We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and i stayed here 16th November, what a find, nothing was too much trouble and the standard of our room was exceptional..We stayed in the suite with the whirlpool bath and everything was thought of even candles..
We had a meal at the nearby pub which was within walking distance.. In the morning after breakfast we had a walk to the falls and it was lovely..
If you are looking for a high quality romantic place to stay this is it..
Thanks to our host Dave and Lorrri and not forgetting Shula s for a wonderful stay..
Sian and Paul Greaves..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Happy New Year Sian & Paul, and thank you for your amazing review, that was so kind of you. Hope you both had a lovely Christmas, and hopefully we'll see you again soon. Lorri, Dave & Shula x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
170
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Thank you Dave and Lorri for such an amazing weekend; you made us feel very welcome and your attention to detail really made the whole weekend absolutely perfect. This is what memories are made of! Thank you. Glad to read that Shula is doing well. Mark and Debbie x

Room Tip: All rooms looked superb. The Avignon Suite is well worth the extra £.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Such a lovely review Debbie, and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Shula's up and running again...chased pheasants for 20 mins today, but seems a bit stiff tonight, she needs to get her fitness level up again, and run off all the treats she's been having!! Thanks again for the review, have a lovely Christmas and maybe we'll see you in the New Year. Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th stay this year this stay being our 1st wedding anniversary so this stay was so important ... As always it couldnt be faulted everything was as amazing however this time we tried Daves sublime evening meals and WOW it did not disappoint.... Anyway dont take my word for it book and see for yourself... Again thank you Lorrie and Dave for a fabulous stay and we will be booking asap for 2014....

Ps big kisses to our favourite girl Shula xxx

PPS.. Thank you so much for helping Andy with my gorgeous flowers xx

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Your 'favourite little girl' is on a diet!! She's finally had her stitches out, so no comfort eating now...and certainly no getting thoroughly spoilt by Ana & Andy!! She's fine, and had her first proper run of the fields for over 3 weeks yesterday, very happy doggie. Having said all of that, I guess I'm on a diet too after those gorgeous Betty's fondant fancies...Yum! How many can a girl eat in one sitting. Thanks for the lovely review, always a pleasure having you both to stay....Shula said 'come back soon' , Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I spent an amazing weekend in August 2013 here. I had booked this guesthouse as a surprise birthday weekend for him. We stayed in the Avignon suite - which was simply beautiful. It had a very large bedroom with an attached day room and luxurious en suite bathroom. The super king size bed was immensely comfortable and the L'Occitaine toiletries were sheer luxury. We only ate breakfast in the guesthouse but each morning the choice of menu was superb, with plenty of help yourself options along with the choice of a hot freshly prepared option. The owners, Lorri and Dave, are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The homemade cakes upon arrival were very welcome and the drinks facilities in the day room were varied and well-stocked, as was the fridge - with lots of goodies and homemade cordials. We simply cannot fault this guesthouse and will definitely return!

Room Tip: The Avignon Suite is beautiful, luxurious and spacious, with amazing facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you s much Joanna for the super review...we feel so lucky to have such lovely people to stay like yourselves, who take the time to post on Tripadvisor. We are now nearing the end of the season for us, we close on 17th November and reopen next year on 31st January, so we'll be busy decorating, along with a break in France. It would be lovely to see you again sometime, thanks again, Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

First trip away on our own without the children, from first arriving to leaving couldn't fault it. The flapjack when we arrived to the shortbread in our suite was perfect. The quality showed through the whole weekend no more so than the hosts themselves. Enjoyed it so much have just booked again for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It was lovely having you both to stay, and so kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you both in June...we'll make sure there's plenty of biscuits and flapjack in the room! Thanks again, Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this very special guest house. I had booked this as a surprise wedding anniversary trip for my husband . We stayed in the Avignon suite which is wonderful with the most comfortable super king size bed . The ensuite bathroom had beautiful toiletries provided and the fluffy towels and bathrobes were the highest quality we have ever experienced . The dining room was very pretty and the cooked breakfasts were of the highest quality . Lorri and Dave are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble, Dave even provided our transport to and from a local inn for an evening meal for a fraction of the charge of the local taxi. All guest houses should be like this one. It is the additional special touches like home make cake on arrival and hosts that go that extra mile to ensure your comfort and satisfaction etc that give it that extra special charm . We will definitely return and have recommended it to all our friends whenever they want a quiet retreat where they can feel spoilt in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: You would not be disappointed with the comfort, decoration and the quality of any of the rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandCWelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review....we're pleased you enjoyed your special weekend at The Old Town Hall. So nice to meet you both, and it would be lovely to see you again sometime. Thanks again Pauline. Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Half way through a trip around the UK and we have found some great B&B's to stay at. The Old Town Hall describe themselves as luxury B&B and it definitely is. As only one other room was booked, we were offered a room upgrade on arrival. The extras such as offers of cake on arrival, biscuits, water, cordials, wine (we don't drink but apparently it is very popular!) are all great and there are plenty of other nice touches. The stewed plums in cinnamon and local farm granola were a big hit at breakfast and our off menu (and very different) cooked food orders were handled perfectly. Almost managed the unthinkable and filled us up too much to squeeze in a cake later in the day (not quite though - thank goodness!)

Thanks Lorri & Dave for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
What a fantastic review, thank you so much. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip, it was lovely meeting you both and also chatting about your racing experiences. It's glorious weather here today, 24 degrees! (Monday 23rd September), and we thought the summer had finished. It would be lovely to see you both again sometime in the future. Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Hall offers peace and tranquility in the village of Redmire, between Leyburn and Aysgarth. Louise and David offer 3 large rooms with beamed ceilings, all luxuriously appointed to 5 star standards, including comfy settees in each room. We offer home cooked breakfasts, using fresh local ingredients. On arrival tea/coffee is available with home baked cakes and biscuits in the guest sitting room. If you feel like totally relaxing but still being close to busy Leyburn and Reeth, this is the place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to our home in the Yorkshire Dales ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing