We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bolton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bolton Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed for a long weekend and was extremely impressed with the Bolton Arms. The room was clean and very well appointed and separate to the pub so we could come and go as we pleased. It was like a small chalet, just lovely. The food was excellent both in the evenings and at breakfast. The breakfast was ordered the night before which we found to be very convenient. All in all a lovely weekend. The car park was just a few yards from our room. Very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
105
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner after a hard days mountain biking. The service was prompt and with a smile. The food prepared quickly and was outstanding. The spinach roulade was well presented and very tasty, the streak and ale pie was delicious, the suet crust nicely crumbly melting on the tongue.
Considering how hungry we were after our day out we actually couldn't finish the whole meal!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wayneghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just back from a 3 night break at the Bolton Arms.The room was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for our needs and spotlessly clean.The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.Breakfasts provided a good variety of choices and were of an excellent quality, as were the evening meals which we took full advantage of.Overall an excellent break in a particularly lovely part of the country.Visit for yourselves.....you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robcar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband I stayed with our two beagles for a 3 night break to celebrate my 60th birthday in early April this year............we stayed in Room Number 4 and had a truly fabulous time,nothing was too much trouble,the food was fabulous, all staff very friendly indeed as were the villagers, and fantastic walks from the door too......we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only ate in the Bolton Arms, the food was home cooked, the portions tasty and huge.
The staff were friendly and so efficient .Definately the best pub meal we have ever had.
Only wish we had a local pub up to the high standard of this one

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed on a 3 night midweek break, B&B and 2 course evening meal. Stayed in a superior room, there are only two of them, up a metal stairway, so no good for the less able, but wonderful views from the balcony that we shared with the adjoining room. The rooms are quite small, but absolutely everything is provided. Full canisters of tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits provided every day, nice toiletries and even cotton wool balls and cotton buds. Full shoe cleaning kit in the bottom of the wardrobe, even a hot water bottle if needed, and everything is spotlessly clean.
A great choice for breakfast, which you decide upon the evening before, and the evening meals are filling and very well cooked.
The pub is situated in a lovely village, within easy walking distance of Bolton Castle and some lovely walks nearby.
It was a real pleasure to stay here, the staff are lovely, from the very young waiter to the cleaners, everyone just wants you to enjoy your stay.
Thankyou Bolton Arms, we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are superior (small extra charge) and have a shared balcony with lovely views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz99EastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I booked the Bolton Arms for us, our son and his wife, their two year old - and our two, huge dogs. The pub claims to be dog friendly but these two are giants, though fortunately well behaved ones. Not a murmur of complaint from anyone all weekend, nothing but kindness and constant striving to make our stay good.

We were blessed with fabulous weather but whatever the conditions Redmire is a lovely place. The dogs chased rabbits, paddled in the river and flopped under garden tables, while we ate, drank and watched Andy Murray win Wimbledon. Result!

Room Tip: Room is best for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
7.0 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolton Arms

Property: The Bolton Arms
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bolton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing