We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sunday morning outing”

Mt. Takao Cable Car
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Hachioji
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday morning outing”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Decided to visit Mt. Takao on a Sunday morning. It was an easy train ride from KeioHachioji Station. Arrived around 10:30am and while there was a steady stream of people it didn't feel crowded. Waited only 10 minutes to board the Cable Car. Wished I had gotten a seat facing uphill. Definitely recommend getting a seat facing uphill. Went to the Monkey exhibit, which was just ok. The walk up the mountain to the temple was a gradual incline and a nice walk. Stopped for a soft-sere ice cream halfway up. Was very glad to have taken the Cable Car up and down the mountain. For 900 yen, roundtrip, definitely a bargain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    90
    44
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hachioji, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hiking Mt Takao”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The area is mountainous with tall stands of trees, therefore hiking on a hot day is comfortable. There are numerous sites to see along the way such a a large temple complex. The end of the trail (about 7-8 hours), which I have not yet attempted has a large white horse monument intended to encourage hikers into the area. The hike itself is moderate not at all rigorous. I can highly recommend it if you are into hiking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank plestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice Little Short Ride”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice experience having been in the busy Tokyo city life - this was a nice retreat. Take the cable car up the mountain and dine in the observatory-cafe. Take friends and bring good walking shoes. The time spent was serene and most enjoyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Entertaining steep ride to the top.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted to see the monkey park and the beautiful shrine at the top of Mt. Takao. We figured a cable car ride would be easy.

The cable car ticket office takes Suica cards and tickets are only 900 yen per person, round trip. This is WORTH it when your feet hurt from traveling all week. Maybe if your whole family is going - it might be worth it to walk it instead - or take the cable car up and walk down the hill? Either way, it was a small price to pay.

The part that we found amusing was at the bottom, when we entered the cable car, the seats were angled so that the passengers are leaning forward. We found this amusing because by the time we get to the top, we were practically leaning backwards - shows how steep the mountain is!

I like how we got to our destination faster than just walking. If you're willing to walk to the top - go for it, otherwise, we went for the cable car. The first cable car starts at 9AM. I recommend getting there for the first cable car so you can beat everyone to the destination and not battle crowds. It gets busier later.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KarmicJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Just the Ticket!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We struck a very busy festival day but the throughput of the cable car is terrific so waiting for the best part of an hour was no problem. We even had entertainment from taiko drummers, which was great.

When boarding the cable car, already on a condiderable angle, you note that the would-be vertical window and door frames are considerably out of whack, so belying a steeper climb up ahead. We weren't disappointed, although one of the party had to squat down so she couldn't see out the window!

About 7 minutes and it's done and think of the walking you save..

Coming back there was an even longer wait so we decided to walk back down the evenly graded path along with many others. About 30 minutes or so. A great trip..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swordfish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Takao Cable Car also viewed

Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
 
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
 

Been to Mt. Takao Cable Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing