We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bolton Arms
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$197
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
158
33
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
33
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbolton armssuperior roombar areaone night staybeefaysgarth fallsfriendly staff and localsyorkshire dalespotatoesboth nightscurrybedside tablesandwichespieexcellent valueweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 201 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We called at the Bolton Arms for our evening meal after being recommended by a shop owner in Layburn

We hadn't booked a table but the owner found us one with no problem,the staff where very attentive especially the young lad who served the tables no complaints with the service

We ordered our starters which we all enjoyed apart from the garlic bread !!!!

When our main meals came we were taken aback by the size but as the saying goes size doesn't matter it's the quality and I am sorry to say all the 4 meals were poor .

The chicken curry was lumps of chicken in a watery packet sauce , the fish pie wasn't to bad just tasteless , the beef and ale pie wasn't what we expected taste wise !

The veg was good but the frozen bland chips really put the top hat on it !!

It's a shame the food wasn't up to scratch because the staff are really good .

We might have called on a off night as we all have off days but I don't think at that prices we paid for the drinks and food we will be visiting the pub in the near future .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sula_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I wanted a nice country pub with decent food to celebrate my 70th birthday with my family.We were not disappointed with the Bolton Arms.They catered very well for the 12 of us including 4 young children.Particularly impressed with the menu for children which included children s portions from the main menu.They had laid up a table for the 12 of us in a particularly light and pleasant spot in the bar restaurant and they took good care of us and in friendly manner.
The food was not what I would call brilliant but good typical pub grub served with very generous portions,they even kept us up to date with the football scores and as my team won that afternoon it made the visit even more memorable !! Although the weather that day was not too good The Bolton Arms is situated in a very scenic area -would be great on a fine summers evening.
All in all very pleased that we went there and would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JBMCUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly,lovely food, lovely rooms and all in beautiful Redmire! We were lucky with the weather, the pub was open all day, serving a variety of food and snacks, tea, coffee-all delicious.bill and Janet have worked hard to provide a welcome atmosphere and entertainment if you want it.the rooms have all been refurbished since I last stayed (2years ago)and have been given a more modern look. The toiletries are classy, and the self serve tea/coffee tray is well stocked with high quality biscuits and refreshments.the superior room has a small balcony with table and chairs and amazing views of the dales.the hotel provides tourist information about the surrounding areas and details of walks.castle Bolton is a pleasant walk of about 2miles, through beautiful farmland.wel worth a visit,especially with a cream tea to finish penn hill provides a stunning backdrop to any walks in this part of the Dales. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normieWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we visited in January and we had a great stay. The twin room was very small but nicely decorated and warm and comfortable. The staff were amazing, and made our stay really special, nothing was too much trouble The food was beyond our expectations and we enjoyed every meal. The owners were away at the time so we never met them, but judging the service in their absence, must be really good employers!!! Would go again, in fact looking forward to it. Still lots of walking to discover in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A small pub in the Dales with 5 double rooms, 3 on the outside, easily accessible by anyone with mobility problems and 2 up a steel outside staircase (no good for anyone who has any mobility problems), the two upstairs being 'superior rooms'. The advertising for the place 'offers welcoming, comfortable and clean en suite rooms' and my wife and I cannot agree most strongly. It was our second visit in 8 months and there were people there on their 3rd visit in less than 2 years. Lots of local walks of varying lengths and very close to Redmire Station on the local heritage rail line.
The food is extremely good in quality and quantity and, in a very cold (freezing) February, the heat in the room, if anything, was too much! Bill and Janet will do anything to assist visitors to the extent of arranging a lift, if walking on linear walks, to or from the pub. The pub is open all day, every day, and do a very good lunch (but if staying on a dinner, bed & breakfast deal you will not need this) which appears to be well used.
Well recommended, already fully booked for the 2014 'Tour de France' cycle race

Room Tip: Upstairs if you can do it (mobility) but be prepared for noise from the kitchen below.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews