We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful natural park only 50 minutes from Tokyo station”
Review of Mt. Takao

Mt. Takao
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Hachioji
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An hour outside Tokyo by train, Mt. Takao is popular among city dwellers for the views from its seven hiking trails. To enjoy the view without the work, take the cable car or chairlift to the top and visit the Takaosan Yakuoin Yuuki-ji Temple, founded in 744.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A beautiful natural park only 50 minutes from Tokyo station”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

You take the train to Takao then the Keio line from Takao to Takaosanguchi (1 stop). This spectacular park full of beautiful trees and shrubs. There is a cable car and a chair lift. We took the cable car up and the chair lift down. There is a 40 minute walk to the top of Mount Takao and the views are spectacular on a clear day. We could see Mt Fuji from the lookout. Loads of people around many with picnics. The walk back along trail 4 back to the chair lift and crossing a suspension bridge was lovely and a nice contrast to the concrete walking trail and steps up to the top. There are quite a lot stairs to negotiate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    407
    87
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Nature Hike for Getting out of the Busy City”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice experience having been in the busy Tokyo city life - this was a nice retreat. Take the cable car up the mountain and dine in the observatory-cafe. Take friends and bring good walking shoes. The time spent was serene and most enjoyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One-hour escape from Tokyo”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Plan to spend a whole day here and don't forget the camera! Takao-san is an hour train ride from Shinjuku and is fairly easy to access. I went during the middle of the week so there were a lot of school kids around as well as older hikers, which made it seem like Takao would be an easy climb. Wrong, don't underestimate these kids! Quite the scenic hike, Takao is beautifully forested with many trails to choose from, and if you need a boost, there is a cable available for a reasonable fee. We were rewarded with a beautiful view at the top, which made the climb all the more worth it. The picturesque scenery combined with the friendliness of the people made my Mt.Takao experience so great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vannillalime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, good exercise, clean air”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I loved my day trip here, a nice mountain only an hour from Tokyo. The people at the information desk, although they had limited English, were much obliging to help with my inquiries. I took Trail 6, which is supposed to be the most scenic. I was thrilled at the number of hikers who all greeted me "Konnichi-Wa" coming up and down the mountain, there was a really friendly atmosphere there. The ascent took me a bit longer than normal people because I'm quite unfit, but I got there in about 2 hours and considering my level of fitness, it wasn't too painful. At the top there are small cafes, restaurants and a gorgeous temple. Sadly I missed the view of Mt Fuji due to the clouds, but I found this to be a lovely relaxing day and gave me a nice rest from the chaos of the Tokyo CBD. Don't forget to bring a water bottle!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mount Takao-an Easy Day Hike 1 Hr. Out of Tokyo”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Want to get out of the city and have a day hike? Mt. Takao is about 1-hour outside of Tokyo. From Shinjuku Take the Keio Line(Limited Express) and get off at Takao Sanguchi. You can hike all the way up the mountain, take an open chair lift halfway(470 yen), or a cable car, depending on how much time you have. There are numerous hiking trails, ask for the map at the Chair lift station, as it is partially in English. You can picnic at the top of the mountain, or have noodles and snacks at one of the simple restaurants. A wonderful place for lunch is at the Temple Yakuo-in, the restaurant is to the left of the temple entrance. It is all Vegetarian-cuisine but very good(tofu, soba, vegetarian tempura), in a great atmosphere.The views from the top of Mt. Takao are lovely on a clear day. Me and my friend stopped at the Mt. Takao Monkey park and for 400 yen were able to watch 50 Japanese monkeys in a very nice rooftop enclosure. They have a great play area for the monkeys, and the guide knew all the monkey's names and ages(he spoke English quite well), and the monkeys were very happy, active and playful. There was also a monkey dressed and sitting with a man, and you could take his picture. There is some nice shopping near the station, try the purple sweet potato ice cream for something different. A fun easy outing(a child could do this hike), wear hiking shoes or trainers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Alaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Takao also viewed

Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
 
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
 

Been to Mt. Takao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing