We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stiffe Hotel(Stiffe)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fiordigigli(Assergi)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Hotel Giampy(Assergi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveler rating
456
175
56
33
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
175
56
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunique experiencealbergo diffusomedieval villagewine barour honeymoonbreadunderfloor heatingmodern conveniencessmall villagelocal produceone of a kindfilm settea roomgran sasso mountainsdifferent buildingsbeautiful surroundingsmedieval times
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 741 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This place is unique in my experience - a remote village that was sinking into extinction, but is now being restored using authentic materials to resemble the original appearance - a romantic dream. The staff were very friendly, especially in the dining room, which is incredibly atmospheric as you feel you are eating in same room as people from centuries ago.

The rooms are amazing and the simple decor appealed to us. Thankfully the restorers have compromised on the washing facilities which are pretty modern, but the real let-down was the bed. The mattress is only about 3 inches thick and is either made of straw or horse-hair. We got used to it after 3 nights. Staying here is an experience but my suggestion would be to have a really big shot of the complimentary liquor outside the bedroom before trying to sleep!

The restaurant food was fine, though I actually preferred the campsite for food, and there is a great walk to Rocca Calascio, it takes about 90 mins each way. Italy's Tibet is also fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This would actually be 3.5 not a three. But not quite a four. It's a very hard judgement call. I LOVED the location. I LOVED nearly everything involved around the hotel, which is basically intertwined in the ancient town. The room just was the straw. Especially the bed. It was very, very rustic. I've slept out, and camped in all kinds of mountain campsites. This bed was rough. Not at all comfortable. And the pillow was terrible. That is what killed me, and this review.

The town is epic. Like living in an episode of Game of Thrones. Literally. Wicked Cool. Tiny narrow streets and alleyways that you aren't sure where they go. A tiny little cantina with amazing local biodynamic wines. Meat and cheese platters most people I know would kill over. A restaurant that deserves a lot more write-ups. I mean really delicious food. All local, and or homemade.

And a cute room. Just cute. After a long day of traveling, including the final long drive up a mountain to get here, we wanted to relax, and we really didn't want a 17th Century type atmosphere. We appreciated, but the room was rough. Had we known, it might not have been so bad. There was a nice fireplace. We had nice homemade bath products. A large bathtub. No shower though. But also, no room for luggage. We had to drag our bags up a long cobblestone street, and weren't about to drag anything back to the car. So the small room got full very easily. And nowhere to hang a jacket or shirt. I know it sounds like I'm being needy, but the room could of at least had some 19th Century touches? Didn't need 21st Century everything. Although the wifi was top notch in the entire town.

Walking through town is a must. Dining here is a must. Visiting the cantina is a must. I am sure the mountains around town are also epic.

The room? Too historic, old and stuffy.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any thick mattresses and get extra pillows.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is an unique spot. The rooms are scattered around the village. They are very minimal with original decor. Brand new and well done bathrooms but be aware: no door in the bathroom, at least in our room, and very little ventilation. An other little problem would be the lack of insulation from one room to the next, so if you get some loud People next to you it could became hard to sleep. Anyway, over all is worth it, and it is indeed a great experience. Have fun!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank EleUdinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I'm struggling with this review. It can be approached on a number of levels because this is more than simply a hotel in a beautiful part of Italy, it is also a conservation project and an attempt to re-inject finance into the local economy.

So I'll start with the hotel first.
It's different.
As other reviewers has already mentioned don't expect 4* 21st Century luxury and don't expect normal rooms.

Finding the town of Santo Stefano di Sessanio is easy enough, finding the hotel reception was more of a challenge. Your SatNav will try and take you down a number of tiny streets that are totally impassable in order to find the address you have entered. (This is true for all of the hill top villages you may want to visit). Find the small car park and get out and walk - it's about 100 metres at most following the small signs from there.

The Reception staff were very helpful and walk you to your room - which is just as well because you could not find it otherwise. The hotel is built on the concept of re-populating an all but deserted Medieval village by using a variety of old dwellings scattered through the village as rooms. We were taken to the our first room which looked like something from a film set, two levels, communal downstairs bench and chairs, very dim lighting, brown ' authentic' walls, fire place with wood and lighters in the room, bare wooden floors with large nails protruding from the planks. Very atmospheric, provided you don't get spooked easily.

And the bed. This is where the problem arose, and from previous reviews we were not alone. Imagine solid metal legs supporting wooden industrial pallets with a 4cm thick stuffed woollen mattress on top of this. Not a lot of give in that arrangement, so if this is your sleeping preference then you'll be fine. Other reviewers appear to have adopted the 'hot curry' approach to people who don't like hard beds, implying that they are somehow picky or weak if they can't cope with an ultra hot mouth melting Vindaloo. The fact is some like firm mattresses, others don't, but we all like a good night's sleep. We slept OK the first night because we had been travelling 48 hours but I woke with a stiff back and aching shoulders so I went to ask for a room change.

Reception explained that the owner's rationale was that we should have an authentic medieval experience in keeping with the rest of the room furnishings and hotel style. Well and good, but true authenticity depends a dose of the Plague, roasting the village idiot over a spit for our entertainment and being pelted with rotten vegetables while in the stocks and I wasn't having any of that. We were, however, moved to a much better room with a mattress that had an additional 1cm of wool in the mattress, which did make a difference, but not that much.

The hotel offered 2 other eating places. The Cantinone which is a small, dark, candle lit, highly atmospheric bar that does some great, simple Italian food and serves good beer and wine, and the Restaurant where breakfast is also served which has a varied menu of limited choice throughout the week. When bed occupancy is low these will close, sometimes with apparently little warning. The village has a few other eating places but we didn't try them so can't comment. Breakfast was Italian and very good. The lovely Romanian lady who makes scrambled eggs was a delight to talk to and very good at her job.

We had booked in for a week - but took 2 days out to visit friends in Tuscany and rest our backs. That says something....

A few final thoughts

1. It's a worthwhile experience - but go for a few days max. unless you love sleeping on the kind of bed I've described

2. If you have any kind of disability or arthritic hips and knees think very hard before visiting. It is not easily accessible to people who have limited movement.

3. We found a secret escapes voucher which gave us 71% discount - that made it very much more acceptable given the lack of creature comforts your money would normally obtain, and which they have not had to supply.

4. Have a plan B if plan A is intolerable.

5. Factor in the benefits you are providing for local business and the preservation of history.

Finally, if you really think this business model is a great idea (which I don't having briefly been outlined the plan for franchising by the management), then they need to realise that the customers with the greatest disposable income are in their 50's and 60's (like us) who gave up roughing it when we were in our 20's and 30's. It was great then, it is not great now as time has taken it's toll on our bodies! If they want returning trade they need to do something urgently about the mattresses.

Room Tip: Go for the Camera sotto del chiesa - right next to the Piazza and midway between the breakfast room and the reception
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank g12doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in May and had a lovely time. Beautiful surroundings and landscapes. You will certainly never stay anywhere like this - the crumbling architecture is truly amazing (there's a lot of pretty retro Italian scaffolding.) I loved the peace of quiet of the hotel, but there is literally nothing to do at the hotel so be warned if you like lots of people, noise and distractions. Food was local, simple and perfect for the place. The hotel was clean and a great mix of modern/old. It was literally exactly as I expected in terms of simple, rustic charm. Do not turn up hungry though as there is no guarantee that anywhere will be open for a bite to eat! Oh, and do not bother visiting L'Aquila - nothing has been done since the earthquake of 2009!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eburt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews