We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th stay this year this stay being our 1st wedding anniversary so this stay was so important ... As always it couldnt be faulted everything was as amazing however this time we tried Daves sublime evening meals and WOW it did not disappoint.... Anyway dont take my word for it book and see for yourself... Again thank you Lorrie and Dave for a fabulous stay and we will be booking asap for 2014....

Ps big kisses to our favourite girl Shula xxx

PPS.. Thank you so much for helping Andy with my gorgeous flowers xx

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Your 'favourite little girl' is on a diet!! She's finally had her stitches out, so no comfort eating now...and certainly no getting thoroughly spoilt by Ana & Andy!! She's fine, and had her first proper run of the fields for over 3 weeks yesterday, very happy doggie. Having said all of that, I guess I'm on a diet too after those gorgeous Betty's fondant fancies...Yum! How many can a girl eat in one sitting. Thanks for the lovely review, always a pleasure having you both to stay....Shula said 'come back soon' , Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
169
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I spent an amazing weekend in August 2013 here. I had booked this guesthouse as a surprise birthday weekend for him. We stayed in the Avignon suite - which was simply beautiful. It had a very large bedroom with an attached day room and luxurious en suite bathroom. The super king size bed was immensely comfortable and the L'Occitaine toiletries were sheer luxury. We only ate breakfast in the guesthouse but each morning the choice of menu was superb, with plenty of help yourself options along with the choice of a hot freshly prepared option. The owners, Lorri and Dave, are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The homemade cakes upon arrival were very welcome and the drinks facilities in the day room were varied and well-stocked, as was the fridge - with lots of goodies and homemade cordials. We simply cannot fault this guesthouse and will definitely return!

Room Tip: The Avignon Suite is beautiful, luxurious and spacious, with amazing facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you s much Joanna for the super review...we feel so lucky to have such lovely people to stay like yourselves, who take the time to post on Tripadvisor. We are now nearing the end of the season for us, we close on 17th November and reopen next year on 31st January, so we'll be busy decorating, along with a break in France. It would be lovely to see you again sometime, thanks again, Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

First trip away on our own without the children, from first arriving to leaving couldn't fault it. The flapjack when we arrived to the shortbread in our suite was perfect. The quality showed through the whole weekend no more so than the hosts themselves. Enjoyed it so much have just booked again for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It was lovely having you both to stay, and so kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you both in June...we'll make sure there's plenty of biscuits and flapjack in the room! Thanks again, Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this very special guest house. I had booked this as a surprise wedding anniversary trip for my husband . We stayed in the Avignon suite which is wonderful with the most comfortable super king size bed . The ensuite bathroom had beautiful toiletries provided and the fluffy towels and bathrobes were the highest quality we have ever experienced . The dining room was very pretty and the cooked breakfasts were of the highest quality . Lorri and Dave are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble, Dave even provided our transport to and from a local inn for an evening meal for a fraction of the charge of the local taxi. All guest houses should be like this one. It is the additional special touches like home make cake on arrival and hosts that go that extra mile to ensure your comfort and satisfaction etc that give it that extra special charm . We will definitely return and have recommended it to all our friends whenever they want a quiet retreat where they can feel spoilt in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: You would not be disappointed with the comfort, decoration and the quality of any of the rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandCWelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review....we're pleased you enjoyed your special weekend at The Old Town Hall. So nice to meet you both, and it would be lovely to see you again sometime. Thanks again Pauline. Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Half way through a trip around the UK and we have found some great B&B's to stay at. The Old Town Hall describe themselves as luxury B&B and it definitely is. As only one other room was booked, we were offered a room upgrade on arrival. The extras such as offers of cake on arrival, biscuits, water, cordials, wine (we don't drink but apparently it is very popular!) are all great and there are plenty of other nice touches. The stewed plums in cinnamon and local farm granola were a big hit at breakfast and our off menu (and very different) cooked food orders were handled perfectly. Almost managed the unthinkable and filled us up too much to squeeze in a cake later in the day (not quite though - thank goodness!)

Thanks Lorri & Dave for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
What a fantastic review, thank you so much. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip, it was lovely meeting you both and also chatting about your racing experiences. It's glorious weather here today, 24 degrees! (Monday 23rd September), and we thought the summer had finished. It would be lovely to see you both again sometime in the future. Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked by our daughter and very new son in law as a post wedding thank you, so a rest was much needed by us both. The location is in a peaceful setting. We were warmly greeted by Lorri and Dave, offered home made cake and recommended the local pub for our evening meal which they very kindly phoned and booked for us. Our room was amazing with every comfort thought of. Lorri and Dave have very high standards as they obviously use only the freshest and highest quality ingredients for the freshly cooked, made to order breakfast. So, although we only stayed for one night, we left feeling relaxed, recharged and totally spoilt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breckg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
What a lovely gift from Emma & John, and we know just how much you were ready for the break, even though the Wedding looked such a lovely relaxed family celebration. It was lovely having you both to stay, and so very pleased you found the relaxation you deserved. Thanks for the super review, and please pass on our best wishes to Emma & John. Lorri & Dave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at The Old Town Hall at the end of July and had a wonderful time. Our room, the Four Poster, was beautiful and very spacious. The fridge in the room was really handy and we really appreciated the little extra touches like the pint of milk and complimentary wine and biscuits. Breakfast was gorgeous, the best we've ever had at a B & B. The only criticism would be that we did hear noise from the adjoining room (loud voices and TV noise) which did keep us awake. Thank you Lorri & Dave (and of course Shula) we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time, and appreciated the little extras we provide in the rooms. We also feel honoured that our breakfast was the best you have experienced in a B&B! Very sorry you had noisy neighbours...unfortunately other guests are the only thing we have no control over. The majority of our guests are usually in bed and asleep by 10.30pm, so it is very rare that we experience any noise late at night...in fact most guests comment on the total silence they experience while here. Hopefully this will not deter you from another visit if you are ever in the North again. Thanks again for such a lovely review, and it was a pleasure having you to stay. Lorri, Dave & of course Shula x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmire
2.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bolton Arms
The Bolton Arms
#2 of 2 in Redmire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Hall offers peace and tranquility in the village of Redmire, between Leyburn and Aysgarth. Louise and David offer 3 large rooms with beamed ceilings, all luxuriously appointed to 5 star standards, including comfy settees in each room. We offer home cooked breakfasts, using fresh local ingredients. On arrival tea/coffee is available with home baked cakes and biscuits in the guest sitting room. If you feel like totally relaxing but still being close to busy Leyburn and Reeth, this is the place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to our home in the Yorkshire Dales ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing