We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Hautes Roches
Nearby Hotels
Art Hotel(Rochecorbon)
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Skippy Hotel(Saint Pierre des Corps)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$48
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel Tours Nord(Parcay-Meslay)
$40
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Les Fontaines(Rochecorbon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
170
117
37
18
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
117
37
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloire rivertroglodyte roomsunique experiencerestaurant terraceroom was largecourse dinnerthis lovely hotelmichelin starspent one nightthe main housestayed for nightsbreadcavesvouvrayrelaistoursfrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 348 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A real gem of a hotel. In a brilliant location overlooking the Loire river. We stayed for 2 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms. I think that the vast majority of rooms are built into Troglodyte caves and all but one or 2 have a view looking out over the river. Both our rooms were fabulous. The first was a Superior Room which was huge, but to be honest the standard room was just as brilliant. Apart from the unique fact that they are fashioned out of the rock, the rooms are beautifully and luxuriously finished. When we stayed it was really hot so we ate out on the restaurant terrace at night overlooking the river. Don't even consider eating anywhere other than the restaurant. Each of the 7 or 8 courses was magnificent. It was so beautifully presented that it was almost a shame to eat it. The hotel is in a good location for touring and there is a nice out door pool to relax in if you've been out for the day. The service was very good too. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: There are just a couple of rooms that haven't got the full river view. The icing on the cake is the river view so it's worth checking that you have this when you book. Also make sure you eat in the restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marka063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Hautes Roches hotel. We loved our room and the amazing setting in caves in a cliff along the Loire. However, we were soured on our stay because of the policy of over charging for every extra service. When spending around $250 per night, you don't expect to be charged $3 each time you hook up to Wi-Fi. We thought the 20 Euro price per person for breakfast was a little steep as well so we just ordered coffee in the morning and were appalled to see that they had charged us 8 euros a cup (about $11!) This grasping attitude rally affected our opinion of the place. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Staying in this hotel is certainly part of the highlight of our short 3 days 2 night Loire Valley trip. Upon arrival after a rather tiring 6 hours drive, checking into a cooling room that is sculpted into the rock (including the bathroom) with nice view of the Loire certainly made our day (or late afternoon). Staff were very friendly and provided tips about visiting the region. With Tours and Amboise a 10-20 min drive away, and Vouvray literally 5 minutes drive, the location of the hotel is perfect. It was unfortunate we couldn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant during our stay however the quality and service during our breakfast couldn't be faulted.

Provided budget allow, it certainly is a romantic splurge that I would recommend to anyone who is around the region and looking for a great hotel that is quiet, relaxing and o complete the whole Loire experience.

Room Tip: If budget allows, go for Room 9 which overlooks the Loire and is sculpted into the rock.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestar428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

just finished 4 nights at Les Hautes Roches in Rochecorbon - first it is a first class boutique hotel with exceptional service - also included is a Relais & Chateau certified restaurant whcih is excellent - the hotel is very unique as many rooms are actually caves that are fitted out with top of the line plumbing fixtures and electronics - the location is great - you are about 10 minutes from Tours and being on the east side you are within the Vouvray wine region and on the road going to Amboise - about 25 minutes away - we used this hotel as a base for 4 days of biking in the western Loire area (Villandry, Chinon, Azay, Usse) - and for this purpose it was an excellent choice

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat_G_Pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were booked in here for two nights and had already booked two restaurants so did not eat here but the next time I think it would be worth it . We stayed in Room 5 which overlooked the Loire , a large room with large windows on two sides and all modern facilities. The staff and room service were helpful, friendly, and matched the Hotel's status .If there was one very small niggle it is having to pay 5 euro for 3 nights WiFi in a Hotel with these prices surely this could be absorbed . However, this was a great stay and we would return , ideally situated for Amboise and Tours and the wine cellars in the region

Room Tip: The Cavern rooms is what people rave about, we had one in the main building and were very happy
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews