We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic way to honour the flight and the lives lost” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre

Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Coningsby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to honour the flight and the lives lost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My first visit to the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight (BBMF) and I was very impressed. The car park was full when we arrived - always a good sign. Going into the visitor centre, there are some very good and informative displays. Entry to the centre is free, but the tour is a small charge.

The tour is very interesting but long. It was just short of 90 minutes for us and whilst very informative, the backache started to creep in after the hour mark. It was otherwise fantastic. A brilliant opportunity to get up close to the aircraft and really understand and learn about the aircraft. When I went, I saw a Dakota, Lancaster, Hurricane, Spitfire and Mosquito. The tour is simply a walk along one wall of the BBMF hangar which lets you see and take pictures of all the aircraft in front of you whilst listening to the stories which ranged from the serious (reminding you of the cost of war) to the humorous.

It is worth noting that there are no cafe facilities on site - only a vending machine. That is a shame because really, it is something which would really help the centre - particularly after a long tour.

Overall, not perfect but definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicMaestro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    88
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok but better without guide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hi just been to the bbmf.its really interesting but I think it would be better if you could walk around the hanger were the planes are so you can take your time and have a proper look round. On the website it makes out there's loads to do without paying for the guided tour but there isn't just a little over priced shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Remembering the Few and the Many”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my third visit to Coningsby, but by far the best so far. The tour through the BBMF hanger was everything it usually is.. ...interesting, informative and worthwhile, but the bonys for us on this visit was the fact that the Dakota was doing some filming and was parked on the apron outside the hanger.

However, just as our tour through the hanger finished she taxied out towards the runway to take-off and our guide took us outside to watch the take-off, with a superb view of the Tornado jets parked on their dispersals as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Llanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A wonderful day spent admiring history from the past. The tours guides were at the top of their game, with information you could only read in books, but much more to hear the stories to the planes, and a wonderful time taking photos. The Dakota was flying overhead waiting for a moment to land, and looked wonderful taxing outside the hanger, and I would recommend a visit to this piece of history to anyone. To see the Lancaster in the hanger, surrounded by Spitfires and hurricanes was a sight and had it been a sunnier day, would have been nice to see them outside, but due to the weather, even inside, they looked majestic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visited April 2013 on a cloudy day. Spits and Hurricanes not flying but the Lancaster was early. Tour thru the museum with a personal guide is a great experience. Not quite as hands on as some 'Warbird' exhibits I've been to, but well worth the trip. Recommend checking the website for details of daily activities. Very interesting gift/bookshop.

Also, ask about the hotel/pub that was perhaps 15 miles away but had served as the HQ for 617 sqadron for a while. Have lunch in another piece of history and see/touch one of Barnes Wallis' prototype bouncing bombs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fanojag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Tattershall, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing