We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly clean and good service”
Review of The Bolton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bolton Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leyburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly clean and good service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amazing place with good food and cheap prices for value me and my dad come up here quite often and always get a good meal and good location as it is near the train station so I think they will get quite a lot of walkers for a village pub!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
321 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Popped into The Bolton Arms on a friday night and it was steak night. Sirloin or fillet; cooked as you like with a healthy portion of chips; grilled tomatoes, mushrooms and onion rings. Fantastic; good value and whopping portions.
The beers were magnificent particularly The Theakstons Best Bitter and The Black Sheep Bitter.
Great place to stay/pop into if you are fishing on The River Ure. It has a licence to serve alchohol until 01:30 am!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teesdalepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

we stayed at the bolton arms last weekend for one night. I booked a superior room and although it was a nice room the bathroom was small and only had a shower where I prefer a bath, which I expected in a superior room, however, the price was reasonable with breakfast included. It is a very popular pub and restaurant with a great atmosphere. We had pre-booked a meal (as it does get busy). The meal was excellent, very generous portions, good home made food. This was followed by a very good breakfast.

Room Tip: our room was at the top of iron steps and as it was a wet day they can be slippery so would not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigre, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Many years ago we used to live in this area so it was nice to come back and enjoy good Yorkshire food and beer. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the food in the resaurant was excellent and to have good English beer was wonderful (we now live in France- need I say more?). Best to book for the restaurant, it is popular with the locals.
WiFi was available which I enjoyed with a pint at the bar.
The room was very good with all the facilities needed, but was rather small. Next time we will pay a little extra for a superior room.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertW852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a very popular pub with visitors and locals, great atmosphere, friendly staff and very good beer. Regarding the food, as a regular visitor and accommodation provider in the area, I find that the standard varies according to who is cooking that day. If you are lucky the food will be top rate, home cooked pub food. However standards do vary from day to day and this does tend to relate to who is on duty in the kitchen. Sadly this makes it difficult to the recommend the restaurant and bar meals to guests and visitors alike. Apart from this one criticism the Bolton Arms is a great pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningdiner511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broken bridge
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We called at the Bolton Arms for our evening meal after being recommended by a shop owner in Layburn

We hadn't booked a table but the owner found us one with no problem,the staff where very attentive especially the young lad who served the tables no complaints with the service

We ordered our starters which we all enjoyed apart from the garlic bread !!!!

When our main meals came we were taken aback by the size but as the saying goes size doesn't matter it's the quality and I am sorry to say all the 4 meals were poor .

The chicken curry was lumps of chicken in a watery packet sauce , the fish pie wasn't to bad just tasteless , the beef and ale pie wasn't what we expected taste wise !

The veg was good but the frozen bland chips really put the top hat on it !!

It's a shame the food wasn't up to scratch because the staff are really good .

We might have called on a off night as we all have off days but I don't think at that prices we paid for the drinks and food we will be visiting the pub in the near future .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sula_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I wanted a nice country pub with decent food to celebrate my 70th birthday with my family.We were not disappointed with the Bolton Arms.They catered very well for the 12 of us including 4 young children.Particularly impressed with the menu for children which included children s portions from the main menu.They had laid up a table for the 12 of us in a particularly light and pleasant spot in the bar restaurant and they took good care of us and in friendly manner.
The food was not what I would call brilliant but good typical pub grub served with very generous portions,they even kept us up to date with the football scores and as my team won that afternoon it made the visit even more memorable !! Although the weather that day was not too good The Bolton Arms is situated in a very scenic area -would be great on a fine summers evening.
All in all very pleased that we went there and would visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMCUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
606 reviews
4.2 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
2.0 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolton Arms

Property: The Bolton Arms
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bolton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing