We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay.”
Review of The Bolton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bolton Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top place to stay.”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed between christmas and new year for a night as part of our East Coast-Dales-Lakes three night break and although all three were good, this was definitely the best place of the three. Arrived late on a cold, dreary afternoon into a warm and friendly bar. The barman explained that they had the darts knockout that night along with the local football team do so the place would be busy but we were most welcome to join in the darts if we fancied it! My friend was very tempted as he's not too bad a darts player but we settled for finding us a table where we could tuck the dog out of the way, get a meal and not get in the way of the competitors, the barman couldn't have been more helpful. We were then shown to our two superior rooms which were just outside of the pub up a separate staircase. Both rooms were excellent, spacious, very nicely decorated, clean, warm, comfy bed and loads of tea/coffee/milk/sugar which makes a refreshing change as we usually have to ask for more. My wife was also impressed by the nice toiletries. We quickly unpacked and took ourselves downstairs for a drink and something to eat. One of our friends is gluten intolerant which was mentioned to the barman, the landlady then came to have a word about this, then the cook who assured us that the meal chosen was gluten-free, then the barman came back again to make sure someone had been to see us, this was typical of the attention that all the staff paid to us all night. We all enjoyed our meals immensely, along with quite a few drinks in an excellent atmosphere, all the locals were friendly and polite to us. I'm afraid with us starting the evening a bit early we didn't quite feel up to joining in the darts (we'd probably had one too many by then) but we watched for a while before retiring to our rooms and leaving them to it. Breakfast next morning was excellent and again we were well looked after.
Overall a great place to stay, friendly and very reasonably priced, will definitely be returning in the summer to take advantage of the sitting out area by the superior rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beez30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    28
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed here Sat 10th Dec 2011. Excellent value, spotlessly clean, superb food, log burning fire, friendly owners and staff. One of the morning cleaning ladies is the village post mistress and she told us if it came to it she would work here for free. What better accolade than that. We will be going back again without a doubt.
The only downside, if you could call it that, is the access to the rooms, you need to go outside the building to get to them using a fire escape staircase. Not a real problem as the rooms made up for the inconvenience but could be a problem for the not so agile visitor. No juke boxes, no slot machines, just pure Yorkshire hospitality.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 & 2 which are above the dining room, we were warned about a party which could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Crispy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Just stayed for three nights B&B plus 2 course evening meal. Stayed in the Superior rooms, spotlessly clean with loads of tea and coffee, biscuits refreshed every day and with posh toiletries - Lots of nice little touches, such as a proper shoe cleaning kit and water bottles (not needed).
Pub was lovely, good range of very well kept real ales and a proper country pub welcome and feel about the place - It is a true community pub with a wide cross section of visitors, so it can get a bit crowded around the bar - Bill & Janet do an excellent job and there's never much of a delay to being served.
Food is awesome, particularly if you're a 20 stone Yorkshire farmer who hasn't eaten for two days - big portions are a slight understatement, but really satisfying hearty fare. Breakfasts follow the same vein, lovely fresh fruit salad and yoghurts and a Great British fry up.
We really enjoyed our stay but feel very full after three days of excess - Redmire is a lovely peaceful base, and the Bolton Arms a perfect accompaniment. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Superior room have the advantage of the terrace and views, bit cold in Winter though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in a cottage in Redmire for a few nights in November, 2 of the 3 nights we were there we ate at the Bolton Arms in the village. We found the pub to be very warm and welcoming. They serve a wonderful of pint of real ale and the food was lovely and plentiful. Would definately return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Booked this on the internet for a weekend with friends. Did not know anything about it before visiting. Landlord and lady could not do enough for us, they were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with ensuite, TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The food was excellent and plentiful and the service was good. The village is very picturesque and an excellent base for walking. The pub is a very friendly village pub and staff and locals were very friendly. Overall one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed stay and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms are accessible from outside, rooms 1 and 2 are upstairs and have a patio area with table a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We decided onThe Bolton Arms after reading some reviews for different places in the Dales. We were very pleased with the whole "long weekend". The staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfasts were great - you could last all day on one! The selection at breakfast was wide, putting in your cooked order the previous evening was no problem. (Unlimited tea and coffee, cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt and orange juice as well!) The evening meals were substantial with a variety of good honest grub -rabbit and game pie was great - supplemented by a good choice of beers! (including a guest beer or two). Will look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: The two "superior" bedrooms were above the restaurant, but with views, accessible by an ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 651LFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Set in beautiful surroundings a lovely cosy pub with comfortable and well fitted rooms. The food is lovely with a great home cooking feel. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful and we had a wonderful stay and will most certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fish8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
251 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fox & Hounds Inn
Fox & Hounds Inn
#1 of 1 in West Burton
107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolton Arms

Property: The Bolton Arms
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bolton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing