We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little holiday apartment”
Review of Villa valsi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa valsi
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A work colleague and I shared one of Rita's apartments for one night whilst attending a conference at the nearby Albergo Sextantio. It was just what we needed and extremely good value. Comfortable, warm (we had unseasonably cold weather and Rita didn't hesitate in jacking up the heating for us) and welcoming with some uniquely Italian touches. For those from the UK and elsewhere who are unfamiliar with the B&B apartment concept, you do your own breakfast with provisions left in the kitchen for you - there is no communal dining area. This means that you can do your own thing in your own time and in your pyjamas. Note that local legislation dictates that all food served must be 'pre-confezionato' i.e. in sealed packages so don't be disappointed if this is what you get. It's a hygiene rule designed to protect the guest against food prepared in an unregulated kitchen and perhaps seems a little strange to those of us who expect a full fry-up. It's just the Italian way and Rita does it exceptionally well. To be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welcometosulmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We first stayed at Villa Valsi in 2012 and when planning a return to the Abruzzo in 2013 we had no hesitation about staying there again. The apartment is spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with plenty of space in all rooms and everything you need for a relaxing stay. It is rare to find a place that has such character and interest wile still being extremely comfortable ad convenient. Rita is always very welcoming and obliging - even when we arrived much later than anticipated. The walking in the area is magnificent, so altogether an excellent stay - and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PALMA2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our family of 4 couples stayed here to attend homecoming celebrations in three nearby villages.By staying in the adjacent apartments (Il Caminetto & Il Soppalco) we were able to eat together occasionally in one apartment &/or outside on the patios. Worked out very well. It was so wonderful the way Rita assisted us in anything we wanted -eating out,local entertainment,shopping, etc.,etc.Because she speaks English very well it was another major plus in staying here. Two couples stayed two weeks and two for one week. The location to Santa Stefano proper was ideal in that it was just a short pleasant walk to get there. Driving to many other scenic areas was easy with good mountain roads and great signage.
The apartments were very private,quiet and cozy.
We felt fortunate to have chosen to stay here.

Room Tip: Tell Rita what you are looking for and she will advise you of the best for your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racoon1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nice, spacious and confortable apartment and excelent value. Good location, also, to explore the surronding mountain landscape, Campo Imperatore, nearby villages and Grande Sasso. 3 minute walk to Santo Stephano center. the apartments have free wi-fi wich is a very nice feature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pauloalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

In June 2012 we stayed at Villa Valsi for 9 days. We’ve had a wonderful holiday. The apartment was comfortable and very spacious. We also had free wifi. And there was a nice garden. The owner is Rita. She’s Italian and speaks English fluently. She is very kind and hospitable. If we needed something we just had to say so. She also made phone calls in Italian for us and baked two delightful cakes. Her grandparents once lived there. This gives the apartments a personal atmosphere.
Santo Stefano is a small, medieval village. It’s situated in the National Park of Gran Sasso. In Santo Stefano there are some small shops. There are also several restaurants. The surroundings of Villa Valsi and Santo Stefano are just great. Around Santo Stefano you can make lovely walks in the mountains. From Santo Stefano there is a road to the Campo Imperatore, the plateau of Gran Sasso . The road offers fantastic views of the mountains. Flowers are everywhere. I’ve seen a lot of flowers I’d never seen before. You can make great walks in the mountains. Villa Valsi and Gran Sasso are great places. We’ll be back.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank cobyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This family-owned, recently renovated B&B is extremely comfortable and clean. The mountain views from the front windows are spectacular, the furnishings charming, the bathrooms modern and clean, and the kitchen has all the equipment you could want for a vacation stay. The value is excellent for such accommodations and for the pleasure of the area: an easy drive to Gran Sasso National Park, the lovely village of Santo Stefano with great restaurants and shops featuring locally made goods, and more. Rita speaks Italian, English, and French, and cares about her guests' experience there. We very much enjoyed breakfasts and lunches out on the back patio table and chairs under a large umbrella. The area is beautiful and peaceful. I highly recommend the Villa Valsi!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely. It just depends on how many are in your group. There is one room that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a beautiful stay in this lovely apartment located in the scenic and historic St.Stefano di Sessanio. Rita ensured we lacked for nothing and the apartment itself was beautiful, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Rita arranged dinner for us and made sure we were comfortable in our surroundings. She was patient and very helpful. We four had more than enough space. The beds were marvelous, and we had a fully equipped kitchen including coffee pot and breakfast. Thank you so much Rita. You and this beautiful villa are reasons to return.
Judi, Krista, Marc and Michael Duciaume. (Giustizia).

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center, but they are not needed. Walking these beautiful mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Stefano di Sessanio hotels
0 mi away
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
716 reviews
0 mi away
La Locanda Sul Lago
La Locanda Sul Lago
#3 of 5 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
170 reviews
0 mi away
Le Dimore del Borgo - La casa su
Le Dimore del Borgo - La casa su
#3 of 10 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Case Della Posta
Le Case Della Posta
#5 of 10 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
31 reviews
0 mi away
La Bifora e le Lune
La Bifora e le Lune
#4 of 10 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
58 reviews
0 mi away
Residenza La Torre
Residenza La Torre
#1 of 5 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa valsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa valsi

Address: via G. D'annunzio n.17, 67020 Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Price Range: $81 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the Residence Villa Valsi in the enchanting medieval village of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, located within the National Park of the Gran Sasso d’Italia in the region of Abruzzo.It is an ideal place of sojourn for anyone who loves the peace and tranquillity of the mountains and might enjoy spending time in contact with nature in a characteristic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa valsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valsi Italy/Santo Stefano Di Sessanio, Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing