We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyable”

La Bettola DI Geppetto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

When you arrive here you may not realise that it is a restaurant. From the entrance, it looks like a small, simple food store. But once you walk through to the next room, you will find the simple, small and cosy dining area. As the name 'bettola' implies, it is a family-run, cheap restaurant of local and typical food, made fresh by the family and served in the dining room at the front of their house. There is nothing fancy here, just excellent local food at a great price, served in a relaxed environment. There is no menu, just whatever they are cooking on the day. We enjoyed fresh ravioli, fried cheese, lamb skewers, bread and salad, and of course coffee and the local liqueurs. For 4 of us we paid €55.
I definitely recommend eating here as a change from the usual restaurants and a chance to eat real typical local food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauramoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    158
    46
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you want a warm welcome and a family atmosphere,this is the pace to go.
Good home cooked food at great prices.
Don't expect a menu, just go with it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyandRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Couple.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Brilliant simple food, tiny place, no frills and really cheap. £15 Euro for 2 courses, wine, water, grappa and coffee.
What is lost in translation is made up for in the eating, and be sure that you will see Mr Geppetto in the village many times during the week, anmd he will greet you with a warm smile and a big Bonjourno. Lovely Place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived in the mediaeval village of Santa Stetano di Sessanio on a blustery October day after having visited Rocca Calascio and went up the stairs to La Bettola di Geppetto to have lunch. It was relatively early (1 pm) but Geppetto, the only other person was having his lunch and Mama was preparing to pack up. However, Geppetto assured us that the restaurant was open and we had a wonderful lunch for the ridiculous price of 12 Euros. I had tagliatelle with truffles and my wife ravioli with saffron sauce. I then had a hearty sausage and my wife arrosticini, one of the signature dishes of Abruzzo, with a delightful tomato salad contorno. The arrosticini were cooked to perfection, were tender and juicy, and were certainly the best arrosticini that we had. The lunch also came with 250 mL of wine and the opportunity of a refill!

There is also a salami, cheese, ham, wild boar, and wine shop in the front of the restaurant.

An experience not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeregrineSeCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Of all the places we ate at, this was our least liked ... Only because the competition is steep and all the restaurants have very fresh foods served in unique atmospheres. The lentil soup was great but the meat on a stick was not as tasty as the other restaurants in the area. Service was impeccable.

Helpful?
Thank Veronesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bettola DI Geppetto also viewed

Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
 
Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Province of L'Aquila
Calascio, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to La Bettola DI Geppetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing