We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Teotitlan del Valle
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Great Taste of Oaxaca

We've taken a few cooking classes with Reyna, all with great results. Originally, we came to know... read more

Reviewed November 17, 2019
VinAndy
,
Silver Spring, Maryland
Wonderful Oaxacan food!

The day I spent with Reyna was the best experience during my trip to Oaxaca. Started off with a... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2019
mtzdwra
,
California
Read all 59 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Teotitlan del Valle
from $22.00
More Info
from $159.15
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $177.00
More Info
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
56
1
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen local market mole negro fresh ingredients tamales cooking class traditional techniques mango sorbet oaxaca city dried shrimp delicious meal answer questions cooking lesson market tour oaxacan cooking highlight of our trip cultural experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 59 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2018

I had a great time doing this cooking class with Reyna - she is lovely and very informative. We cooked several dishes, after a trip to the local market. As we bought the ingredients Reyna would answer questions and show us what she was buying. Everything was well explained.
From what I know of Mexican cooking, it all takes a lot of time, so some bits were already done. But Reyna kept the group busy making pastes and roasting corn, using authentic tools. The group all help out with the meals and Reyna was great at making sure we all had something to do, explaining the processes as we went.
After cooking we all sat down to eat and I was impressed at how good the food was. It wasn't as spicy as I expected, but it was so delicious.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank natpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We've done a couple other cooking classes in Oaxaca, but Reyna's is by far the best. She's the real deal, born and raised in Teotitlan and a professional chef for a long time. We started with a tour of the local market, buying fresh ingredients for our meal. Then we went to her outdoor kitchen/classroom and cooked a meal. The nine students helped out with every course, including grinding the corn. We ate our delicious lunch, washed down with some mezcal and a nice Mexican beer. A great time was had by all!

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

Reyna's cooking class was fun as well as educational with a delicious meal in a beautiful setting. After the 8 of us walked to the nearby market to gather ingredients, we returned to begin our demonstration/participation class. We learned the traditional techniques as well as adaptations to use at home. Reyna conveys her joy of cooking in a warm and special way-unforgettable!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time with Reyna. Who knew that grinding corn and pepitas could be such fun? The outdoor kitchen is comfortable yet authentic. Reyna is gracious and relaxed and we made some great food. The walk to the local market for food before cooking was also a highlight, brimming with a sense of community. Don’t miss this experience if you are looking to get out of the tourist centric food and shopping activity. Ask Reyna about her recipes in the new book — Great Chefs of Mexico. Great photos of delicious looking food, including the soup we made in her kitchen. Our time with Reyna was a highlight. Go for it!!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank kmom0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Cooking class with Reyna was an unforgettable experience. Like most of the people who live in Teotitan, we started the day by shopping in the local market for fresh ingredients. We walked back to the house with our baskets full of chilies, squash blossom flowers, fresh herbs and home-made cheeses. At the house, we prepared the meal with a combinaiton of pre-hispanic and modern tools. I have been traveling to Oaxaca for 14 years, and spend a lot of time in the villages with families. Reyna's cooking class offers the participant into the glimpse of the lives (and the food) of the Zapotec culture. The family is kind, gracious and happy to share their traditions.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank ckallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews