We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, Helpful Staff, Fun neighborhood”
Review of the b hachioji

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
the b hachioji
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels / Ryokan in Hachioji
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient location, Helpful Staff, Fun neighborhood”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you want to explore one of many satelite communities in Tokyo Metropolitan City, this hotel is highly recommended. Away from the center of Tokyo, yet connected with Hachioji JR Station that runs special express to Shinjyuku in half an hour and Keio Line that also brings you to Shinjuku, it's a small but comfortable hotel with amenities including Internet access in your room. It is across a bus stop that brings you to Hachioji from and takes you to both Haneda and Narita International Airports by airport shuttle bus (reservation can be handled at the hotel). In front of the hotel are Seven Eleven, Lawson and Family Mart all of which sell everything from tooth brushes to wine and sake to boxed lunch. Nearby at the Keio Line Hachioji Station is a shopping center whose top two floors have restaurants that range from Italian, Chinese, to Japanese cuisines. Five minutes walk away, at the JR station, there is a larger shopping center.

Although I was a single guest, I reserved online through a discount site a double bed room, knowing the small size from my previous stay, and that was a good idea. The bathroom was very clean with amenities and washlet. On the fourth floor was a laundry room whih was handy. My plan did not include breakfast but there was buffet breakfast in the lobby restaurant. They didn't serve lunch or dinner but with many restaurants and pubs in the neighborhood, there was no shortage of choice.

The staff at the front desk were friendly, eager to help, and efficient. The safe for valuables was next to the front desk, free of charge. A map of neighborhood was available. The hotel was busy with group tours from China to junior high students for karate tournaments, but each floor was very quiet.

Hachioji is an interesting mixture of deep history (the Imperial Cemetary of the Taisho Emperor and Empress and the Showa Emperor and Empress is half an hour bus ride) and modern commuting town. If you want to experience beyond the usual must see places in Tokyo, you might enjoy staying at this hotel for a couple of days and explore the area.

Room Tip: At the time of reservation, ask for a non-smoking room. Don't expect to have a view; either the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Showertreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
アラマキ, 支配人 at the b hachioji, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kindly comment.
We are very pleased that you stayed with us.
Hachioji Plaza Hotel is located near Hachioji Station and is in a convenient location.
Our promise is to provide you with the best attention and services to fulfill your needs and to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We very much look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Hidekazu Aramaki
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
12
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you want to visit Mt Takao and stay somewhere close this hotel is a good choice. Its about 10 - 15mins away by train (Y170). The hotel is 2-3 mins walk from Keio Hachioji station which has a good supermarket and a good bakery. There is also a good convenience store practically opposite the hotel.

We stayed in a double room/non smoking on the 11th floor. It was typical Tokyo small size but very clean with nice linen and a firm but comfortable bed. Bathroom was functional wtith nice toiletries.
The small fridge in the room worked well and with two chairs and a small table it meant we could buy some take away and eat in easily.
Only negative about the room was it had one window that was completly opaque - it let plenty of light in but it would of been nice to see something out the window even if it was a wall.

Hotel facilities included washing machines and dryers (total cost to wash and dry a load Y300) with soap dispensed automatically - very handy for travellers.
The gym contained one treadmill, one cross trainer and two bikes.
There are free ice machines and safety deposit boxes in the foyer.

The staff I met were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English.
If I wished to stay in this area of Tokyo again I wouldnt hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Didnt use the restaurant so cant comment on the food.

Booked this hotel via Hotels.com for about AU$100 a night which i thought was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can see out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotels, Manager at the b hachioji, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear mothie
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.
The hotel is very close to Mt Takao so very easy to access - as I am sure you know there are fabulous hikes around the mountain and the view of Mt Fuji from the top is spectacular - weather permitting.
There are also some wonderful traditional restrurants in the area.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The stay was alright. The hotel was kinda small as compared to hotels at other countries. However , the reception staff was superb! They were extremely helpful and nice (As my friend lost his wallet and they helped out).

This hotel was recommended by my friend's dad (Japanese) staying at Hachioji. It's near the train station too, so transport is not a problem. There are alot of eateries as well as 24 Hr Denny's + many 24hr convenience stalls.

Good location! The rooms were clean, bathrooms are en suite with bathtubs ;)

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanetky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hachioji hotels
Hachioji Station
Keio Plaza Hotel Hachioji
Keio Plaza Hotel Hachioji
#1 of 14 in Hachioji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Hachioji Station
R&B Hotel Hachioji
R&B Hotel Hachioji
#3 of 14 in Hachioji
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Hachioji Station
Sun Hotel Hachioji
Sun Hotel Hachioji
#5 of 14 in Hachioji
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hachioji Station
Hachioji Urban Hotel
Hachioji Urban Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hachioji
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Hachioji Station
Hotel Gran Spa
Hotel Gran Spa
#11 of 14 in Hachioji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Marroad Inn Hachioji
#7 of 14 in Hachioji
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b hachioji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b hachioji

Property: the b hachioji
Address: 4-6-12 Myojincho, Hachioji 192-0046, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Hachioji
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels / Ryokan in Hachioji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b hachioji 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Rakuten, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your the b hachioji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Hachioji Japan - Tokyo Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing