We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of The Bolton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bolton Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed for one night but everything was excellent, from the friendly owners to the meal. The room was clean and modern, bed very comfortable and setting peaceful. We stayed for a meal and the food is all home cooked, excellent value and large portions. The Bolton Arms burger NEARLY defeated me, and the wife's food was brilliant as well. Fantastic breakfast in the morning as well, with a good range of hot food. Will definately go back and this time for an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsH275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Although only stopped for an overnight stay, everything was very nice. Lovely surroundings and friendly staff, slight hiccup at breakfast but the food was really good so made up it. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archiemeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a lovely, typical English pub. A warm welcome and friendly locals in a very pretty little village. Everything and more than we were looking for a 3 day break with our friends. Beer great, food excellent, staff very efficient. Breakfast a delight with a choice of smoked haddock and poached eggs (delicious) full English or eggs as you want and at a time you select. I am reluctant to say anything negative about the clean rooms and comfortable beds (even a hot water bottle should you need one!) but, they are small. We had the "superiour room above the dining area which can be very noisy until ll.30 with people enjoying themselves (How dare they?) but the room was not large enough for two chairs and the bathroom small. Spotlessly clean and, lovely fluffy huge towels but nowhere to hang them. Our friends in Room 3 were very cramped, only one bedside table and washand basin in the bedroom and, very small shower and bathroom. Should this stop one from staying again? Its difficult to better the cleanliness, food, warm bar and, staff. Try rooms 4 & 5 they looked bigger from the outside. All in all we had a great time despite the appalling weather.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 it very small. Superiour rooms above the bar are very noisy when there are functions of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The village is very pretty and the pub is lovely. The rooms were very clean and well decorated with nice furnishings. The bed was comfy and the shower was fab. There was plenty of tea, coffee, milk and nice biscuits. The toiletries were lovely and plenty of them. There is a beer garden for the smokers and tables outside the front of the pub too. The bar area is small and most of the pub turned over to accommodate diners. The food was excellent, well cooked, well presented and an abundance of it. The service was a good standard and they were very busy both nights we were there. Breakfast the next morning was hot and cooked well. You ordered what you wanted the night before which we liked and there was alternatives to a full english including boiled eggs or smoked haddock. There are some nice walks about and it was easy distance to Aysgarth and other places. We enjoyed a day at Richmond too. We've booked to go again as we have been very impressed by the standard and the value for money.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We visited The Bolton Arms at Redmire for a weekend break in March 2012. We found the accommodation, pub and restaurant to be a cosy and friendly place to stay. The staff were very helpful, the beer cool and the food hot. The menu at first glance didn't do the food justice, which you will see for yourself when it leaves the kitchen. The food exceeded expectations with a good variety and local ingredients, very often desserts in many places are defrosted to order, not at the Bolton Arms all homemade and delicious. All in all a fantastic stay and warm weather which matched the welcome.

Room Tip: If the superior rooms are available the view from the shared balcony is a treat, we had a peep as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Me and my husband have just returned with my sister and partner from a 3night stay at the Bolton Arms Redmire. My sister had a 'Superior' room which was very spacious with a large shower, spotlessly clean and a shared balcony which had spectacular views. Our room was spotlessly clean and quite adequate but smaller, if we were to go again I think it was worth the extra for the 'Superior' room but if it was not available I would still book the 'Standard'. The hosts Janet and Bill could not have been more friendly and accomodating as were the rest of the staff. The food was of a very high standard with plenty of choice but watch out for the large portions, after the first night and feeling embarassed at having to send food back because we were too full we opted for the smaller portions on the back of the menu. The location is perfect for sight seeing and we found the local people very friendly. My sister has already booked to return in July

Room Tip: Superior rooms more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here for my partners birthday weekend. What a great place to stay, the rooms were nice and comfortable. The pub itself was very friendly and all the locals were very friendly ( they especially liked my aftershave!!) if you want a friendly warm place to stay and eat then I'd recommend the Bolton arms 100%

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisshelley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
606 reviews
4.2 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
2.0 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolton Arms

Property: The Bolton Arms
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bolton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing