We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best of the best!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, Surrey
1 review
“The very best of the best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We cannot help but echo all the other reviews. From the moment we arrived, Lorri and Dave made us feel we were the most important people in the world. Of course we will return. How can we not do so. Anyway, we go to the Dales a lot, especially for the scenery. Now we have another reason to go! That extra sausage on the plate in the morning was so much welcomed by Schuna the Pointer. When we left, reluctantly of course, we felt we were leaving lifetime friends behind. There is no doubt, Lorri and Dave love what they are doing. We just wish we could keep The Old Town Hall a secret !! Thanks Lorri, thanks Dave!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipigari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
169
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Old Town Hall and what can we say other than absolutely fantastic. The trip was for our wedding anniversary and we were booked into the Avignon Suite. On arrival Dave showed us around our fantastic suite gave us instructions for the whirlpool bath and shower. He also showed us the fridge with its contents of wine, cordials, bottled water and not forgetting the pint of 'proper' milk (none of the horrible little containers of UHT milk that are usually provided). There was an impressive hot drinks tray with a choice of teas, coffees and hot chocolate and a jar containing lovely fresh biscuits, there was also a plate with white chocolate truffles by the side of the bed. In the bathroom were lovely toiletries, beautiful white towels and candles for that romantic touch. When you have finished there are soft and fluffy white bath robes to keep you nice and snug. The furniture, soft furnishings and bed linen are like something from a top class hotel. Lots of thought has been put into getting everything just right and you will not be disappointed, in fact, everything was even better than we expected and although the photographs are really good they still do not do it justice. The room was enormous with a super king-size bed and there was still loads of space, normally rooms look big on photographs but in reality are smaller - this was the other way round! While we unpacked the car Dave and Lorri made us and another couple just checking in, pots of tea and coffee with fresh flapjack. They told us about the best places to visit and to eat out and took the trouble to book us into a local restaurant on our first night. We all sat around in the lounge and chatted like old friends. I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough, the breakfasts were incredible with really tasty local produce and fresh bread baked every morning by Dave. Evening meals are also available and although we did not have them ourselves I heard from other guests how good they were. Lorri and Dave are the perfect hosts and we cannot wait to return, if you could chose a couple to have as your best friends you wouldn't need to look any further. If you want a break in The Dales book now because I can guarantee this little gem will be booked up before you know it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parsley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetfordfnorfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed at The Old Town Hall Redmire for 6 nights - what a lively place to stay - nothing too much trouble for Dave and Lorri - everything spotless and beautiful decor - food out of this world - Dave is a fantastic cook - his evening meals were best in area - would recommend anyone to book there ! Thanks Dave and Lorri for a lovely holiday - Marianne Hayman & Bob Kirk Thetford Norfolk

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ixworth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Let me start off by saying as far as the rooms go - especially if you go for the Avignon room - wow! Yes, really, wow! One of the finest examples of a B&B bedroom you're likely to find. Decorated as tastefully as you could imagine with furnishing of the highest quality.

A gigantic bed, a lovely lounge part to the suite, and a whirlpool bath. Oh, and a shower with body jets as if all that wasn't enough!

Not only that, but you get home made Madeleine biscuits, wine, white chocolate truffles, fruit cordials..... all thrown in for good measure to make your bedroom just that little bit special!

As if all that wasn't enough, you can only commend Lorri and Dave for the efforts they've made to make you feel at home. A lovely pot of tea and delicious flapjack served up on arrival, and they have a fantastic knowledge of the local area and all the best places to eat.

I can only imagine how much more fabulous this place will be when their current redecoration projects are all concluded.

If we pass by this way again, we'll certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retsnuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

From the moment of arriving Dave & Lorri were so welcoming with a hot jug of coffee and cake. Our room ' The Avignone' was beautifully furnished, warm and huge. We stayed for 2 nights and dined both evenings - the food was delicious and Dave kindly printed out his recipes for me which I will be trying very soon. Breakfast was also delicious and set us up for the day. Will highly recommend and will be returned again next year. Also for the ladies the toiletries are wonderful - no need to take you own!! Altogether a wonderful experience. Highly recommend.
Lynne & John

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboopWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful night's stay at the Old Town Hall. Lorri and Dave are perfect hosts from the moment you arrive. A wonderful welcome with a hot cup of tea and fantastic flapjack- perfect after being stuck in the car for ages!!
Absolutely gorgeous room with huge bed, seperate sitting room and fantastic bathroom. It's no wonder that this B&B has 5 stars and a gold award- well deserved for the amazing hosts! A lot of thought has been put into the room- wine in the fridge, truffles by the bed, homemade biscuits, wonderful Champney products in the bath, big fluffy towels and lovely white bathrobes. Pure luxury, you couldn't ask for more! A perfect place for relaxtion and some romance....

Breakfast was fantastic- lots of choice for every taste. We had the cooked breakfast which was lovely and set us up for the day.

We choose this B&B after reading the fantastic reviews on here and we certainly weren't disappointed! We'll definitely be back- a little gem in the Yorkshire Dales. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemsymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Dont hesitate, book now and experience why they have real 5 star & gold awards.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bolton Arms
The Bolton Arms
#2 of 2 in Redmire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Hall offers peace and tranquility in the village of Redmire, between Leyburn and Aysgarth. Louise and David offer 3 large rooms with beamed ceilings, all luxuriously appointed to 5 star standards, including comfy settees in each room. We offer home cooked breakfasts, using fresh local ingredients. On arrival tea/coffee is available with home baked cakes and biscuits in the guest sitting room. If you feel like totally relaxing but still being close to busy Leyburn and Reeth, this is the place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to our home in the Yorkshire Dales ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing