We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Unique experience, amazing place to stay. Not a normal hotel, you should really read about it before booking, but if you are aware that this is not a hotel with amenities like room service or tv (they have free wi fi internet, though), go ahead. Room is incredibly cozy, warm and clean. We have stayed at the Camino Tondo room, and we have loved it. Food is amazing, the staff is fantastic. The borgo is quite something, it's a great experience to wake up there, have a wonderful breakfast and then take the road and know Campo Imperatore's landscapes. We'll surely go back there and recommend it.
P.S.: The only problem was the noise made by what we believe was the heating system, that was next to our room.

Room Tip: Camino Tondo is great but a bit noisy at night because of the heating system. It has a shower, not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zenpazienzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I were looking for an incredibly unique, secluded, and romantic experience to kick off our honeymoon - and Sextantio Albergo Diffuso couldn't have been a more perfect location. We checked into our beautiful two-story suite, Le Loggette, which had a living area, huge bedroom, gorgeous bathroom, and terrace overlooking one of the walkways. During our stay we took a cooking class - learned how to make lentil stew, pasta, and focaccia which we ate later in the restaurant, so delicious. We also had massages, lots of dinners in the hotel restaurant, and a few evenings in the cantina. I can't say enough about how wonderful of an experience we had - it felt so private and special, the food and wine were so amazing, and every person there was accommodating and very friendly. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was booked as a birthday surprise from my husband, and he couldn't have chosen anywhere more romantic. The hotel is spread about the village via cobbled streets it is "diffused" breakfast in one place (which was lovely) your evening meal in a restaurant down the road and a massage in the street around the corner.
The food was fab, we are real foodies and thought highly of the 50Euro tasting menu, the food was locally sourced and very well presented, worthy of any high class restaurant.
The room were a bit like being in a Philippe Starck monestary and less was definitely more!
I would never have booked this hotel as it hasn't got a spa, swimming pool and is not ultimate luxury and I would have missed out on so much, so I have my husband to thank for not missing out on this amazing place which is a complete escape from the world :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsnowybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved our time here. The hotel is actually a colleciton of old stone houses/apartments in the charming little town of Santo Stefano di Sessanio. We chose this as our base to explore the wonderful region of Abruzzo. It is important to know that this is not a typical hotel as there is no central lobby, lounge, amenities etc but instead a small assortment of medieval dwellings that have been beautifully renovated using traditional materials and furniture. It is also not a budget location but in our opinion was well worth it. There are only 3 restaurants in town and our favourite is affiliated with the hotel and is essentially a little tavern where they also serve breakfast. It was a great getaway and a highlight of our time in Italy. You will need to rent a car to get here (about 2 hours East of Rome) and make sure to explore the area by both driving the mountain roads and hiking throughout the region (tourist office in town has the hiking maps). Highlights include the Campo Imperiatore and the fortress atop Caliscio. The local food and wine is also great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was a stop off point on our honeymoon and one of the highlights to the trip. Unique rooms with a rustic but modern feel to it. The bath tub was the best I have ever been in with comfortable bedding and linens. I loved the fact that very few people spoke English but it wasn't uncomfortable it made for a more interesting trip. We took a cooking class where they did bring in a translator. Bread, pizza and soup were on our menu and it was such a great experience and we would highly recommend doing this. They have bikes on site to take out which we also did up as far as a small little bar we found and it was so nice to just hang out with the locals. Breakfast was so amazing and the lady that greats you each morning is like having an Italian grandmother who takes care of everything before you set off on your day. We took the train into Pescara and then took a car service to the hotel... Pricey but worth it as each town looks similar and it would have probably taken us longer to get there. Our next destination was Rome and we took a 20 minute car service back to L'Aquila and from there took an hours bus into Rome. Definitely a place worth visiting if you're in the vicinity and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was a surprise: caming from the gran sasso mountain and discovering such a small, old village with a really strange hotel...a really innovative way to host visitors...a 'diffused' hotel...not the traditional building with rooms but different rooms in different old houses, old refurbished with all modern stuff.....a stange but interesting mix. We slept in an old building with a bathroom in the bedroom, wi-fi and a really good breakfast.....only not so positive aspect..the restaurant is not at the same leve. Of the hotel...but....oit has been one f the best places where i slept n the last year.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank FabrizC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Like other reviewers of this hotel the main thing I need to put over is that this is NOT a luxury holiday but a very special and different experience. Our room was a 'cantina' and very simple. The bath (a special request) in the main room was wonderful, but the mirror in the bathroom was a step too far in authenticity - I NEED to see properly to put my contact lenses in! I love the concept of the place and simplicity is actually a luxury these days - escaping the internet and the television for a couple of nights is wonderful.

The hotel is located in a exceptionally pretty Abruzzi village - and has obviously benefited financially from the hotels popularity - more chi-chi shops than places selling provisions!!! One night there was an Opera evening in the piazza. However it is picture book pretty even with the necessary modifications from the earthquake. The countryside around is beautiful too.

Again I agree with the remarks about the breakfast and the wonderful Michaela who serves it - the local produce was delicious. However the tasting menu at their restaurant at €50 a head including wine, was I felt overpriced for what it was.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who like something different, but if you need a flat-screen tv and all mod cons to enjoy yourself then probably best to give this one a miss.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Stefano di Sessanio
8 mi away
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
#1 of 5 in Assergi
342 reviews
0 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Monte Selva
12.1 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 21 in L'Aquila
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residenza La Torre
Residenza La Torre
#1 of 5 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Locanda Sul Lago
La Locanda Sul Lago
#3 of 5 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
170 reviews
0 mi away
La Bifora e le Lune
La Bifora e le Lune
#4 of 10 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sextantio Albergo Diffuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Albergo Diffuso

Address: Via Principe Umberto SNC, 67020 Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Price Range: $115 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Albergo Diffuso 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso is distributed Hotel in the "Borgo" of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, project of restoration of houses and tradition. Our clients are member of our community, member of the village, like how life was till the years of the immigration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sextantio Albergo Diffuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso Hotel Santo Stefano Di Sessanio
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso Italy/Santo Stefano Di Sessanio, Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing