We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Visiting the Dales and being from California my friend and I did a lot of research via the Internet. How fortunate for us to have found the greatest B and B - the Old Town Hall in Redmire. We were warmly welcomed by Dave and Lorri after a long drive in the rain from the Lake District with warm tea and an oatmeal cake. They were both so friendly and made us feel right at home. Our room - the Hutton - was large with two big beds, a TV/DVD, small refrigerator, welcoming small bottles of wine (red and white), dresser, table, chairs and so many lovely touches. Our bathrooms were across the hall - one for each of us, again with lovely toiletries, and huge fluffy towels. We had dinner twice while spending 5 days at the Old Town Hall - both meals delicious and reasonably priced. Dave and Lorri provided us with a wide array of brochures, maps and their own personal information of the area which we were only able to barely explore. Breakfast offered a great selection of warm fruit, yoghurt, the best granola ever, and the choice of full English breakfast or anything in between including vegetarian. Our plan is to return to this wonderful B and B in two years when we are already planning another trip to the area. Should mention for sure their wonderful rescue dog, Shula, who was a delight; well-behaved and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 214 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed 2 nights and had a lovely, relaxing weekend. The other reviews say it all really but I will add that we expected Dave and Lorri to be friendly, after all it is a business and why would you not be friendly to your 'customers'. But we did not feel like customers, they are such genuine people (not forgetting Shula who is a delight and very well behaved) that we never felt like they were just doing their job. We chatted each evening in the lounge and I think if we had stayed any longer, we would have discovered that we were related ! We had some real laughs about family and what they get up to. The first night was after enjoying a lovely three course meal cooked by Dave, second night after having a meal at The Wensleydale Heifer in West Witton, recommended by Lorri. If you like seafood, this is the place to go but leave yourself plenty of time to choose as the menu is very extensive and you are spoilt for choice. Redmire is beautiful and there some fabulous walks around there - not all strenuous either. Dave and Lorri are very lucky people, they obviously love what they do and pass that on to their guests. Our friends have 'demanded' that we go back - taking them with us this time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We recently headed to this gorgeous guest house for the weekend with friends - after a recommendation from a work colleague. The room was beauitful, lots of luxury touches, beautiful bed linen, homemade biscuits, truffles and cordial...... fluffy towels and bathrobes, spa products to make you feel really pampered!

The complimentary wine hidden in the firdge went down well during a long soak in the bath after a long walk on the second evening. The food was fabulous at breakfast and dinner - home cooked to perfection. The guests lounge facilities allow all the comforts of feeling at home and a place to relax after dinner!

Dave & Lorri are fantastic hosts, making you feel very welcome and at home, and we wouldn't hesistate in recommending to anyone - although we want to ensure there's availability for when we come back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emschmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed in the Avignon suite for one night. The suite is as lovely as it looks in the pictures with high attention to detail, from the complimentary wine, tea & coffe, chocolates and biscuits to the Jasper Conran towels and fluffy bathrobes. The suite is beautiful and unique with a huge bed, spacious bathroom and your own lounge area.
Dave & Lorri are truly wonderful hosts and cannot do enough for you. We travelled by motorbike which we parked next to Dave's in their garage. We had an evening meal cooked by Dave which was delicious and very reasonably priced.
We cannot reccomend this guest house highly enough. We were sad to leave and hope to return there soon.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Jobiwan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the avignon suite. Having stayed in many boutique hotels and 4/5 star establishments in both UK and abroad we can honestly say that "the Old Town Hall" is right up with the best. The quality of the room was outstanding, great big bed, modern unfussy decor, lovely furnishings and lots of storeage space. The bathroom is exceptional and the ample supply of quality toiletries makes such a difference. Breakfast is simple but wonderfully cooked and very fresh using local produce. We had an evening meal on our first night which was well cooked, tasty and very good value. The owners, Lorri and Dave go to great lengths to make you feel at home and they deserve to make a sucess of this business. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with plenty to do on your doorstep we would reccommend you give this superb place a try. Carol and Rus x

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusjdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Just returned from a weekend away with friends. We were recommended this place through work colleagues and what a recommendation it turned out to be! We were late arriving on the Friday evening and the weather was awful - but we were greeted by both Lorri and Dave offering us a warm welcome and a hot drink to match.
After showing us around and sorting out the rooms - Dave then offered to help the guys with the luggage so the girls could stay dry and warm...and got lumbered with the biggest bag....sorry Dave!
They asked if we were okay for dinner but we had decided to eat at the local pub which is literally a couple of minutes walk away. The pub is lovely - with John the landlord and his dry sense of humour! Food was reasonably priced and welcome after a long journey.
The next morning we had arranged to have breakfast at 9.00am. The choice was brilliant.... as well as the food. The warm plums with cinnamon a pure delight! The cooked breakfasts were amazing. We sampled both the full English and the salmon over the weekend....and both were just as nice as each other.
We arranged to eat in the B&B that night and went through the menu options with Lorri and Dave over breakfast. After much deliberation we all opted for the Lamb Shank. After a full day of cave visiting and walking the food really hit the spot. The B&B doesn`t sell alcohol but you are more than welcome to bring along a couple of bottles of wine and they will provide you with corkscrews, glasses etc etc....We were really made to feel at home. Lorri and Dave couldn`t do enough for us.
The rooms were immaculate and extremely comfortable. They were very modern with lots of lovely toiletries, fluffy towels and homemade treats! Definitely one of the best B&B`s we have ever stayed in...
On Sunday morning Lorri and Dave even joined us out walking with their gorgeous pooch Shula to Redmire Force. The weather was lovely and this just ended the weekend perfectly.
We will definitely recommend this place to all our friends and family - and hopefully we will be returning soon..
Thanks again Lorri and Dave.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichandShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The accommodation was amazing, spotlessly clean and very luxurious with wonderful finishing touches. Dave and Lorri were the perfect hosts. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. It was great to be offered a cup of tea when we arrived. We also had an evening meal on the second night. I am a vegetarian, but Dave was more than happy to accommodate me. The meal was delicious and excellent value. We will defintely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
23.7 mi away
Littlebank Country House
0.1 mi away
The Bolton Arms
The Bolton Arms
#2 of 2 in Redmire
195 reviews
24.4 mi away
Moor View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: Priory Close | Yorkshire Dales National Park, Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range: $133 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Hall offers peace and tranquility in the village of Redmire, between Leyburn and Aysgarth Falls. Louise and David offer 3 large rooms with beamed ceilings, all luxuriously appointed to 5 star gold standards, including comfy settees in each room. We offer home cooked breakfasts, using fresh local ingredients. On arrival tea/coffee is available with home baked cakes and biscuits in the guest sitting room. If you feel like totally relaxing but still being close to busy Leyburn and Reeth, this is the place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to our home in the Yorkshire Dales ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing