to making sure we had snacks during happy hour. Darrin is a wealth of information. We felt safe the entire trip. We will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernadette Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This past weekend, my husband and I wanted to get out of Tucson. We had never driven into Mexico, and the small town of Banamichi sounded like a perfect place to get away from everything. I emailed La Posada because I didn't know if it was safe to drive in Mexico. Darrin (the owner) emailed me back a detailed, thoughtful reply assuring me the only thing we had to worry about was potholes. He took the time to provide us with a wonderful route to get to the hotel- complete with stops for delicious carne asada tacos, ice cream and a beautiful plaza, and an archeological site! We had a blast at all the stops and enjoyed the scenic drive. The hotel is just perfect- colorful and spotlessly clean, with plenty of space to lounge around outside in the courtyard. We loved the second-story terrace, with views of the church and mountains. The room was clean and comfortable- we slept very well, which is not always the case for us in hotels. Carmen, Alma, and Patti always anticipated our needs and made us feel right at home. The food at the hotel is delicious- be sure to save room for chitepin flan! We also loved chatting with Darrin, with his vast knowledge of the area, interesting stories, and funny jokes. He is a wonderful, kind person who really cares about the area and its people. I could go on and on, but I think it is better to just go there and experience this magical part of the world for yourself! We'll be back!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great discovery of the this area of Mexico. Darrin is a wealth of info. the hotel is definitely worth seeing... most interesting collection of worldwide treasures.... food & beverage were very good and quite typical of the area. Bacanora tasting very informative...


Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Never before had I found a hotel, anywhere, that would rate an excellent in all categories. I am really too picky for that. But our stay at La Posada del Rio Sonora in Banámichi, Sonora, Mexico, was everything we hoped it would be … and so much more. Excellent on every count is a very fair rating for this wonderful place.
We had spent a quick night there about a year ago and decided to return this month for four days to celebrate our daughter’s 18th birthday. The staff and owners could not have been more helpful and accommodating. It was so relaxing, comfortable, and full of memories that we are already trying to decide when, not if, to return. Soon, I hope.
We all had a great time. Our daughter has so many wonderful memories of her Rio Sonora 18th birthday; we’re pleased we were able to send her off into her own adulthood with a grand celebration.
There were so many highlights of our trip it would be pointless to try to list them all, but a few will remain in our hearts for many years:
• The local staff was warm and nurturing. They treated us like they had invited us into their own homes and made sure we understood "mi casa es tu casa." How gracious!
• The food at the restaurant was delicious. My favorite was the "caldo de queso," a regional specialty, and the translucently thin tortillas melted in our mouths at each meal. In our daughter’s honor, they prepared her favorite dish, "sopa de albóndigas," for the birthday dinner.
• As a birthday surprise the staff produced a beautiful and delicious cake for our celebration, complete with candles.
• Side trips to the nearby hot springs and other rural Rio Sonora villages to mingle and wander were exciting adventures, providing a very warm and secure feeling about the jewels along the river valley.
• The colors of the hotel were complemented by the amazing flora within its inner courtyard and throughout the village; the rooms were comfortably furnished, immaculate, quiet, and each unique with its own tile, accents, trim, and décor.
• Sipping a cool brew or shooting back a "caballito" of the local Bacanora on the terrace overlooking the plaza was a meditative way to end each day.
• Last but not least, the feeling of trust and respect that permeated La Posada - for and from the employees, for the guests, and for the community. Such an atmosphere is far too hard to find anywhere these days.
We are actively recruiting friends and family to join us for another visit to La Posada del Rio Sonora.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

For our New Year's holiday, a group of 20 friends from Southern Arizona, spent three delightful days at La Posada Del Rio Sonora in Banamichi, Sonora, Mexico. We had secured all 10 rooms / suites for our private celebration! This historic property, on the plaza (zocolo) of Banamichi, is a beautiful little ecotourism hotel. The vibrant colors of Mexico are used throughout the establishment and beautiful Mexican tile work is everywhere. Each room is decorated differently with special attention to detail and comfort. One truly feels as though they have entered a hidden oasis when they arrive at La Posada! From the lush plant filled courtyard... to the sunset terrace for happy hour... to the beautiful dining room (the food was wonderful) for meals...one cannot say enough about this charming little hotel! The owners, Darrin & Cheri Jones, and the hotel manager, Carmen, took great care in making sure our visit was meaningful and relaxing. Darrin arranged outings to a local lariat / riata craftsman and a mesquite furniture craftsman. Another stop was made at a local bacanora distillery. Thank you all for a wonderful visit... We'll be back!!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlueSkiesOfSanCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews